cursetheroad01
post Jul 26 2018, 05:01 PM

55 posts

Even samsung 860 500gb at first 800 now 600
ik3da
post Jul 26 2018, 05:02 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jul 26 2018, 02:08 PM)
bought a samsung evo 860 1TB for 235 USD including shipping which is about RM1000 off of Amazon, meanwhile shops here are still selling it for RM1.2 - 1.5k, only liloong sells for cheaper at RM1.1k.

Bought mine at 242 USD including shipping on early June. Annoyed though that the Samsung Magician software is not able to detect it as a genuine Samsung SSD as it is under Samsung US instead of Samsung SG. Did yours get the same issue?
Rubypoyo
post Jul 26 2018, 05:08 PM

374 posts

Just check the review for Kingston A400.....not bad
ya it cant fight high end model like samsung evo etc2 but price wise is so worth it
OS Drive = SSD, Data Drive = HDD ....winlioaaa
raimy_m9
post Jul 26 2018, 05:08 PM

174 posts

any cheap nvme?
my current lappy only got one m2 slot , currenly using micron sata6..

the other laptop i have can put m2 + 2.5inch.
TSArchemedia
post Jul 26 2018, 05:41 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Jul 26 2018, 05:08 PM)
Just check the review for Kingston A400.....not bad
ya it cant fight high end model like samsung evo etc2 but price wise is so worth it
OS Drive = SSD, Data Drive = HDD ....winlioaaa
Yup, i bought another one and converting my laptop's dvd drive to a disk bay using a caddy since i dont use the dvd drive

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Jul 26 2018, 05:08 PM)
any cheap nvme?
my current lappy only got one m2 slot , currenly using micron sata6..

the other laptop i have can put m2 + 2.5inch.
how about the kingston a1000? around 900mb write speed and quite affordable
jerm57
post Jul 26 2018, 05:47 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Jul 26 2018, 03:46 PM)
Any difference between NVme or SATA SSD?
NVMe SSD means SSD that uses the PCIe slot.
SATA is the usual SATA cable lorr.
kurtkob78
post Jul 26 2018, 06:02 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

some of you guys bought from oversea. can claim warranty or not?>
v1n0d
post Jul 26 2018, 06:06 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jul 26 2018, 02:50 PM)
Depends whether you going to download the latest installer or still rely onto cd/dvd version.
Another issue is the reinstallation of antivirus. Nowdays most antivirus running background silent scan and kill. All of my crack file kena destroy cause i reinstall a new antivirus and forgotten to whitelist that specific folder.
Eyy jangan la jadi lanun. Ish ish ish... shakehead.gif
Ichibanichi
post Jul 26 2018, 06:13 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jul 26 2018, 06:06 PM)
Eyy jangan la jadi lanun. Ish ish ish... shakehead.gif
My celery still low and hate bijan for causing our RM drop so much. 1usd=rm4.
Boldnut
post Jul 26 2018, 09:17 PM

2,209 posts

still not cheap enough for the size. I think stick to HDD for my heavy duty desktop

may be until 480GB drop to <RM150
nightshade_nova
post Jul 27 2018, 03:51 AM

443 posts

Yes price drop is real. Overseas, they are doing bundled graphics card deals with free SSD.
buysellaccount
post Jul 27 2018, 03:57 AM

127 posts

Bought 500gb 970 Evo a month ago. If the price dropped enough I'll follow up with a 1tb as extra storage.

Going to give gtx 1180 a year before I decide whether it's worth my money.
buysellaccount
post Jul 27 2018, 03:59 AM

127 posts

*Magic*

This post has been edited by buysellaccount: Jul 27 2018, 04:36 AM
thxxht
post Jul 27 2018, 09:15 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 26 2018, 05:02 PM)
Bought mine at 242 USD including shipping on early June. Annoyed though that the Samsung Magician software is not able to detect it as a genuine Samsung SSD as it is under Samsung US instead of Samsung SG. Did yours get the same issue?
Yes I was able to get magician to recognize the 1tb drive, it was not able to detect the first time, so I just partition d the drive, copy some files into it, then reinstall magician, after a reboot it was able to control the drive, I was able to enable rapid mode too.
ik3da
post Jul 27 2018, 09:46 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jul 27 2018, 09:15 AM)
Yes I was able to get magician to recognize the 1tb drive, it was not able to detect the first time, so I just partition d the drive, copy some files into it, then reinstall magician, after a reboot it was able to control the drive, I was able to enable rapid mode too.

Hmmm, will try to give it a go again - had tried reinstallation but it didn't work. Thanks for the idea though, will try the reinstallation + reboot later.
thxxht
post Jul 27 2018, 09:57 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 27 2018, 09:46 AM)
Hmmm, will try to give it a go again - had tried reinstallation but it didn't work. Thanks for the idea though, will try the reinstallation + reboot later.
I'm using the 1TB for storage only though, I alraedy have a 960 EVO NVME for the boot drive and I'm not using any RAID mode (magician doesn't work with raid mode). So that might be the difference. Also noticed the 1TB drive is made in china instead of korea.
ik3da
post Jul 27 2018, 10:20 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jul 27 2018, 09:57 AM)
I'm using the 1TB for storage only though, I alraedy have a 960 EVO NVME for the boot drive and I'm not using any RAID mode (magician doesn't work with raid mode). So that might be the difference. Also noticed  the 1TB drive is made in china instead of korea.

I have another Evo SSD as boot and using the 1TB as storage also, no RAID as well. Ran some check on the SSD and it fits the Samsung US info but I can't recall China/Korea manufacturing though, will verify this. Fingers crossed that it works with Magician else a bit of a pity.
pronester
post Jul 27 2018, 10:23 AM

59 posts

if like really drop for the huge size SSD i.e 1tb..i plan to install it in my NAS

This post has been edited by pronester: Jul 27 2018, 10:24 AM
Rubypoyo
post Jul 27 2018, 10:27 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(pronester @ Jul 27 2018, 10:23 AM)
if like really drop for the huge size SSD i.e 1tb..i plan to install it in my NAS
Bro, for NAS is better use HDD, no point using SDD if just want to use to to save personal data.
thxxht
post Jul 27 2018, 10:33 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(pronester @ Jul 27 2018, 10:23 AM)
mechanical drives still best for value in terms of $ / gb, mechanical drives also last longer. I have a IDE drive that i still use from my college days 10+ years ago, they are tough as hell, so they are better for long term storage.

the NAS controller probably will die first long before a mechanical drive does.

This post has been edited by thxxht: Jul 27 2018, 10:40 AM

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 

0.0222sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:31 PM