21 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 12:49 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(jerryckk @ Sep 7 2018, 01:25 PM)
Went to TM point this morning. Existing customer with or without contract can apply for this new 100mbps package. The only downside for under contract users is that the contract will be renewed for 24 months. No penalty will be charged. They will record your application and process will be done on next week as the new 100mbps package isn't ready yet in their system.
This is CONFIRMED, just now my TM Manager just informed me Up/Downgrade-ABLE...
Still waiting for new 50Mbps confirmation from them, as my friends and relatives very INTERESTED with it...

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 7 2018, 01:44 PM)
So TNB is moving into the broadband market hmm.gif

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...oadband-market/
Ya, but still PILOT like TM...
No wonder nowadays Malaysia's airspace so crowded with so many PILOTs... whistling.gif whistling.gif
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 12:59 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Sep 7 2018, 01:57 PM)
I did the same exact thing, actually called in to ask regarding my contract and told them I am considering changing Telcos. Next day, order placed and it was upgraded to 800Mbps.

I am staying in Nilai.
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
Got this lobang also....
but only for those contract-ended only gua...
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 02:01 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Sep 7 2018, 02:48 PM)
Those FPS gamers need every milisecond yo  whistling.gif

Looking forward to RM99 50Mbps package official announcement - especially upload speed, hopeful for anything better than 10Mbps, please at least match Maxis' 30Mbps upload at RM89! No need to consider UniFi Basic 30 Mbps (RM79) and unlock no quota (RM30) at RM109 already  rclxms.gif

Really big thanks to @Xefron for the inside scoop. Looks like another trip to TM Point next week since I can potentially save another RM20 per month (RM240 annually, which is more than enough to fund a Raspberry Pi Zero W to Google Cloud Print-enable my Fuji Xerox DocuPrint P455d).
Exactly. For many people with cheap/unlimited voice minutes on mobile, it makes no difference.

I even prefer making business calls over mobile if I don't mind disclosing my mobile number (Caller ID) cos I gain more freedom of movement through AirPods/bluetooth headset. Yes, I know bluetooth is also available for landline phones but it requires more hardware, additional cost and is less mobile overall. And the battery life (I used the Eneloop Pro high capacity AAAs) of the DECT phone isn't that great relatively, really long calls may even require switching batteries/phone (yes, you can do it if you have 2 DECT phones (which I got from Streamyx and then UniFi) using a splitter).

In fact, I only value the UniFi phone line for its call forwarding feature to my mobile/REDtone SIPhony -  which is a real niche.

For VDSL-er like me, I am pretty sure that the infra cannot support more than 50 Mbps even on best effort (which btw, only Maxis is offering and which TM is refusing/unable to turbo existing 30 Mbps VIP10 packages). So we will take whatever max speed at the cheapest price that we can get and this RM99 50 Mbps plan (upload speed still unknown) looks like a better deal than Maxis RM129 plan for 100 Mbps download 50 Mbps upload which is unachievable due to infra limitation. RM30 savings a month can pay for Netflix/Smart DNS/VPN subscription yo.
Exactly...
I'm also call using XOX at 6sen/mins
CHEAP n GOOD to all networks...
SMS only cost 2 sen++

and some Mobile operator offered Unlimited Calls like RedOne and Ookyo... thumbup.gif

I've QUITED antique fixed line since dozen years ago... sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wilson1stop: Sep 7 2018, 02:02 PM
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 02:04 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Sep 7 2018, 02:59 PM)
sl3ge Currently the best deal is 50Mbps RM99/month. have to wait for official TM announcement.
Ya, it's BEST so far...
But yesterday I was submitted 30Mbps le...
(maybe next time UPGRADE again if not enough with 60GB quota...)
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 04:37 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 7 2018, 05:00 PM)
Can also, jual nasi lemak infront the house, then put a big signboard saying ‘FREE WIFI 800Mbps’ biggrin.gif
haha, wondering what's smartphone can surfing at 800Mbps then? tongue.gif tongue.gif
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 04:58 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 7 2018, 05:45 PM)
Well, just curious, which phones now support gigabit speed? Note 9? iPhone X? Anyone?
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 7 2018, 05:54 PM)
The flagships and high-end phones can do that as they have 4x4 MIMO, but not any iPhone suprisingly. Hopefully, all the new about to be release iPhones will. Samsung high-end phones supports 4x4 MIMO.
All of the above, and mostly the flagships and high-end phones, but not iPhone. Hopefully, the new about to be released iPhone can do that.
Someone tested earlier 4x4 MIMO able get 5xx till 6xx Mbps only...
Maybe 8x8 MU-MIMO coming soon before 5G-era?
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 05:30 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 7 2018, 06:18 PM)
I guess the turbocharged 300Mbps, 500Mbps, and 800Mbps has become limited edition offers. Unifi's portal has removed the old 30Mbps @ RM139 plan.
Too late...
Now system only got 30Mbps and 100Mbps, soon might activate 50Mbps and others...
https://rhombuscake.me/tm/package.php?areat...maxspeed=1000#/

QUOTE(set @ Sep 7 2018, 06:23 PM)
so what's the latest take on the rm129 package now, can direct go tmpoint change? or still not yet in system
Must go TMpoint urself, but maybe after next week.

