StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

singaporeproton
post Feb 22 2019, 10:47 AM

As a good Malaysia citizen, paying tax is definitely a duty wink.gif

Anyone know how or what do we file tax for investment we do/have in Statshaway?

This post has been edited by singaporeproton: Feb 22 2019, 10:48 AM
singaporeproton
post Feb 23 2019, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Feb 22 2019, 02:10 PM)
I thought investment is parked under Capital Gain Tax and not taxable
If I am not mistaken, we still need to declare the dividend - after we got back the 30 %.

Hope sifu here can share whether they declare it or not. brows.gif

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 22 2019, 10:53 AM)
You get back the 30% from the treasuries except CWB.
QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 22 2019, 11:29 AM)
I have been using StashAway since 2017. The withholding tax refund is done by Saxo on behalf of StashAway and thus us.
singaporeproton
post Feb 25 2019, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(pinan @ Feb 24 2019, 12:23 AM)
Honsiong is right, dividends and interest derived from investments outside Malaysia and received by local investors are exempt from tax.

Can read this LHDN public ruling for more info http://lampiran1.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/PR2_2014.pdf

This is the most relevant part:-

(a) Dividends and interest from investments outside Malaysia

Dividends and interest derived from investments outside Malaysia and received by local investors in Malaysia, other than a resident company carrying on the business of banking, insurance or sea or air transport, are exempt from tax.

[paragraph 28 of Schedule 6 of ITA]
Good to know! thumbsup.gif

0.0371sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:51 PM