-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

litlit
post Sep 10 2019, 03:40 AM

Hi old birds, I’m intend to buy a proton persona 2009 h-line from my friend, it has 140k+ mileage and it looks quite new from outside to inside as he seldom drive it.

But there is rattling sound from engine when we open the hood. My friend said it was the IAFM Campro engine valve noise which is common and not an issue, after he consult a mechanic few years ago. He also said the max speed is 150kmh on highway only. He is a super slow driver so he didn’t care.

As I confirmed to buy from him, just asking does anyone know what’s the issues and cost to solve it? Thanks

Here is video for the sound.
https://youtu.be/94HuzcwetQs
litlit
post Sep 10 2019, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Sep 10 2019, 08:30 AM)
The IAFM is there to improve low speed fuel economy compared to non IAFM model. So if your IAFM valve spoil already, as in this case, it will not affect highway speed or FC but your city driving will be affected as per lower torque (pick up in my terms) per rpm.

New IAFM unit cost about 500++ in material alone currently. However you can bring it to shop like Zordaq (Google it up, they got a few shop throughout Malaysia) that can repair the loosen IAFM butterfly shaft for less than RM100. But then if the shaft of broken then there's no way to get it fixed without replacing it.
Thanks for the advise. Will try to consult Zordap.
litlit
post Oct 4 2019, 02:21 AM

Hi all, my car when free gear not moving I pedal gas, the engine got delay for a second before rpm go up, and when I let go the gas pedal, then engine also got delay (the rpm still up for a second before coming down).
So I wash the throttle body, pedal gas is a lot better with nearly no delay, but let go gas pedal still the same has delay. Anyone know what’s wrong? Just wanna know before I send to workshop to check, thanks
litlit
post Oct 4 2019, 02:24 AM

QUOTE(anakMY @ Sep 17 2019, 12:30 PM)
Just done repairing IAFM unit, I’m not sure what my foreman did, he say he do some modification , no more tak tak sound and air leaking sound. Engine become smoother and more power at low speeds.
Hi can share me workshop place?
litlit
post Oct 27 2019, 03:31 PM

Want change Michelin xm2+ 4pcs tyre. Any idea 195/60/15 or 195/55/15 better? What’s the stock tyres size? Thanks
litlit
post Nov 26 2019, 03:53 PM

https://youtu.be/d9-wuChaT4Q

Hi guys, there is an annoying fast knocking sound suspect from my left aircon vent, it’s gone when turn off aircon.

I tried to send to workshop but when I reach there it’s gone 😅 so foreman can’t diagnose. Any idea what’s the cause of the sound?

0.0206sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:25 PM