Scanner with OCR software, large scale OCR usage

TSAlexLee277
post Aug 16 2018, 10:31 AM, updated 8y ago

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

Hi guys, i am not sure if this is the correct place to as this question.

Because i have no idea on both hardware and software (but i guess this issue is more software prone)

I am looking for a Scanner that comes with good OEM software (i.e canon/hp) with OCR capability to scan and convert the file into Excel sheets for calculation.

I have heard there are "real" OCR scanner on the market and i am really confused, isn't it a software thing.

Please enlighten me.

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Aug 16 2018, 10:45 AM
ttan777
post Aug 16 2018, 10:37 AM

449 posts

OCR is just a software
TSAlexLee277
post Aug 16 2018, 10:48 AM

4,221 posts

QUOTE(ttan777 @ Aug 16 2018, 10:37 AM)
OCR is just a software
hi, thanks for replying, i think the question might be confusing. im looking for scanners only that comes with great OCR software, the whole OCR thing is quite new for me, im afraid some OCR software is unable to produce proper scanned sheet documents back into Excel Sheet.
ttan777
post Aug 16 2018, 10:52 AM

449 posts

most scanner come with a basic OCR. you can check out what is included in the scanner. (hope u are scanning english character)
TSAlexLee277
post Aug 16 2018, 12:01 PM

4,221 posts

QUOTE(ttan777 @ Aug 16 2018, 10:52 AM)
most scanner come with a basic OCR. you can check out what is included in the scanner. (hope u are scanning english character)
english characters and numbers. most scanner's software should be competent enough to generate excel sheet files right?
yoyu
post Aug 16 2018, 04:00 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Aug 16 2018, 12:01 PM)
english characters and numbers. most scanner's software should be competent enough to generate excel sheet files right?
bro... hp got product u might looking for...
my previous company bought that kind of scanner to digitize customer document... scanner come with OCR software.. the price a bis pricey but the speed realy fast...

source

can scan each A4 page less 30 sec (depends on quality setup) plus with document feeder ready..

hp dun pay me for this... just sharing to help you 😅

This post has been edited by yoyu: Aug 16 2018, 04:01 PM
TSAlexLee277
post Aug 16 2018, 05:07 PM

4,221 posts

QUOTE(yoyu @ Aug 16 2018, 04:00 PM)
bro... hp got product u might looking for...
my previous company bought that kind of scanner to digitize customer document... scanner come with OCR software.. the price a bis pricey but the speed realy fast...

source

can scan each A4 page less 30 sec (depends on quality setup) plus with document feeder ready..

hp dun pay me for this... just sharing to help you 😅
thanks for the feedbacl, may i know which model you're using? Scanjet?
yoyu
post Aug 16 2018, 06:39 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Aug 16 2018, 05:07 PM)
thanks for the feedbacl, may i know which model you're using? Scanjet?
for A4 scanjet pro 3xxx
for A3 and AO sorry i dun remember the model series but make by HP
ttan777
post Aug 17 2018, 05:49 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Aug 16 2018, 01:01 PM)
Or you can just get a OCR n use your phone camera to ocr it.
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=free+ocr&c=apps
Kaitlyn Lim P
post Jun 13 2019, 02:42 PM

Probation

You can take a look at our solution, we have document capture (OCR) and we have other solutions that would fit you and help your company to increase your company productivity, efficiency and effectively!

You could contact me anytime biggrin.gif
Phone: 016-9863759
Email: weileng.lim@infoconnect.com.my
KennediSwagners P
post Feb 11 2023, 09:59 PM

Probation

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Aug 16 2018, 10:31 AM)
Hi guys, i am not sure if this is the correct place to as this question.

Because i have no idea on both hardware and software (but i guess this issue is more software prone)

I am looking for a Scanner that comes with good OEM software (i.e canon/hp) with OCR capability to scan and convert the file into Excel sheets for calculation.

I have heard there are "real" OCR scanner on the market and i am really confused, isn't it a software thing.

Please enlighten me.
When choosing a scanner with OCR capabilities, consider both the hardware and software aspects. The hardware should have a good scanning resolution and be capable of handling the type of documents you plan to scan. Besides, it should have accurate OCR recognition.
SUSMr.Brown007 P
post Feb 11 2023, 10:07 PM

Probation

When choosing a scanner with OCR capabilities, consider both the hardware and software aspects.

0.0198sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:07 PM