Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...

views
     
coolkwc
post Jul 3 2021, 12:48 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
*******
Senior Member
3,094 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jul 3 2021, 12:04 PM)
Yeap through the offset.
*
If reduce too much, are we expect the highest single core boost will be affected?

My plan for next maybe is to use per core CO and increase the count for best core, currently -30 all core, how do u think?
Bonchi
post Jul 3 2021, 12:54 PM

KittehPowah
******
Senior Member
1,584 posts

Joined: Sep 2008
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jul 3 2021, 12:48 PM)
If reduce too much, are we expect the highest single core boost will be affected?

My plan for next maybe is to use per core CO and increase the count for best core, currently -30 all core, how do u think?
*
I think you should check out curve optimizer more aka pbo2 in this thread especially by owlikh and nrw. I sold my ryzen before these are introduced so i dont have much experience here to advice but yeah, it's all about trial and error as each silicon have different mileage.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Jul 3 2021, 12:54 PM
coolkwc
post Jul 3 2021, 09:30 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
*******
Senior Member
3,094 posts

Joined: Jul 2006
Have been using the settings below for whole day without stability issue.

CO -30 all core
Boost +200MHz
Vcore offset -0.075v

Maybe will try to reduce the Vcore further.

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jul 3 2021, 09:31 PM
cyberloner
post Aug 2 2021, 08:05 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,556 posts

Joined: May 2005
From: Penang


do you gaming with those setting? i bet whea error will hunt you
yimingwuzere
post Aug 9 2021, 04:16 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
977 posts

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Bolehland


user posted image

Old OC attempt was stuck at 3733 due to a BIOS issue on the Asrock B550 board I have. I've since updated the BIOS and got these results for 3800. Didn't bother pushing some timings as low as they can go such as tRCDWR.

Old results:
user posted image

Reckon I could push this RAM kit to 4000 at 1:1 MCLK/FCLK without much issue? It's a Crucial 2x16GB DDR4-3200 kit, so it should be dual ranked Micron revE.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 9 2021, 04:24 PM
InFe_eD
post Aug 15 2021, 11:38 PM

Can you imagine?
*****
Senior Member
929 posts

Joined: Mar 2009
From: Earth, just like you


Hi any sifu can recommend me some cheap ram that can be overclocked slightly?
Is there a way to get these samsung micron die in Malaysia?

edit: For ryzen 5 series, looking at 8gb x2, not interested in rgb and bling bling just pure performance thanks

This post has been edited by InFe_eD: Aug 15 2021, 11:39 PM
raydenex
post Aug 16 2021, 12:08 AM

"Updated my journal."
****
Senior Member
588 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Penang | Puchong | Malacca


QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Aug 15 2021, 11:38 PM)
Hi any sifu can recommend me some cheap ram that can be overclocked slightly?
Is there a way to get these samsung micron die in Malaysia?

edit: For ryzen 5 series, looking at 8gb x2, not interested in rgb and bling bling just pure performance thanks
*
I have a kit of Klevv Cras XR 4000c19 for sale. Hynix DJR memory. Can easily do 3800c16 or 3600c16 manually as well, quite suitable for Ryzen 5000 series.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5182616&hl=
yimingwuzere
post Aug 19 2021, 01:54 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
977 posts

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Bolehland


QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Aug 15 2021, 11:38 PM)
Hi any sifu can recommend me some cheap ram that can be overclocked slightly?
Is there a way to get these samsung micron die in Malaysia?

edit: For ryzen 5 series, looking at 8gb x2, not interested in rgb and bling bling just pure performance thanks
*
Hynix DJR (Klevv Bolt XR would be among the cheapest kits for these, goldfries also tested another cheap DJR kit not too long ago). Only way to get a guaranteed Micron revE is via buying DDR4-3000++ kits from Crucial on Amazon, as far as I'm aware the other kits available here that use revE also mix other RAM dies from different vendors too. Samsung B-die is the best but you'll never find them cheaply.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Aug 19 2021, 01:55 PM
k!nex
post Sep 18 2021, 10:25 PM

Restless stars
*******
Senior Member
3,281 posts

Joined: Mar 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Aug 15 2021, 11:38 PM)
Hi any sifu can recommend me some cheap ram that can be overclocked slightly?
Is there a way to get these samsung micron die in Malaysia?

edit: For ryzen 5 series, looking at 8gb x2, not interested in rgb and bling bling just pure performance thanks
*
If you are willing to take a gamble, actually you can get very good binned Samsung B die for around RM600+ brand new for 8GB X 2 , you must have Paypal account though.
Here

It takes about a week to deliver to your house. If you pay RM600+ in Shopee, you get Hynix DJR only.

