Credit Cards Public Bank Credit Cards V4, PB Visa Sig 6% & Quantum 5% Cash Back
beLIEve
Sep 21 2018, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 14 2018, 10:03 AM) But how many PB cardholders' credit limit > RM 37500 ?  Today i asked my branch just for the sake of asking. Normally their credit limit is lower than other banks. Haha. No wonder I got less than 3x my pay. Not that it matters. 2-3k also enough for me.
tan_aniki
Sep 21 2018, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2018, 04:02 PM) Not true. As long as card issued, you will kena charged. if you don't activate the card, you won't get the statement and hence they are unable to charge SST onto it. QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 07:03 PM) Today i asked my branch just for the sake of asking. Normally their credit limit is lower than other banks. Haha. No wonder I got less than 3x my pay. Not that it matters. 2-3k also enough for me. i got RM40k This post has been edited by tan_aniki: Sep 21 2018, 07:38 PM
!@#$%^
Sep 21 2018, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Sep 21 2018, 07:38 PM) if you don't activate the card, you won't get the statement and hence they are unable to charge SST onto it. if im not mistaken, it will show up in ur ccris as outstandings. correct me if i'm wrong.
beLIEve
Sep 21 2018, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Sep 21 2018, 07:38 PM) if you don't activate the card, you won't get the statement and hence they are unable to charge SST onto it. i got RM40k Technically speaking, if you have cards from other banks applied around the same time or later, the limit should be more than 40k. Right? Seems like no one is sure if SST is charged without activation. Some yes some no. I'll give a try on the next Maybank2me acquisition and monitor the bill online. Eyeing on the amex but not the visa/master that comes with it.
tan_aniki
Sep 21 2018, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Sep 21 2018, 07:51 PM) if im not mistaken, it will show up in ur ccris as outstandings. correct me if i'm wrong. if you plan to cancel it, just don't activate it and u no need to pay for the SST. QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 07:55 PM) Technically speaking, if you have cards from other banks applied around the same time or later, the limit should be more than 40k. Right? Seems like no one is sure if SST is charged without activation. Some yes some no. I'll give a try on the next Maybank2me acquisition and monitor the bill online. Eyeing on the amex but not the visa/master that comes with it. different bank gives me different CL SC gave me the highest RM58500 and UOB offer me double from current RM42k but i ignore the SMS.
Ramjade
Sep 21 2018, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Sep 21 2018, 07:38 PM) if you don't activate the card, you won't get the statement and hence they are unable to charge SST onto it. i got RM40k Don't know who here told me, not activated card also kena SST. Hence proceed to cancel my Quantum visa.
beLIEve
Sep 21 2018, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Sep 21 2018, 08:16 PM) different bank gives me different CL SC gave me the highest RMxxxxx and UOB offer me double from current RMxxk but i ignore the SMS. Hah. So what my PB branch said that PB gives lower limit is true la. Thanks for sharing, bro.
beLIEve
Sep 21 2018, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2018, 08:25 PM) Don't know who here told me, not activated card also kena SST. Hence proceed to cancel my Quantum visa. Due to popular demand, later I write to customs and ask la.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 08:30 PM) Due to popular demand, later I write to customs and ask la. 3. (b) (1) http://www.customs.gov.my/en/Documents/AKT...RDER%202018.pdfBut card issuers will normally give a credit to contra the first ST.
hmwong
Sep 21 2018, 08:55 PM
Spend Now 4More Cash Back condition 13 (2) - "Qualified Retail Transactions made by a Supplementary Cardmember shall be aggregated with the Participant’s and the total eligible Cash Back payment will only be credited into the Participant’s credit card account."
What does 'aggregated' means? It means 'add-on'?
