984 posts

Gratz on your new DSLR smile.gif

wow..nice picture u have there..loved the 2nd picture
but some picture are underexposed..
ijan
post May 25 2007, 10:01 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

is it my monitor or ur pictures are badly balanced in level? opening one in PS would show color level running here n there.
gold3knight
post May 25 2007, 10:05 PM

1,672 posts

except for the photo of the camera, the rest are badly exposed.
dun give up. keep trying.
TSuglybee
post May 25 2007, 10:10 PM

122 posts

All these pictures are using Auto mode. I am still reading the manual and playing around with the settings

DSLR is really so much different from compact cameras. Not easy but powerful

Anyway, there is also some dust in the lens. I've just got it fixed today at Shriro (KL). Service is good. But the dust is really annoying

lousycar
post May 25 2007, 10:11 PM

234 posts

is it because of the camera? is that camera any good?
TSuglybee
post May 25 2007, 10:16 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(lousycar @ May 25 2007, 10:11 PM)
is it because of the camera? is that camera any good?
I am at no position to the judge whether the camera is good or bad. I think it is probably my shooting skill

The only thing bad is dust!
Harddisk
post May 25 2007, 10:29 PM

2,967 posts

The Pentax K series, is what people would say, erratic or weird metering.

Some says, it's perfectly normal, while Nikonians would say, it's badly under exposed.

I have the K10D myself too and I always crank it up +0.3EV for evening/night shots.

Just like the review of K10D by Phil Askey, if you are not the kind that wanna fiddle with RAW, you might as well stick with C&N. smile.gif

Somehow, when I look at these K100D's shots, the behaviour is probably the same. But then again, I've only made 5 shots using green mode, but those are indoor. Perfectly balanced though.

Anyway, any underexposed can be fixed with the PP Lab software, no worries. Just make sure you snap in RAW, else there's no turning back. biggrin.gif

Keep up the good work!
diwant
post May 25 2007, 11:10 PM

295 posts

well, i tried this camera before i bought myself a DSLR last time around, and my first impression while testing it at the shop is that the metering are a little bit underexposed then other camera i tried at the same time..

clemong_888
post May 25 2007, 11:10 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

i like pentax but it has a steeper learning curve compared to c or n.

good luck.
Mavik
post May 25 2007, 11:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

2nd and 3rd picture seems really underexposed to me. I think the white balance for the third picture is a little off, seems a little too warm to me.
cityfish
post May 25 2007, 11:31 PM

666 posts

Most probably Pentax default is a bit under for you to do post-processing, you may fine tune it with ev to your preference.

My previous cam, FZ10 also having the same problem, but not so under like yours.
goldfries
post May 26 2007, 01:04 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 25 2007, 11:24 PM)
2nd and 3rd picture seems really underexposed to me. I think the white balance for the third picture is a little off, seems a little too warm to me.
#3 feels dark but i like #2, it does give a feel of sun setting.

i only wished that the pictures were adjusted because the tower seems to be 'senget' most of the shots.

nevertheless good try, i was preparing my bullet to shoot and people already - just in case the shots are about lens cap and mugs.
TSuglybee
post May 26 2007, 09:30 AM

122 posts

How do I actually see whether the image is underexposed before I load it in the computer?

So to increase exposure, I have to increase EV? Roughly how to many?

Btw, can the photos I took be edited using Photoshop? Will the effect be nicer?
goldfries
post May 26 2007, 10:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(uglybee @ May 26 2007, 09:30 AM)
How do I actually see whether the image is underexposed before I load it in the computer?

IMO it takes a while to get used to estimating from the LCD.

QUOTE(uglybee @ May 26 2007, 09:30 AM)
Btw, can the photos I took be edited using Photoshop? Will the effect be nicer?

of course.

and yes, it will be nicer depending on how you do it. just don't over do it, you can't turn shit into gold. smile.gif so do your best, then photoshop to correct it a little.

diwant
post May 26 2007, 01:09 PM

295 posts

just correct the Levels and saturation is good enough if u're already satisfied with the composition and sharpness...
wlcling
post May 26 2007, 02:21 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

i'll guess +0.7/ev
TSuglybee
post May 29 2007, 08:22 PM

122 posts

Home (Kepong)
Taken on: 2007-05-29

goldfries
post May 30 2007, 12:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(uglybee @ May 29 2007, 08:22 PM)
Home (Kepong)
Taken on: 2007-05-29

ouhh hey we stay nearby!!! tongue.gif btw pic quite dim. can brighten a bit will look better.

2nd pic can try to align more straight also.

0.0182sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:20 PM