6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

voscar
post May 24 2023, 11:50 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ May 24 2023, 09:51 PM)
Finally after 1 year and half, engine braking somehow returned back to my car. Really annoying when the car switched lower gear going down hill.

Before this auto engine braking mysteriously disappeared after I send the car for A/C servicing. A/C shop took off the battery for the whole day, probably reset some settings. Last week I send the car for wiring repair because brake switch went kaput, somehow the car now feels bit sluggish.
Drive over 80km/h will canceled the engine braking feature. So when downhill just press more the accelerator pedal to maintain speed 80km/h
voscar
post Jun 30 2023, 10:06 AM

1,524 posts

My current mileage around 107k still on original mounting, already earthquake feeling but yet to change.

Recently the radiator top water hose attaching to engine side got minor leaking, can see reservoir tank level dropped to minimum. I tried tighten the screw, but it gone loose again in just 1 week. I see the screw end very near to the timing belt area, so last week tried loosen and tighten again and move around a little bit, hopefully fixed it.
voscar
post Jun 30 2023, 11:15 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:45 AM)
Bro sounds like the connecting part rust and crushing below already.
Ya could be, will monitor and observe. If leaking can see the coolant stain and reservoir level dropping.
voscar
post Jun 30 2023, 12:51 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Jun 30 2023, 12:02 PM)
change my mounting at 170k km.
8 years old car only haha
170k! Can lasted so long without vibration?
My one can feel engine going to fell out anytime soon, haha.
voscar
post Jul 20 2023, 12:02 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jul 19 2023, 03:23 PM)
How much to change timing belt and water pump these days? Time flies so fast, already 3 years since I had mine changed. Last time I was charge RM500 for parts and labor.
I've used until 5 years due to mileage still low, last year December changed timing belt only plus labor, RM400, exclude v-belt and water pump.
voscar
post Oct 2 2023, 01:15 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Sep 27 2023, 11:39 AM)
You guys absorber tahan lama also. i think my absorber was changed prematurely.

Mounting rosak that time. kedai tayar try phyco me absorber also kong. i changed to a KYB one.

Original one, the last 10% of rebound not as good. i keep it in my boot till today.

currently my front mounting, absorber ,absorber link , engine mounting and drive shaft already replaced.

Thats all for now.

Lately my brake macam press after long drive lembut. i just flushed + service . now better but maybe out of 10 long drive 1 time still kena . not sure need to replace master pump or not.
Just changed mine last month, already long gone and rough when driving..

I saw the new box is Waja, use on my Gen2 sometime when going through speed bump a bit faster, can feel like scraping undercarriage a bit...

voscar
post Feb 5 2024, 12:05 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:13 PM)
Is it just me or everyone else here feels our Persona is falling apart?
Yes, mystery water accumulated and causing rust everywhere. Changed rubber still found there's water after thunderstorm.

voscar
post Feb 5 2024, 12:35 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Feb 5 2024, 10:36 AM)
Leaking water is the most headache to troubleshoot.

If not from rubber then maybe from light?
Could be, will need another round of hose down water spray check, probably do it during CNY holiday
voscar
post Jul 3 2024, 01:41 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jun 5 2024, 04:07 PM)
Solved bro?

My turn now for rear bonnet leak. It's from the rubber seal and leakin stops after bending the rubber a bit and apply silicone grease.

Now constantly paranoid about it leak again.
You referring to me?
Not yet fully solve, still got minor water seeping in, once a while just taken out spare tyre use dry rag to wipe it dry, it's not like previously accumulating until rusty.
voscar
post Sep 8 2024, 10:03 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Sep 7 2024, 11:12 AM)

I am owner of Proton Persona Elegance manual... Own it from 2010 until now... The car is easy to maintain, spare part price is affordable.... Since i work as engineer, I've been train to keep record on all maintenance history of my car... So here I share the total cost ownership of the car and also mileage history yearly that I record base on my personal experience...
Maintenance and repair cost of my Gen2, also since 2011, I think around RM25-30k like that, calculated that early this year. Spent most on radiator fan and absorber (3rd or 4th set already), I don't understand why Proton front absorber always leaking oil...

Last year also spent a lot on replacing those lower arms, absorbers, absorber mounting, engine mounting and tyres...
voscar
post Sep 23 2024, 12:15 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Sep 22 2024, 03:42 PM)

I have problem, seat belt on driver side, i think the spring no more functioning, it do not retract by itself. So some time the metal part will be lay at the door, then you close the door it hit and dent the door area. Anyone here already change this part before ? You change the whole seat belt set or you just change the spring part ? Please share your experience....
Have to change whole set bro, the internal mechanism is not replaceable. Bought the part and DIY change myself this year for front passenger side.
voscar
post Sep 23 2024, 12:16 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Sep 22 2024, 03:42 PM)

I have problem, seat belt on driver side, i think the spring no more functioning, it do not retract by itself. So some time the metal part will be lay at the door, then you close the door it hit and dent the door area. Anyone here already change this part before ? You change the whole seat belt set or you just change the spring part ? Please share your experience....
Have to change whole set bro, the internal mechanism is not replaceable. Bought the part and DIY change myself this year for front passenger side.