!@#$%^
Sep 21 2018, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 21 2018, 08:50 PM) 3. (b) (1) http://www.customs.gov.my/en/Documents/AKT...RDER%202018.pdfBut card issuers will normally give a credit to contra the first ST. http://www.customs.gov.my/en/Documents/Pan...arge%20Card.pdfinteresting that on the official guide, it mentions date of card issued rather than activation (16). another interesting thing is (28) - In the case of a cancelled and unused card after the renewal date, service tax is not required to be charged and accounted for if the service tax has not been paid. If service tax has been paid after the renewal date, the card issuer is entitled to deduct the service tax paid from the tax return provided that the approval of the tax deduction has been approved.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(hmwong @ Sep 21 2018, 08:55 PM) Spend Now 4More Cash Back condition 13 (2) - "Qualified Retail Transactions made by a Supplementary Cardmember shall be aggregated with the Participant’s and the total eligible Cash Back payment will only be credited into the Participant’s credit card account." What does 'aggregated' means? It means 'add-on'? combined.
beLIEve
Sep 21 2018, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 21 2018, 08:50 PM) Yes, that is also my understanding. But urban legend say once issued then automatically taxed. I think customs don't know some banks offer cards in pairs and we only need one. Maybe the next revision will be more specific or maybe they don't care since not using the card.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 09:06 PM) Yes, that is also my understanding. But urban legend say once issued then automatically taxed. I think customs don't know some banks offer cards in pairs and we only need one. Maybe the next revision will be more specific or maybe they don't care since not using the card. Change of Govt so rush to implement SST 2.0 without consulting the banks. Banks also got the final guidelines 2 weeks before SST 2.0. So it will take some time for the banks and the Customs to understand each other and fine-tune.
!@#$%^
Sep 21 2018, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 09:06 PM) Yes, that is also my understanding. But urban legend say once issued then automatically taxed. I think customs don't know some banks offer cards in pairs and we only need one. Maybe the next revision will be more specific or maybe they don't care since not using the card. if it's true unactivated card not taxed, then will reapply m2cards again later and dun activate the mc/visa. win.
beLIEve
Sep 22 2018, 01:44 AM
Ahhhh I think this is where the confusion started. https://www.mysst.customs.gov.my/assets/doc...arge%20Card.pdf16. Service tax shall be imposed on the date of issuance or renewal of the credit card or charge card or on every twelve months after the date the card is issued or renewed. There are three methods for the imposition of service tax: (i) New card issued with a validity period for 1 year Service tax shall be imposed on the date the card is issuedThis is NOT the gazetted one though. Citibank's also said the same : https://www.citibank.com.my/global_docs/pdf...dServiceTaxHOMEI think we should move to the SST Thread instead of this one. This post has been edited by beLIEve: Sep 22 2018, 01:47 AM
tan_aniki
Sep 22 2018, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 22 2018, 01:44 AM) Ahhhh I think this is where the confusion started. https://www.mysst.customs.gov.my/assets/doc...arge%20Card.pdf16. Service tax shall be imposed on the date of issuance or renewal of the credit card or charge card or on every twelve months after the date the card is issued or renewed. There are three methods for the imposition of service tax: (i) New card issued with a validity period for 1 year Service tax shall be imposed on the date the card is issuedThis is NOT the gazetted one though. Citibank's also said the same : https://www.citibank.com.my/global_docs/pdf...dServiceTaxHOMEI think we should move to the SST Thread instead of this one. i think it is nothing you can worried if you plan not to use it and cancel it before activation because they can't generate statement if you didn't activate the card
annoymous1234
Sep 22 2018, 10:53 AM
even after I cancelled the VISA, it still shows in public bank account website, although it shows as "cancelled" instead of "Active", but can we remove it? I don't want to see it anymore as I don't own the card
SUSDavid83
Sep 22 2018, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 22 2018, 10:53 AM) even after I cancelled the VISA, it still shows in public bank account website, although it shows as "cancelled" instead of "Active", but can we remove it? I don't want to see it anymore as I don't own the card Call CS to remove it. The CS cannot do it. Maybe you need to go to the branch. LOL
cybpsych
Sep 22 2018, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Sep 22 2018, 10:53 AM) even after I cancelled the VISA, it still shows in public bank account website, although it shows as "cancelled" instead of "Active", but can we remove it? I don't want to see it anymore as I don't own the card PBe > Profile Maintenance > Manage Profile > Add / Delete Account