30 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...

red-queen
post May 21 2020, 01:26 AM

1,310 posts

tried my best, but couldn't push above 4.1Ghz. tried 4.125Ghz and cinebench failed and i didn't want to go above 1.375v.

i could remain at 1.35v stable for 4.1Ghz but i was losing fps in game.

sighhhh, probably a really bad binned proc. at stock i could never see single core clock boost to 4.2ghz at all, not even once. probably can send in for warranty claim?
nrw
post May 21 2020, 04:17 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ May 21 2020, 01:26 AM)

tried my best, but couldn't push above 4.1Ghz. tried 4.125Ghz and cinebench failed and i didn't want to go above 1.375v.

i could remain at 1.35v stable for 4.1Ghz but i was losing fps in game.

sighhhh, probably a really bad binned proc. at stock i could never see single core clock boost to 4.2ghz at all, not even once. probably can send in for warranty claim?
yeah quite a bad one but that's the lottery ... doubt you cou get a successful warranty claim on it.
just run it stock and wait for zen3 wink.gif
red-queen
post May 21 2020, 04:27 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ May 21 2020, 04:17 PM)
yeah quite a bad one but that's the lottery ... doubt you cou get a successful warranty claim on it.
just run it stock and wait for zen3 wink.gif
Running all core clock 4.1ghz now. At least getting better multicore performance and manage to maintain single core performance.

Only thing is my ppt is around 90 to 91 which exceeds the stock 88w. But this is only on like full load benchmarks etc. Doubt i will ever hit it during normal usage.

TSah_khoo
post May 22 2020, 04:30 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

had some fun with d lowest end of Ryzen 3 family... decent chip w/o burning holes in d wallet... laugh.gif

red-queen
post May 22 2020, 08:22 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ May 22 2020, 04:30 PM)
had some fun with d lowest end of Ryzen 3 family... decent chip w/o burning holes in d wallet...  laugh.gif

woww! thats great results there. now i really feel like my cpu is a freaking potato.
owikh84
post May 23 2020, 07:36 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ May 22 2020, 04:30 PM)
had some fun with d lowest end of Ryzen 3 family... decent chip w/o burning holes in d wallet...  laugh.gif

FCLK 1900 synced?
crazyfatt
post May 26 2020, 10:20 PM

117 posts

Hi all sifu,
I'm using 3950x + x570 asus formula. May i know how can i set the bios to get maximum performance ? mainly gaming. Watercooling setup.
owikh84
post May 27 2020, 07:09 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ May 26 2020, 10:20 PM)
Hi all sifu,
I'm using 3950x + x570 asus formula. May i know how can i set the bios to get maximum performance ? mainly gaming. Watercooling setup.

Easiest OC guide:

1) Enable XMP (D.O.C.P Standard):

2) vCore set to offset -0.1v:

3) Enable PBO, override OC 100-200MHz (depending on your chip strength):

4) Disable C-state:

5) Run CB R20 benchmark.
nrw
post May 27 2020, 10:06 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 27 2020, 07:09 AM)
4) Disable C-state:
Zen2 you can let the cores go to sleep, hardly any performance loss.
And ooc. you never disabled EEC? For my C6H Auto was Enabled, can cause issues at boot.

Oh @crazyfatt, try other voltage offsets (-0.025V till -0.15V) and compare performance/temp.

This post has been edited by nrw: May 27 2020, 10:24 AM
red-queen
post May 27 2020, 11:57 AM

1,310 posts

Dont forget to test out single core benchmark and also testing your actual gaming performance.

My personal experience of having negative offset voltage decreased my single core performance but increased multicore benchmark results.

In the end i just run everything stock as im using it mainly for gaming and browsing.
red-queen
post May 27 2020, 12:00 PM

1,310 posts

https://www.computerbase.de/forum/threads/c...aelter.1911429/

This is a very good read on overclocking for ryzen.
crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 01:54 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 27 2020, 07:09 AM)
Easiest OC guide:

1) Enable XMP (D.O.C.P Standard):

2) vCore set to offset -0.1v:

3) Enable PBO, override OC 100-200MHz (depending on your chip strength):

4) Disable C-state:

5) Run CB R20 benchmark.
Thx for the info. will reset and set this after i off from work. will upload the test.

crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 01:54 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ May 27 2020, 12:00 PM)
https://www.computerbase.de/forum/threads/c...aelter.1911429/

This is a very good read on overclocking for ryzen.
appreciate on the sharing sifu. thank you
crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 01:57 PM

117 posts

i just ordered trident Z neo 3600mhz. c16-16-16-35. is this ram good ? i open some program in windows and the minimize is like slow motion. wondering what is happening ...
red-queen
post May 27 2020, 03:21 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ May 27 2020, 01:57 PM)
i just ordered trident Z neo 3600mhz. c16-16-16-35. is this ram good ? i open some program in windows and the minimize is like slow motion. wondering what is happening ...
these are quite good rams.

but there's an even better one from XPG D60G 3600mhz CL14. expensive though, iirc RM800-RM900 for a set of 2 x 8GB.

if you can push both your infinity fabric and memory to 3800mhz you will see very good gains on performance.
crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 03:31 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ May 27 2020, 03:21 PM)
these are quite good rams.

but there's an even better one from XPG D60G 3600mhz CL14. expensive though, iirc RM800-RM900 for a set of 2 x 8GB.

if you can push both your infinity fabric and memory to 3800mhz you will see very good gains on performance.
i went lowyat and ask mostly no stock for good timing. Seems local seller not willing to bring in. XPG i nvr see it...gosh i missed it.... 4x8gb is ok rite ?
crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 09:59 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ May 27 2020, 10:06 AM)
Zen2 you can let the cores go to sleep, hardly any performance loss.
And ooc. you never disabled EEC? For my C6H Auto was Enabled, can cause issues at boot.

Oh @crazyfatt, try other voltage offsets (-0.025V till -0.15V) and compare performance/temp.
sifu, how to disable core go sleep ? i’m new to AMD. Not really know all the name and where in Bios. Wish can get pointed it in asus bios...
crazyfatt
post May 27 2020, 10:08 PM

117 posts

pbo on
override 200
offsetvoltage -0.1
global c-state disable

Is this result not good ?
red-queen
post May 27 2020, 10:27 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ May 27 2020, 10:08 PM)

pbo on
override 200
offsetvoltage -0.1
global c-state disable

You need to do a cinebench run with stock settings to see what is the gains.
nrw
post May 27 2020, 10:37 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ May 27 2020, 10:08 PM)

pbo on
override 200
offsetvoltage -0.1
global c-state disable

Single core is pretty low.
MC also not more than stock with a stock 3950x (always around 9150-9250)

Try to test with this:
- PBO Off
- No VCore Offset
Then check my power plan thread and change the bios settings from the spoiler there.

Then test once with your stock power plan and once with the one I was sharing and let us know results here

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ May 27 2020, 09:59 PM)
sifu, how to disable core go sleep ? i’m new to AMD. Not really know all the name and where in Bios. Wish can get pointed it in asus bios...
What owikh84 posted under 5) "Disable C-state:"
Disabling this would prevent cores from going to sleep but I do not think this is necessary.
(You already disabled it) enable it as per above.

30 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:03 AM