-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

dares
post Jan 28 2019, 01:01 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 27 2019, 09:30 PM)
Lol  biggrin.gif  I get my engine oil very cheap.. And my car is at 200k mileage now.
I bulk buy a dozen Bosch Oil filters for RM68.50 from lazada last time. On top of that I get my engine oil from paulhew in Shoppee. He sells Castrol Edge quite cheap, with coupons and free shipping it only cost RM110+ a bottle.

I only drive like 16-20k km a year on average now and per day driving time will be around 2-2.5 hours due to traffic jam. I noticed that my engine torque and acceleration affected a lot after I started getting stucked in traffic jam. Previously i was working in Cyberjaya and to travel from Bukit Jalil to Cyber is by highway and rarely have jam. Hence this is why i started changing engine oil before due time (you are supposed to change engine oil every 6 mths anyway) and my engine power sort of restored a lot.

To be honest there are a lot more to engine oil than just the dirt level from an engine oil blot. Engine oil contains friction modifier, detergent, viscosity modifier etc etc which wears out over time from heat and usage. A clear engine oil doesnt show the amount of wear and tear to your engine internals. I used to extend my engine oil service life quite frequently last time when I was a student. my Semi Syn oil would last for 12k km, Fully Syn stretch to 15k km. But the darkness of the oil at each service change scares me.  tongue.gif 

My rule of thumb is, if u feel a major difference in performance after every engine oil service change, you should bring forward your oil change. The extra drag in your engine waste fuel anyways and will just offset the savings you had extending your oil change duration.
fuyo veteran suddenly muncul wave.gif
dares
post Apr 19 2019, 01:29 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 18 2019, 08:25 PM)
Today my persona wouldnt start, no cranking sound at all. eventually the foreman just took out the battery and reconnect it. According to him , either ECU gt problem or the chipset in the key is faulty . Just curious, the ECU will 'kong' so easily ?
What do you mean the foreman took out the battery and reconnect it?

Did you drop your keys prior to that happening (unable to start)? a faulty immobilizer chip in your keys can cause the ECU refusing to crank.
dares
post May 8 2019, 09:44 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 7 2019, 05:15 PM)
so i buka the fan blower, wash the fan fins. buka the mesh filter and brush with toothbrush.
now ac fan blower is stronger, morning feels cold with compressor on-off in healthy interval. but comes noon fetching people will still feel the coldness inadequate. 1 thing i observed is when the car stop in traffic, ac will not cold. when start jalan the ac will be colder. i don't think is radiator fan as the radiator fan noise is still loud and audible. so was it compressor weaken?
Persona IAFM has two fans up front, the smaller fan next to the radiator fan is for the AC, check if that one is spinning when AC is engaged.

Also even if the fan is spinning also doesn't mean it is spinning fast enough.

Your symptoms sound like the AC fan in front kong or losing power.

This post has been edited by dares: May 8 2019, 09:45 AM
dares
post Aug 9 2019, 06:29 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 7 2019, 09:00 AM)
I found there're 2 variant of Proton thermostat... 78'c and 82'c, which one you using now? 4'c temp difference got huge effect or not?
Actually I'm surveying low temp thermostat, but very rare for campro engine. Wira Mitsubishi got a lot low temp thermostat selling in market.
4c not alot of difference.

when driving the coolant temp fluctuations can be as much as 10c or more (OBD reading) especially when driving in slow traffic on a hot day.

Don't trust the stock temp gauge on the instrument cluster, many times my ECU temp reading sampai 90c but the gauge still happily sitting on 80 lol
dares
post Aug 28 2019, 03:02 PM

834 posts

Persona mau sell ah.....better drive til roda jatuh to avoid heartache in the used car market hahahahahahaha
dares
post Aug 28 2019, 04:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Aug 28 2019, 04:34 PM)
Buy the car at 60k, sell at 15k lose 45k only.
Buy BMW 330i at 300k, 7 years later trade in value only 70k, lose 230k = 1 rumah mampu milik yo.
win liao lor biggrin.gif
dares
post Sep 11 2019, 06:45 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Sep 6 2019, 05:32 PM)
My mechanic once told me to be very careful of the temperature. If overheated , the engine block is made of aluminium and it will be disfigured , even u do overhaul also still will hv overheating issues. Hv to change the whole engine
Campro engine block is cast iron, not aluminium.

Cast iron generally more resistant to permanent damage when overheat, compared to aluminium.
dares
post Dec 6 2019, 11:37 PM

834 posts

Hi guys
dares
post Dec 7 2019, 10:28 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Dec 7 2019, 01:32 AM)
Range rover not selling well ah? Lol
Wrong guy la, itu V12kompressor biggrin.gif
dares
post Oct 22 2022, 01:55 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Oct 22 2022, 07:00 AM)
Is it necesary to change the ATF in my Persona after 2 yrs ? My car only clocked 15k  km in this 2 years..  What's the recommended chnaging interval of ATF for  Persona IAFM ?
According to Proton maintenance schedule should be 20k km or 1 year whichever comes first.

You can stretch to 2 years if low mileage, but that is as far as I would go.
dares
post Oct 23 2022, 10:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Oct 23 2022, 09:55 PM)
I just checked back my receipt, proton sc stated 40k km?
This is the maintenance schedule as of 2015. Not sure if they changed it afterwards.

This post has been edited by dares: Oct 23 2022, 10:34 PM

0.0191sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:35 PM