This post has been edited by voscar: Sep 23 2024, 12:16 AM

voscar
post Sep 24 2024, 11:55 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Sep 24 2024, 05:48 AM)
Owh, ok... I also see from Youtube on DIY video on how to change this part..
seem like a lot to do...
Most likely I will ask my standard workshop to buy and install it for me in my next visit.... tongue.gif

How much is the new set belt you purchase ?
You buy from Shopee ?
Around RM100-110 like that, bought from Shopee, first shop sent me I think Perodua type which is on my photo, can see differences not fit so I return refund.
Second shop I buy Proton Savvy type, can use but height position is fixed cannot change. I think if want similar one will need around RM160 so I didn't buy that. Using Proton Savvy type now still good.
voscar
post Nov 19 2024, 12:00 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Nov 18 2024, 02:25 PM)
How you guys think of having telescopic steering for Persona Elegance? Anyone done that?
Telescopic steering wheel is outdated, may as well change to yoke type to refresh your persona following the future trending.

voscar
post Dec 26 2024, 06:31 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Dec 24 2024, 11:28 PM)
My car is manual, purchase on 2010.
Unfortunately on 2022 it get into flash flood at 300K km and need me to change new engine.
On 2024, the best fuel consumption i get is 6.9 L/100km.
Currently fuel consumption at 7.1 L/100km.

I bring the car to work everyday.
My driving style normally i change gear before rpm exceed 2000.
Only at time i need more power, will push rpm around 3000 before change gear... icon_rolleyes.gif

How much you spent for new engine bro? Can claim flood insurance? Bought from Proton SC?

QUOTE(Tirek @ Dec 25 2024, 04:44 PM)
My persona ageing
Feel like the engine kurang power
Already change fuel filter, spark plug

If i service oil sump/oil pan and cuci throttle body, can i get the old power back ?

What do you guys did to your persona ?
Mind to share with me ?
My one is Gen2 kosong, more worse the torque dip and heavy FC, now the car mostly used for near distance driving or working use.

After drove newer 2.0L car, already addicted with the power and acceleration, drive back Gen2 always feel slow to get up to speed.
voscar
post Dec 28 2024, 02:10 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Dec 26 2024, 10:31 PM)
The engine I purchase from workshop where I normally send my car.
It cost me RM4,900 just for the engine.
After that they recommend me to change other part as well.
In total it cost me almost 8.6k to complete change the engine number in the road tax at Puspakom as well.

At that time I just take out 10K from KWSP.
First i plan to make it as my emergency fund.
Eventually almost all the money go to my car.

You can refer total cost on the image.

RM4.9k for new engine quite cheap, if anyone's engine requiring full overhaul, might instead opt to get new engine...
voscar
post Dec 30 2024, 03:00 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Dec 30 2024, 02:34 PM)
agree its not cheap. everything add up

ATF,brake oil ,radiator fluid change (i never flush before but to date i have no issue with temp. tho i see some debris inside radiator.) ,power steering oil change aircond flushing.

for me other than my exterior paint and also my brake (sometimes feels soft. last time happened more. i flushed twice then didnt happen anymore for almost a year. recently kena once)

i think i spend quite alot on this car hahahhaa.
sometimes feel stupid but oh well.
I think I've spent more than RM25k throughout 13 years to maintain my car although low mileage.
voscar
post Jan 1 2025, 01:54 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(ARMI85 @ Jan 1 2025, 08:43 AM)
I have spend 42K ++ for my Persona maintenance for the period of 14 years of ownership.
369,000km ++ and counting....
Replace engine one time because it got into flash flood...

Just finish year end trip from Shah Alam - Menatakab -  Kuala Terengganu - Kota Bharu - Shah Alam , more than 1000km, 3 days trip...
I'm happy with the car...
Still give me smile when driving at Karak highway all the way until Genting Sempah and go down to Gombak toll...
one driver surprise me in that road is Toyota Hilux brough durian half full who i give way because he drive like Bunta... tongue.gif
Respect to the driver...

You can refer my full record of ownership on screenshot below;

Hilux carrying durian is very dangerous, my other car was hit by that when front suddenly emergency brake. My car already stopped for a while still kena hit from behind.
voscar
post Jan 10 2025, 09:11 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 9 2025, 08:20 PM)

Does this part looks like made by TCA ? Bought this from trusted seller with physical shop, doesn't have any TCA branding. Googling the part number returns to bunch of other aftermarket like Denco and such.

I don't want to be a sucker.
What is TCA? Never heard of this.
voscar
post Jan 11 2025, 03:53 PM

1,524 posts

Recently I see Facebook Gen2 club, Persona club, mentioning abs pump may causes fire hazard, is this true?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0817sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:15 AM