PS 4 Standard vs Slim vs Pro., Which one is better?

Which one is better?

PS4 Standard [ 0 ] ** [0.00%]
PS4 Slim [ 2 ] ** [6.90%]
PS4 Pro [ 27 ] ** [93.10%]
Total Votes: 29
Guests cannot vote 

TShanifmz
post Jul 26 2018, 08:50 AM, updated 8y ago

15 posts

Hi, just few questions to be asked.

In term of energy consumption, heat sink, noise, features and price, which one is the best for long run gaming hours. I’m talking about 12 hours (max) straight.

State why you chose the model, and how to solve the problems if any.

This post has been edited by hanifmz: Jul 26 2018, 08:51 AM
donfutsal
post Jul 26 2018, 08:51 AM

182 posts

wait

ps 5 coming out soon
TShanifmz
post Jul 26 2018, 08:52 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(donfutsal @ Jul 26 2018, 08:51 AM)
wait

ps 5 coming out soon
Hahha. I know, just need the answer.
Baconateer
post Jul 26 2018, 08:52 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(donfutsal @ Jul 26 2018, 08:51 AM)
wait

ps 5 coming out soon
that "soon" is 2020..earliest..
donfutsal
post Jul 26 2018, 08:53 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(hanifmz @ Jul 26 2018, 08:52 AM)
Hahha. I know, just need the answer.
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
pokchik
post Jul 26 2018, 08:53 AM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

who da heck wants to play 12hrs straight..??

oh, wait. are you opening a game cafe?

anyhow.. play in airconditioned room, put 1 table fan to give some airflow assist,
and i think this should be fine on any one of the consoles.

can't help the noise, though - some games just push it.
donfutsal
post Jul 26 2018, 08:54 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 26 2018, 08:52 AM)
that "soon" is 2020..earliest..
time pass so fast now days

so 2020 no so far also

icon_idea.gif
TShanifmz
post Jul 26 2018, 08:59 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jul 26 2018, 08:53 AM)
who da heck wants to play 12hrs straight..??

oh, wait. are you opening a game cafe?

anyhow.. play in airconditioned room, put 1 table fan to give some airflow assist,
and i think this should be fine on any one of the consoles.

can't help the noise, though - some games just push it.
Yes, I’m going to open the cafe.

12 hours is only “if”.

So, which one do you prefer?

Is the heat sink of those models are the same?

This post has been edited by hanifmz: Jul 26 2018, 09:00 AM
Max2006
post Jul 26 2018, 10:39 AM

4,099 posts

In term of features (4k, hdr), Pro is the one to go.

Otherwise, go for Slim. There's a bunch of comparisons on YouTube. Slim is better in term of energy consumption, heat sink and noise. Not to mention its weight is much lighter too. The only cons is slim doesn't have optical port.
blackmarket
post Jul 26 2018, 11:50 AM

892 posts

Does aftermarket external cooler helps?
GamersFamilia
post Jul 26 2018, 12:17 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,825 posts

QUOTE(blackmarket @ Jul 26 2018, 11:50 AM)
Does aftermarket external cooler helps?
Avoid those coolers , good air flow and well ventilation around the console would be the best thing to do .. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Jul 26 2018, 12:23 PM
TShanifmz
post Jul 26 2018, 11:58 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jul 26 2018, 10:39 AM)
In term of features (4k,  hdr), Pro is the one to go.

Otherwise, go for Slim. There's a bunch of comparisons on YouTube. Slim is better in term of energy consumption, heat sink and noise. Not to mention its weight is much lighter too. The only cons is slim doesn't have optical port.
Alright, thanks for your answer.
TShanifmz
post Jul 26 2018, 11:59 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jul 26 2018, 12:17 PM)
Avoid those coolers , good air flow and well ventilation around the console would be the best thing to do ..  cool2.gif
I think I should go with regular fan or just using a air-cond.
Thanks anyway.
LegendLee
post Jul 27 2018, 12:11 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,722 posts

If you’re opening a shop, the PS4 slim makes a lot more sense.
1. Lesser power consumption.
2. Runs a lot quieter.
3. Cheaper
4. If you’re not investing in several 4ktv. Then there is not much point for the PS4 pro.

As all PS4 would be outdated in 2-3 years time.
No point spending a lot
ExCrIpT
post Jul 27 2018, 04:14 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jul 27 2018, 12:11 PM)
2. Runs a lot quieter.
3. Cheaper
4. If you’re not investing in several 4ktv. Then there is not much point for the PS4 pro.

No point spending a lot
dont say outdated la, it will still be good for a year or 2 after ps5 comes out. i think msians wont migrate so fast to ps5 after launch.
If he is going to use for his cafe, im sure he will add games like fifa etc which will still be released for ps 4
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 27 2018, 05:41 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jul 27 2018, 04:14 PM)
dont say outdated la, it will still be good for a year or 2 after ps5 comes out. i think msians wont migrate so fast to ps5 after launch.
If he is going to use for his cafe, im sure he will add games like fifa etc which will still be released for ps 4
for casual they'll wait for it to be Rm1k-1.2k-ish. for me I'll jump when there is an exclusive that I want to play.
LegendLee
post Jul 28 2018, 09:25 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,722 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jul 27 2018, 04:14 PM)
Technically that’s still outdated/not the latest model then.
Replacing a few of his PS4 then with PS5 at launch would attract a lot more customers as well.

As many console peasants might want to try the device before buying one brand new.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jul 28 2018, 09:26 AM
TShanifmz
post Jul 29 2018, 09:32 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jul 27 2018, 12:11 PM)
2. Runs a lot quieter.
3. Cheaper

No point spending a lot
Wow, okay thanks for the info though. Much appreciate.

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jul 28 2018, 09:25 AM)
Technically that’s still outdated/not the latest model then.
Replacing a few of his PS4 then with PS5 at launch would attract a lot more customers as well.

As many console peasants might want to try the device before buying one brand new.
Yeay, you have your point there. Might want to buy one or two after they launch.

0.0490sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:07 AM