Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

mylinear
post Aug 15 2018, 09:31 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Aug 15 2018, 09:21 PM)
he think so too ...
nope....from Streamyx to unifi
Was this a free upgrade from Streamyx to Unifi? What Streamyx package and price was it before this?

Wonder if really RM109 total or its:
30M = RM139 - 30 discount = RM109
Then add back RM30 for UnifiTV = RM139

This post has been edited by mylinear: Aug 15 2018, 09:33 PM
mylinear
post Aug 15 2018, 10:28 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 15 2018, 09:36 PM)
Should be as your described, internet is RM109 and UnifiTV is RM30.
Unless it really is a special Streamyx free upgrade. Will have to wait for bill to see details.

mylinear
post Aug 16 2018, 11:30 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 16 2018, 11:14 AM)
Finally one with insider info clarifies this package.

I don't know why MOST RM139 subscribers refuse to believe the price will revert to RM199 after 24 months. They keep on saying the price will revert to RM179  doh.gif

Oh ya, what exactly happened to 50Mbps package? blink.gif
Actually first was RM139 back to RM199 promo. Then later promo was RM139 back to RM179. Because at that time, website showed the actual price RM199 and RM179 respectively during promo time. The RM179 was when 50M was for an additional RM20 = RM199.

Now website shows RM139. This gives impression that it is actual permanent price as there is no note to say it is only for 24 months. Someone said it is only shown later in subscription process.

mylinear
post Aug 17 2018, 12:39 PM

974 posts

Mostly got info here about TPLink AC1200 / Archer and DLink 850L which is given out. But there is also DLink DIR-842. Is this same or any better than those others?

mylinear
post Aug 17 2018, 03:34 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Aug 17 2018, 01:43 PM)
Is TM giving rev A1 or rev C1 for the dir-842? If rev C1 it's not too bad, got mu-mimo.
See picture on post #100. It shows MU-MIMO on box.

mylinear
post Aug 17 2018, 07:02 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(ksking @ Aug 17 2018, 05:27 PM)
just downgraded from 50mbps to 30mbps last week...
Look at the date details. Maybe its pro-rated? Or billing date has changed when package changed? Best if its price reduction though...

mylinear
post Aug 21 2018, 04:44 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 21 2018, 04:33 PM)
what does it mean?

you mean if 24 months contract

if i am on 11th month, i need to pay 24 - 11 = 13 months of monthly fee in full?
I think it depends on when your contract started. Recently the termination terms were changed for those who started contract after a certain date. It is based on full montly price, ie listed price before discounts X balance contract time left. There was an announcement a few months ago, maybe you can search for it for details.

mylinear
post Aug 24 2018, 04:58 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Aug 24 2018, 03:08 PM)
Just want to inform:
TM called me to inform about the turbo upgrade.
Ask her when, she donno.
Currently subscribed to 10Mbps

So 10Mbps, no e-mail, no sms, but call instead.
Well at least the is a light of hope for some Unifi Lite users. Although TM website said my upgrade is on next year.

Huawei HG8240w, TP-Link C1200
So they call you but give no real info? Why they call then? How long more your contract? Any changes in Unifi portal after you got the call?

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 24 2018, 04:16 PM)
Got my unifi yesterday, 30Mbps

the router they gave me DLink DIR-842, with the wifi name hardcoded to the fxcking XXX@UNIFI doh.gif mad.gif
I'll have to goto every single devices in the house to change the wifi one by one doh.gif
Even though you may have many devices, its really only a one time change for now. Have to do the same thing if you decide to change your wifi password in the future.

mylinear
post Aug 24 2018, 05:17 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Aug 24 2018, 05:13 PM)
Anyone thinks it is wise to go from RM139 (300Mbps to be upgraded soon) to RM89 Maxis (30Mbps) and paying RM500 penalty fee? Sigh should have been more patient and wait!
Check if penalty is RM500 or full monthly fee X contract months left. It depends on when you subscribed.

mylinear
post Aug 24 2018, 06:24 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Aug 24 2018, 05:47 PM)
Afaik, they called just to inform me the upgrade 10-100 Mbps and will send me the Turbo e-mail later, no other details. My contract about 1 and ½ year left.

