Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

toffy
post Aug 19 2018, 02:29 AM

182 posts

Hi folks.
I managed to find a seller selling Asus RT-AC88U at RM795 after discount. He claimed it is new and comes with 1 year warranty but imported from China. Is this a good price? Maybe it is refurbished?
toffy
post Aug 19 2018, 10:35 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 19 2018, 02:47 AM)

Could be refurbished but refurbished device can be spotted easily by the condition.

A lot cheaper than local unit but you bear the risk if the device failed. ASUS MY provide 3 years warranty.
I am unable to view it since it is would be sent from overseas.
Refurbished also means it could be second hand, which indicates the warranty is supplier warranty?

I spotted another set at around RM900 from another seller but it is also from China.

So for these 2 prices, could these be China version but still new and authentic? Or they imported from Amazon or something?
Or these prices are too good to be true, such that most likely they are not new but refurbished?
toffy
post Aug 19 2018, 03:24 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 19 2018, 01:50 PM)
At this price, it can only be China version as Amazon version is much more expensive.

Could be new but you bear all the risks as even it is new, the warranty is provided by the seller as there's no way for you to claim it unless you travel to China.
Thanks for the advice!
toffy
post Aug 20 2018, 02:31 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Aug 19 2018, 09:28 PM)
I can get it from HKD 1460 , around RM 750 for brand new but no warranty
if it is china set, the power adapter needs a converter.[attachmentid=9981049]
The converter is not an issue. If no warranty at all, then it is too risky. Who knows it may be dead on arrival? Are you buying it there or importing via your contact?

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 19 2018, 09:55 PM)
No warranty though, so good luck if you need to claim.
That's a bit of concern. If it is an RM70 item, worth the risk la. But this is RM700+ thing.

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 19 2018, 10:53 PM)
You can send back to China. I did it before.

First DHL - Expensiveeee. Kena Custom Tax 17% lagi(I think DHL China kutip tax sendiri)
Cheap but at own risk. Asus this modal have serious wifi issue.
Wah! Dahsyat. So are you going to import again?
toffy
post Aug 20 2018, 12:37 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Aug 20 2018, 09:03 AM)
I can get a price from RM860 around with Hong Kong Warranty, power adapter no need converter.

As I will travel to HK 2-3 times yearly, I would buy this if TM upgraded me, now using AC66u only.
HK warranty? So if it happens to go kaput (not sure how likely or how less likely), then you have to wait until your next trip to claim warranty?
I am using TM stock router. So far my wireless is reasonable. My folks usually use their devices in the living room and bedrooms, all well covered. May not be 100% strength but good enough since they are using it for chat and web surfing. Not so much for streaming etc.
I am now wondering if I should upgrade to a more powerful one (although not the most powerful one) such as AC86U.
toffy
post Aug 20 2018, 11:01 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 20 2018, 01:37 PM)
Lol, AC86U is considered powerful already. You should actually, if you have many devices and is scheduled to get that speed upgrade.
Oops! What I had in mind, and what I wrote earlier was ac88u, not ac86u. Would ac88u be an overkill? Local retail price is around RM1500 right?

I don't have that many devices...just some smartphones, my PC (connected via LAN) and the unifi STB (i understand that unifi uses another VLAN, so the bandwidth is not that much impacted?). But I am scheduled for an upgrade, which I am still waiting like you folks out here.
toffy
post Aug 21 2018, 01:56 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 20 2018, 11:04 PM)
You mean Unifi TV uses another VLAN, so bandwidth is not impacted? Yes, that is true. If you want to buy AC88U, you might as well buy AC86U, as it is newer, and have better hardware. It is overkill though, and if your house is bigger size, the TP-Link C3150 v2 will do nicely. Of course, if you want the best, go for the AC86U.
Thanks for the info for unifi TV (ya, I was referring to that).
So although AC88U seems to be more powerful, AC86U is still better (and cheaper)?
Since AC86U is not cheap, the next best thing (and one step lower) is TP-Link C3150 v2? How much is it? Around RM700?
toffy
post Aug 21 2018, 11:05 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 21 2018, 07:58 AM)
Around that price. RM700 - RM750, depending in seller. AC88U is slightly older than AC86U, and if you want to buy something powerful, get the AC86U.
Ok.
How much is AC86U being sold here in Malaysia? RM1000?

0.2015sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:19 AM