No more TURBO, as gaven TURBO-ahead...
Contract will renew no matters your contract-ended.
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 05:38 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Sep 7 2018, 06:35 PM)
not really, agent still can apply for 50m  biggrin.gif
I see, then maybe left 3 days for you to sales Unifi Advance plan...
TM Manager yesterday told me will update after 10th to process new plan. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 06:28 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 7 2018, 07:03 PM)
How many unifi@house can connect to this box? Are there any limit?
8 ports by default, by max is 16 ports.
wilson1stop
post Sep 7 2018, 10:46 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(luxulery @ Sep 7 2018, 11:42 PM)
DIR-580L not support 500mbps ? just gor turboed, but speedtest only 91Mbps
Bro, go buy some CAT6 cable and test again.
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 09:50 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 8 2018, 10:35 AM)
Yes, cat5e indeed does support gigabit connection.
Are you waiting for 800Mbps? Many of us here opt to take the newly launched 100Mbps for RM129, I think it’s a bargain unless you really need that 800Mbps of course smile.gif
TURBO was roll-out too slow and many uncertain answer also...
But saves $$$ is real deals and 100Mbps is really overkilled for those normal usages... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Between TURBOed also required more $$$ for upgrading our hardware too...

This post has been edited by wilson1stop: Sep 8 2018, 09:50 AM
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 10:08 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Sep 8 2018, 10:52 AM)
I live in area where unifi Basic and unifi 100Mbps are not available. What other plan can TM offer
to me?
 Please contact us or walk-in to the nearest TMpoint outlets to find out the special plan for you.

source
See, TM said can upgrade according HIGHER SPEED, not based on prices... rclxs0.gif rclxs0.gif
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 10:09 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 8 2018, 11:05 AM)
You could try use livechat as some of us here did. If you’re creative enough, they’ll probably put your case on the higher priority. I remember someone here has done that.
For an additional RM10, it’s no brainer for you to let go 300Mbps but again it’s yours to decide. For majority, 100Mbps is more than enough
Chill Bro, since many of Malaysians never using Gigabits before, so they was extremely excited for it... sweat.gif sweat.gif

I think a small family of 3-5 members can get 30Mbps till 100Mbps, if Gamers/P2Pers only need the TURBO...

This post has been edited by wilson1stop: Sep 8 2018, 10:10 AM
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 10:15 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(Ququ @ Sep 8 2018, 11:13 AM)
Mean i need change this BTU also? How i can change it?
u can't.
test with CAT6 cable first.

Then take photo and visit TMpoint for inquiry if BTU was not support TURBO.
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 10:51 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 8 2018, 11:27 AM)
Oh that’s sad! Probably can sue TM for making false promise!
Sue will not win one, but can complain for special discounts icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Sep 8 2018, 11:34 AM)
Decided to upgrade to 100mbps rm129 hehe will be activated next week lol
Welcome to the NEW club, Bro.
Me too waiting for HQ decision... 1st in my area... thumbup.gif
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 11:47 AM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Sep 8 2018, 12:19 PM)
when did you change your plan to the new plan? Haha i did it just now
Since Day 1 @ 6th Sep, Bro.

QUOTE(afif92 @ Sep 8 2018, 12:23 PM)
How did you do?
must go TMpoint urself.

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Sep 8 2018, 12:27 PM)
Went to tmpoint and they showed me the new plan. Stated i wanted to upgrade to 100mbps. She said i dont need to play any penalty since i renew my contract again for 2 years. It will be activated by next week.
Wow, your area staffs was updated while mine need to treated until see Manager.

Kept told me it's Downgrade, now new plans FAQ mentioned can upgrade NO CHARGES/PENALTY to any higher plans.

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Sep 8 2018, 12:34 PM)
TM BTU already disable access for user. Even you connect direct to PC also cannot access the config page.
Most likely turbo next year and contract renew 24 months. Best is to consult tmpoint for a more accurate answer.
They will offer you UniFi mobile instead. laugh.gif
hmmm, isnt that called Unifi Wireless? Mobile is for phone lah.
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 11:54 AM

2,779 posts

Well, downgrade is still better than massive jumpship to Maxis/Time/TNB...

At least this time, TM getting listen to users.
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 12:05 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Sep 8 2018, 12:54 PM)
Yes for phone. If your area has no fix broadband coverage and you go to tmpoint, they will offer you  mobile plan. Think they want to go pasang the infra?
Wireless/Mobile/Basic come with 60GB quota

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 8 2018, 01:01 PM)
Imho, just sign up for the 100mbps package since it is cheaper than what you're already paying.
Routers can be upgraded also if you need the speed.
Me, I'm going to wait for a little longer and see how the 500mbps upgrade goes since I am paying RM 159++ for 50mbps with the ultimate TV pack which I enjoy ( I haven't had astro in more than 5 years).
500Mbps for RM159 is ok, no need downgrade...
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 12:35 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 8 2018, 01:29 PM)
True. They seem to only focus on new subscribers and ignore the old ones who have been loyal. That is the way it is. They really need new management.
Can't blame too much, since all VIP users required hardware replacements so they was allocated to phase 2 turbo.

I think TM go random turbo among Batch 2 and Batch 3 if their BTU supports the Gigabit Turbo...
Perhaps TM will mass roll-out turbo after Oct...

Now, TM also offered those who wishes for faster speed and cheaper prices. Just opt in once their system update few days later.
wilson1stop
post Sep 8 2018, 12:46 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(hannchua @ Sep 8 2018, 01:39 PM)
Called 100 yesterday, was told that he's from technical team. I asked if anyone can help me with the upgrade, he told me only 'technical team' can help expedite my upgrade. So I asked him to help me. He then paused and stuttered as he spoke the next few words: "I'm sorry I cannot help you." @@

Last time if we were to change from streamyx to unifi, our landline number would be forced to change right? My datin aunt told them she was datin then they were like: " Aiyoh Datin, you should have told me earlier..." and helped her keep the number. I am not but let's say I am a Dato' would indicating my rank give me an upperhand in this case? (Just curious ah)
Aiyo Dato, said early mah...
Why you waited 1 month le? biggrin.gif

21 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.2257sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:46 PM