At the same time, I want to change gearbox oil also.
Is the Petronas ATF-XP3 fluid suitable for persona auto tranny?
Or I just stick back to Proton SP III?

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.
Mar 3 2020, 10:24 AM
106 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Jul 13 2020, 06:38 PM
Help ...
My persona C.E.L is on, it caused the car unable to accelerate smoothly and gear does not change smoothly too. The rpm goes up to 2-3krpm and then it seems can't go up (the speed up to around 30-40). Slow down the car, rev again, and it moved up as usual but that time C.E.L is already on. Check with PADT, shows O2 sensor error code. Change to new O2 sensor twice, do reset and the C.E.L is still on after drive few kms. What seems to be the actual problem here? |
Mar 7 2021, 01:13 PM
My front brake pads are screaming ...
What brand of brake pads suitable for our old persona? |
Oct 3 2022, 09:33 AM
What is the cost for the brake switch?
Just realized all my brakes light not working, want to go fast fast change else later kena kiss from behind especially during raining season. |
May 17 2023, 06:57 PM
Hi all, just now on the way back from work, i noticed my car temp go up until almost to the max during idle/stuck at traffic jam and traffic light.
But when the car moves, it dropped back to the normal level (centre) almost immediately. Then when the car stopped again at traffic light, the meter goes up slowly and drop down again when moving. Stopped the car, open bonnet, see no leak whatsoever, no smoke/burn smell, the fan was spinning. Last CNY, already changed to new water pump + timing belt set, which also change the coolant. Was the problem related to termostat or others? |
Jun 6 2023, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(dannyw @ May 17 2023, 08:51 PM) Another possibility is fan motor. I changed my last year. Fan start weak or no spin already, when you drive, the wind cool down the radiator so it drop back. I changed my thermostat not long ago.. QUOTE(caesarx @ May 19 2023, 06:15 PM) if it happen frequently, better check at nearest workshop. Try to rotate your radiator fan with engine off, see if the fan can spin smoothly or have resistant. I experienced this last few months, when radiator fan down, aircond still cold but car temp will rise when car stop, and the radiator coolant will spill out due to high temp, also the fan will run for sometime even after turned off car switch. For repair, i need to change the fan motor, and also replaced the burn fuse caused by high resistant when the fan spinning. QUOTE(Steponlego @ May 19 2023, 09:58 PM) 100% confirmed it's the meter. Get it repaired. Need to change the thingy that moves the needle. Check FB marketplace for meter repair guy. I suggest asking Gen2 group for dedicated meter guy. QUOTE(McFcker @ May 29 2023, 10:13 AM) my car just overheat last week, found one of the hose from the radiator cracked and leaked otw to KL. Do you change your own radiator coolant? The last time my car overheat due to the plastic crack after replacing the workshop just refill water into the radiator. QUOTE(ask_dino @ May 29 2023, 02:30 PM) I also faced the same problem like this before, then I ask my mechanic to really check all the piping and it seem that it has some cracked on it and also check the fins on the radiator. Change both with new parts and fill only coolant, now it is working as usual without over heating issue. Thanks for all the feedback .... my overheat problem seems to be a simple one, which many people actually overlooked it. It is caused by my radiator cap, the mechanic checked and suspected it was caused by it, since he noticed some coolant at the cap there. All other things were ok, so he just replaced the cap and top up water. Driving for 2 weeks seems no overheat issue anymore.Now another issue I'm facing after the overheat issue, is the speedometer sometimes at 0km/h. I googled and most was saying speed sensor issue. Anyone getting this problem? Might need to visit the mechanic again. inferno_17_85 and dannyw liked this post
Nov 12 2023, 04:56 PM
Has anyone here has changed their stock 'spark ignition coil'?
A couple of days ago, my car seems very hard to start (but battery already replaced last month). So I thought it could be the spark plug already in bad shape so had it replaced with new ones. But yesterday, my car again couldn't start on first crank. Luckily able to start it, but during driving, the car seems very slow to accelerate, even heavier than before. So I think the old spark plug has damaged my ignition coil? Any idea, else I would have to change it. |
Nov 16 2023, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Nov 13 2023, 07:51 PM) Fuel filter is very common missed maintenance topic. Of course we might need a new fuel pump, but start with cheap and easy option first. Everything else was fine.On top of that, do check for vacuum leak. My random engine dead issue was found to be manifold connecting tube (the one between throttle body and air filter) leak. And since you open to check already might as well check on throttle body and give it a wipe, maybe carb cleaner spray. Coil pack failure usually can be determined by measuring resistance across two pin of it using multimeter. But your symptom does not seems to point towards coil pack because it would give you irrigular cranking as chances all of four coil pack failing is low. Another would be old starter. But that can wait until it failed only change. Highly suspected was the starter itself. In the end, had the old starter replaced with a new one. Now engine cranking was smooth. ![]() inferno_17_85 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0452sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:01 PM |