But this kit is not " just set XMP and thats it ". You have to set alot of timings manually. However, it is a Samsung B die, so they all have roughly the same characteristics.

I have 4 sticks of these running over a year already.

I only have Zen 2, so that's the best timings I can do for my daily rig.

Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by k!nex: Sep 18 2021, 10:39 PM
iZuDeeN
post Sep 23 2021, 10:42 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,245 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: PJ, Malaysia
I have a 2x16gb 3600Mhz CL18

Question... Should I run 3600 with fclock ,1800

Or

4000 , fclock 2000

Tested that my setup can run at that speed stable

Secondly... I have 2 X 16gb 3200Mhz CL16

If I run all 4 stick... What would be the best speed?


cyberloner
post Mar 24 2022, 01:55 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,556 posts

Joined: May 2005
From: Penang


QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 23 2021, 10:42 PM)
I have a 2x16gb 3600Mhz CL18

Question... Should I run 3600 with fclock ,1800

Or

4000 , fclock 2000

Tested that my setup can run at that speed stable

Secondly... I have 2 X 16gb 3200Mhz CL16

If I run all 4 stick... What would be the best speed?
*
if 3600mhz ram... fclock will be 1800 for top speed... all need ratio 1:1:1
if 3200mhz ram... fclock 1600mhz for top speed...

running 2 stick is the best for today ryzen anyway
shinzhizu
post Mar 30 2022, 07:34 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,298 posts

Joined: Aug 2006


i need help. Im using 5800x with B550 Unify. This month i encounter suddenly black screen with random reboot. If I turn off the CBP (Core boost performance) at bios, it solve the random reboot problem but my core speed forever stuck at 3.8ghz. any guide for me?
TSah_khoo
post Sep 11 2022, 11:30 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
Group Icon
Elite
8,103 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu.


a tad late considering am5 is already here... after so may releases of agesa d recent one seemed to be allowing slightly higher ceiling of fclk & uclk. smile.gif

Attached Image
-pWs-
post Sep 11 2022, 03:09 PM

Look at all my stars!!
Group Icon
Elite
8,545 posts

Joined: Aug 2006
From: 224.0.0.6


Nice bro. What ram do you use?
Ryzen Zen3 heat increase a lot with clock speed. So I running on 4Ghz @ 1v.

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Sep 11 2022, 03:10 PM
TSah_khoo
post Sep 11 2022, 03:41 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
Group Icon
Elite
8,103 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu.


QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 11 2022, 03:09 PM)
Nice bro. What ram do you use?
Ryzen Zen3 heat increase a lot with clock speed. So I running on 4Ghz @ 1v.

-pWs-
*
Using corsair ven pro rgb 3466 runnin on bdie bro. 😁

I dont stress with p95 these days but i noticed playin with pbo n undervolt dont really generate lotsa heat. Not sure uv with -0.2~0.25v ish considered good but it does help alot in reducing load temp in games n aida cpu stress test. Mid tower n cheapo 240 aio gives load temp of 5x-6x 'C. Still ok tome.😅

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Sep 11 2022, 03:56 PM
-pWs-
post Sep 11 2022, 04:04 PM

Look at all my stars!!
Group Icon
Elite
8,545 posts

Joined: Aug 2006
From: 224.0.0.6


I see. Nice setup u have there.
Running cheapo China 3200Mhz ram here. laugh.gif

I disabled PBO and opt for all cores undervolt oc.

-pWs-

29 Pages « < 27 28 29Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0211sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th October 2022 - 05:42 AM