Samsung R81 User Thread, discuss on R81 pros/cons and fixes

TSshakiraa
post May 26 2007, 01:37 PM, updated 19y ago

hips dont lie
785 posts

Yo guys,

Since i'm new to this LCD world and just bought a R81, perhaps i could start a thread to consult those experienced owner on the issue that i faced on the TV.

I purchased the TV a week ago and just posted my review in other thread. However, i faced some issue on the sound quality wise. Not sure it is due to faulty speaker or something else. Will consult you guys first before i lodge a complain to Samsung.

Bass Distortion from Internal Speaker
Hmmm. THis is the only thing that make me feel abit got cheated. Was impressed with the PQ so much that i forgot to really check on it when i purchase the TV.
It has a bad bass distortion, everything there's a loud bass be it during advertisement or any scene in movie (thunder, eartquake etc), noisy bass distortion will be heard. It's a turn off. But if i plug on external speakers that it is fine. But still, damn...

PIP feature not working
When i press on PIP it is not working, stated "not available. sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif

Hope some of the experienced users can help me. Thanks.

This post has been edited by shakiraa: May 26 2007, 01:38 PM
mikeeeee
post May 28 2007, 10:24 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

hi there,

if i'm not mistaken, the Samsung PIP only works with certain different input source.

try using pc input and PIP dvd, that should work.
chinkw1
post May 28 2007, 03:51 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ May 28 2007, 10:24 AM)
hi there,

if i'm not mistaken, the Samsung PIP only works with certain different input source.

try using pc input and PIP dvd, that should work.
I just bought LA40R81B last week. No complaints at all. The picture quality is perfect, the sound is great too, the bass too is clear.
PIP i have not tried.

Overall, it is a good buy, the resolution is good, the screen is bright and the ratio is 8000:1 whichis quite high. I watch Astro HBO, cinemax etc, the quality is good. DVD is of course excellent.

Yesterday, i played movie FOG dvd9 dual layer, using component video cables, and optical cable to my souround system, its perfect.

Love it.

Added on May 28, 2007, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(chinkw1 @ May 28 2007, 03:51 PM)
I just bought  LA40R81B last week. No complaints at all. The picture quality is perfect, the sound is great too, the bass too is clear.
PIP i have not tried.

Overall, it is a good buy, the resolution is good, the screen is bright and the ratio is 8000:1 whichis quite high. I watch Astro HBO, cinemax etc, the quality is good. DVD is of course excellent.

Yesterday, i played movie FOG dvd9 dual layer, using component video cables, and optical cable to my souround system, its perfect.

Love it.
One more thing, playing PS2 on it is really like in a fantasy land, the graphic is crystal clear. Its game mode made the graphic so lively.

This post has been edited by chinkw1: May 28 2007, 03:53 PM
ganaz-x
post May 28 2007, 04:16 PM

1,025 posts

What's the native contrast on this particular model by the way?
sub_zero
post May 28 2007, 05:57 PM

my r7 works excellent..
the bass is clear & the pip works too..
r8 should be better..

to make the pip works..
try searching tv channel by plugging tv antenna at the tv..
after u found a channel..
turn on your ps3 as well..
go back at the tv channel.. press pip button..
now you can play ps3 game & watch the tv channel at the same time..
but the pip screen is very small.. laugh.gif

for the bass..
maybe u can tweak the surround txt / build in equalizer..

if this still can't help..
get another r8..
u still have warranty maa..

This post has been edited by sub_zero: May 28 2007, 05:58 PM
rx330
post May 28 2007, 07:21 PM

11,811 posts

er.... chinkw1.... get urself a ps3 or xbox 360 add on HD dvd drive

then u will see the even better advantsges of ur R8

much much better than wat u have biggrin.gif
valppy
post May 28 2007, 08:21 PM

39 posts

may i know roughly how much does r81 cost?? thanks
TSshakiraa
post May 28 2007, 10:51 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

Thanks alot guys for the feedback. I think there's problem with my TV inbuild speaker. Will get it change tomorrow.
htkaki
post May 29 2007, 09:36 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(valppy @ May 28 2007, 08:21 PM)
may i know roughly how much does r81 cost?? thanks

Here tongue.gif :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/342626
sub_zero
post May 29 2007, 01:53 PM

shakira..
i've never tried connecting astro to r7 yet..
because my main purpose of buying my r7..
is for ps3, pc and dvd player..
the sales person from hsl denki in midveli once told me that if u want to use lcdtv for viewing astro channel..
u better buy sony bravia or toshiba regza..
it's because these models come with astro picture enhancement mode which will enhance the existing astro channel..
if u buy other model than the above one, astro channels will be blurred because there is no astro picture enhancement mode..
i don't know if this is true or not because i've never tested it yet..
but logically..if u play a 480i picture in a 1080i/1080p hdtv.. the picture sure will be blurred..
because of the low resolution picture playing in a high resolution hdtv..

if astro channel broadcasts hd picture..
then there will no problem connecting astro to ur r8..
just plug-in the astro's red, white & yellow cable to ur r8 & walla..
u r ready to watch astro with hd quality picture in ur new tv..

