SM card, Problem with my SM card

TSjesusfreak88
post May 29 2007, 04:34 PM, updated 19y ago

154 posts

Hello, im using this Olympus C-200Z digital camera, which uses Smart Media (SM) card. Problem is when i insert the card into my camera, there is this message show "Card Error". But i can access it using my card reader. What could the problem be, is my card permenantly damaged, or can it be repaired.

Can i still find brand new card like this in KL?

Thanks alot guys smile.gif

*Please move this thread if its in the wrong section
CompMac
post May 29 2007, 05:47 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Have you tried formatting the card using the camera?
SUSceo684
post May 29 2007, 06:00 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Midvalley ground floor one photo shop still got the smartmedia card. But not very cheap lah.. anyway smartmedia cameras are outdated, it might be more cost effective to get a new camera.

Before that, use an eraser and rub the gold contacts on the smartmedia.
TSjesusfreak88
post May 30 2007, 12:49 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(CompMac @ May 29 2007, 05:47 PM)
Have you tried formatting the card using the camera?
I cant access the camera's menu at all, only the message Card Error appears only...

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 29 2007, 06:00 PM)
Midvalley ground floor one photo shop still got the smartmedia card. But not very cheap lah.. anyway smartmedia cameras are outdated, it might be more cost effective to get a new camera.

Before that, use an eraser and rub the gold contacts on the smartmedia.
How much would it cost for nomally, if you dont know the exact price, could you give me rough price please... a normal white colour eraser is it???
SUSceo684
post May 30 2007, 12:51 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

If im not mistaken a 32mb card costs about 130 or so in there. Any white eraser will do..the ink erasers are rather harsh.

If eraser still fails, the best place to get a spare SM would probably be lowyat/sg wang shops.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 30 2007, 12:54 AM
TSjesusfreak88
post May 30 2007, 03:27 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 30 2007, 12:51 AM)
If im not mistaken a 32mb card costs about 130 or so in there. Any white eraser will do..the ink erasers are rather harsh.

If eraser still fails, the best place to get a spare SM would probably be lowyat/sg wang shops.
Lowyat also got sell SM card is it? Do you know which shop they are selling it, i went there last week but couldnt find any shops selling it...

0.0140sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:06 AM