Service Start Date: 19/10/17

Just checked at Unifi portal, still 10 Mbps
Maybe since you subscribed last year, you're in the queue for upgrade, hopefully soon. Or maybe they're afraid 10M users may switch to Maxis 30M which is cheaper? Not quite sure why they would call just to say got upgrade coming since it was already announced some time back. Can't remember anyone else posting of getting a call just to say got upgrade coming for them.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 02:24 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Sep 6 2018, 01:51 AM)
Yet again they do some inconsistent pricing. They seem to know how to annoy different groups of users each time they have promo or new package.

This 100M is called Unifi Pro plan? The old Pro plan was RM329.

But this one is similar to Unifi Lite 10M with no STB but its got STD20. I wonder if that means that 10M after 10X upgrade will get this Pro plan with STD20. I think that was done before when 30M upgraded to 50M, some got STD20 added in also. Hopefully this is not RM129 for 24 months then back to RM329 as the package name is the same as before.

Also, new package just listed but can already write "Most Popular"? Previously that was written for the RM139 30M plan.

This must be to counter Maxis packages. Maybe they realise many users may switch to Maxis, so they got in a week earlier. Another example of how competition can benefit users.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 10:53 AM

974 posts

Maybe they are hoping users will switch to this new 100M plan not only because of competition from Maxis, but maybe they are having difficulties upgrading users with 10X speed? They should have never made it a 10X upgrade. At least start off with 2X or 3X and then upgrade again later.

When 10X was announced, most users were only interested in the speed even at the old price. I see now that users are interested in reduced price even if it is only 100M package which should be enough for most users. Of course heavy users will always want much higher speeds and should have packages to cater for that too.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 11:00 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 6 2018, 10:54 AM)
Why yours so lucky paying at RM 189 with contract ending in 2 months time?
We want to change because we are angry to see the unfair pricing and we still haven't got Turbo upgrade with no definite date. doh.gif
Unfair pricing has been there all along. Many paying RM179-199 for 100M while others paying RM2xx-3xx for same. Many others paying RM179-199 for 50M. Etc etc etc. Even now with new RM129 100M, again unfair pricing for those paying RM129 10M or RM139 30M. Always been like that.

My point is that they probably said 10X hoping that no need to reduce price. And users seem to accept it then. Now price reduced in a way and users want that instead of the 10X speed. Not saying users are wrong, just pointing out the change.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 02:21 PM

974 posts

I suggest if you want the higher turbo 10x speeds, then wait for it.

If you are paying RM129 for 10M, or paying higher than RM129 for 100M or less, you should call / chat and make a complaint report about it. The customer service reports will then go to the Complaints Dept. The more reports they get, the higher chances that they will do something about it.

It is not much point just calling / chatting with customer service and asking some question. Make sure they open a report about your complaint. Don't wait another week to see what happens. By then they may do something which is not favourable as they don't have many complaints. Make the report about unfair pricing now. I have done so. This report will also serve as a basis if you want to complaint to MCMC later if they don't adjust pricing for existing customer.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 04:10 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 6 2018, 03:53 PM)
i jusy came back after meeting the Manager, talked BS alot...
10Mbps to 30Mbps is considered upgrade lah, he kept said downgrade fee and tied with contract, for new users only...

Then i showed him some photos, recorded audio from TM said can upgrade... And I told him my friend name also and he was shocked... 😂

But system just will update after 10 Sep, so you can leave your details first. Got fresh-contract. 30Mbps got Unlimited with extra RM30.
This extra RM30 is added to the RM79 30M package to remove the 60GB quota? Any other changes like voice call or UnifiTV given with it?

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 05:30 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Sep 6 2018, 04:32 PM)
I don't think anything other than a price reduction is going to cut it. It doesn't make sense to make non-contract pro plan customers to pay RM299 when other users who are under contract are paying only RM129 and no indication when the turbo upgrade would happen.