This post has been edited by sub_zero: May 29 2007, 02:01 PM
verced
post May 29 2007, 08:21 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(sub_zero @ May 29 2007, 01:53 PM)
shakira..
i've never tried connecting astro to r7 yet..
because my main purpose of buying my r7..
is for ps3, pc and dvd player..
the sales person from hsl denki in midveli once told me that if u want to use lcdtv for viewing astro channel..
u better buy sony bravia or toshiba regza..
it's because these models come with astro picture enhancement mode which will enhance the existing astro channel..
if u buy other model than the above one, astro channels will be blurred because there is no astro picture enhancement mode..
i don't know if this is true or not because i've never tested it yet..
but logically..if u play a 480i picture in a 1080i/1080p hdtv.. the picture sure will be blurred..
because of the low resolution picture playing in a high resolution hdtv..

if astro channel broadcasts hd picture..
then there will no problem connecting astro to ur r8..
just plug-in the astro's red, white & yellow cable to ur r8 & walla..
u r ready to watch astro with hd quality picture in ur new tv..
Wow, and you heard all this from a sales man? That guy must be freaking good. smile.gif

Dude, there's no way in hell Astro can look like HD with its current transmission, no matter how good the TV is.
schizophrenic
post May 30 2007, 12:11 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

Just got my 32" R81 on Monday. Bought at Rm3850 from SenQ Penang.

I connect it to my Pioneer DVD player via Monster component cables and optical for sound. No HDMI on Player...sad.gif

As for PS2 I'm using Components(normal) and optical for sound.

chinkw1 : what cables you use to connect your PS2?
I played certain games but the edges seems ermmm not so good la but only in certain games like RPG when I'm moving the character.

I also connect it to my PC via DVI/HDMI and the quality is superb despite being in 720p. No idea how to make it 768p on my PC as its only interlaced allowed for 768.

Never get a chance to really test the TV's speaker as I did not connect it to my amp.

Added on May 30, 2007, 12:14 am
QUOTE(shakiraa @ May 26 2007, 01:37 PM)
Yo guys,

Since i'm new to this LCD world and just bought a R81, perhaps i could start a thread to consult those experienced owner on the issue that i faced with the TV.

I purchased the TV a week ago and just posted my review in other thread. However, i faced some issue on the sound quality wise. Not sure it is due to faulty speaker or something else. Will consult you guys first before i lodge a complain to Samsung.

Bass Distortion from Internal Speaker
Hmmm. THis is the only thing that make me feel abit got cheated. Was impressed with the PQ so much that i forgot to really check on it when i purchase the TV.
It has a bad bass distortion, everything there's a loud bass be it during advertisement or any scene in movie (thunder, eartquake etc), noisy bass distortion will be heard. It's a turn off. But if i plug on external speakers that it is fine. But still, damn...

PIP feature not working
When i press on PIP it is not working, stated "not available. sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif

Hope some of the experienced users can help me. Thanks.
What is your volume when the distortion happened? I heard that the TV's original speaker can't support heavy bass even more so when it is loud. Its stronger in its higher range frequencies and a little in mid range.

PIP only works for PC(RGB cable), and AV and TV. doesnt work for HDMI and component. Not sure about S Video though. Found this from the Manual and personal test

Added on May 30, 2007, 12:16 am
QUOTE(chinkw1 @ May 28 2007, 03:51 PM)

I asked the salesman what is the actual contrast ratio instead of the dynamic contrast when I wanted to buy cause told him the 8000:1 is a dynamic contrast thus some sort of marketing scam whereby it is not the actual value. He told me its 1500:1

not sure if its true. Anyone can confirm cause I thought was 1200:1?

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: May 30 2007, 12:16 AM
rx330
post May 30 2007, 10:17 AM

11,811 posts

sub, astro only 240i nia biggrin.gif

if astro does HD, i dun think the current decoder can be used, and neither will the yellow cable provide HD picture
ICDeadPeople
post May 30 2007, 10:54 AM

783 posts

I use my R7 to watch astro. Well, like any other LCD tv, it sucks (but you'll get use to it). The R7 also have that astro pic enhancement thingy, but they call it DNie technology or something. basically, it is (almost) similar to what bravia has, only different name.
As what rx330 said, HD broadcast wont be able to be viewed using current decoder. Those composite output wont be able to handle 720p/1080p.
rx330
post May 30 2007, 11:20 AM

11,811 posts

@ least ICDeadPeople is frank, i really cant see why astro on a 40 incher LCD would look good, heck, even on a 37, its terrible

well unless u are sitting way far, then its freaking sharp
schizophrenic
post May 30 2007, 11:14 PM

1,645 posts

is it true that astro looks way better on Plasma or more or less the same as LCD?

cause just connected mine today and it is......terrible
LOL
even TV3 is nicer
surprised!
rx330
post May 31 2007, 10:00 AM

11,811 posts

er... astro only looks better on CRT biggrin.gif
sub_zero
post May 31 2007, 02:02 PM

hoyo.. astro only 240i?
no wonder the picture blur..
rx330
post May 31 2007, 02:54 PM

11,811 posts

astro = VCD quality biggrin.gif
schizophrenic
post May 31 2007, 05:52 PM

1,645 posts

heard sony got the astro pic enhancement and its veery effective

any comments?

0.0464sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:33 AM