IMO, they really messed this up.
They didn't only mess this up. They have been messing these packages and upgrades up for some time now.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 6 2018, 04:36 PM)
Who knows they standardize all of us into one plan? laugh.gif
I know this will not happen, but this is what I would do.

1. Suspend turbo upgrade for this month.
2. All users remain with current package for this month.
3. All users bill for this month will be RM0.
4. Finalize Unifi packages once in for all, whether 2, 3, 4, 5... different plans to cater for different price points and different speeds. RM79-199, 30M-800M. Subject to technical availability. Should be easy to do since they have user data and usage patterns etc. A little effort and analsysis should cater for most user needs.
5. Announce the new plans within 1-2 weeks.
6. Each user can pick the package that best suits their usage pattern, based on price or speed.
7. Each user can switch to the chosen package via customer portal, customer service, TMPoint, agents etc after accpting T&C etc. Switch must be done in 2-3 weeks.
8. New contact for 1-2 years based on current status or equipment change etc. I think most users would not mind this.

Benefits:
1. All users will be standardized to newly available packages.
2. TM will prevent Unifi users from switching to Maxis within this month.
3. Users get one month free internet for this mess.
4. TM loses one month revenue as lesson not to mess things up.
5. TM will retain users for the next 1-2 years due to contract.
6. Customer service, TMPoint will not have to handle user complaints due to this mess.
7. This thread will have less complaints...

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 05:45 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Sep 6 2018, 05:41 PM)
not likely to happen if the word FREE appeared i think, based on how they treat us all this time  biggrin.gif
but they really need 2 think of a way to end all those same speed diff price thingy, wat actually are they
thinking when doing this anyway? sweat.gif
What are they thinking?? It appears they are not thinking... I think thats the problem, don't you think...

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 06:50 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(warlove3 @ Sep 6 2018, 06:18 PM)
I'm on RM329 100mbps, this is what i got replied after announce that it is unfair to all users that are paying extra.

"Hi. Sekiranya anda mahu tukar ke plan unifi 100Mbps RM129/ sebulan (untuk pack unifi TV Varnam, Aneka dan Ruby), anda boleh mohon di TMpoing berhampiran. Kontrak langganan akan diperbaharui 24 bulan dan plan tersebut tidak entittle untuk turbo free upgrade"
At least those paying RM2xx-3xx for 100M have hope to reduce their price with this.

It makes sense that the new RM129 100M is not entitled to turbo upgrade as it is probably already considered as a turbo package with 300-800M to come later. Also previously they said that if you subscribe to the existing packages before end of the year, you wil get turbo upgrade next year. This RM129 100M is a new package which does not fall under that category anyway as it did not exist before this.

mylinear
post Sep 6 2018, 09:09 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Sep 6 2018, 08:26 PM)
I see. Good to know that.

Anyway, required to terminate my streamyx before register for unifi pro?
In between, necessary to wait 30 days to avoid some kind of penalty?

So troublesome if the wait is needed! vmad.gif
You should do an upgrade from Streamyx to Unifi. Not terminate Streamyx yourself then apply Unifi. Your Streamyx phone number will be migrated to Unifi. Maintain the same number only, no extra Unifi number.

When they install Unifi and activate it, the Streamyx account will be terminated at that time. All done automatically by them. Best is to call 100 and ask again, or apply through agent.

mylinear
post Sep 7 2018, 12:35 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Sep 7 2018, 12:09 PM)
unifi 50 pacakage is dumb without free 600min calls, if add that +RM20 = it become within RM10 to 100mbps pacakge. That is Stupid. Would have been fine if they include free calls like 100mbps but at RM99 price.
Thats the idea. If add STD20 becomes RM119, then for additional RM10 can get double speed. Many may take 100M instead, so they get higher paying user. Or next time they will have offer add RM10/RM30 upgrade to double speed from 50M to 100M. They already stated "most popular" package is RM129 100M on their website, even though its just launched.

0.2357sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:58 AM