5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Item being held by Kastam! What to do?

TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:13 PM, updated 4y ago

136 posts

My parcel from Japan arrived at Malaysia yesterday and now being held by customs. I called +603-87773680 and they confirmed it. Item location currently at KLIA Sepang and I appointed Pos Malaysia as the middleman. This is the first time I kena such case so I don't know how to solve. They said I have to attend Pos Malaysia cawangan LCCT Lama to do clearance and I really don't understand how I should work it out.
yeeck
post Jul 25 2018, 05:16 PM

3,570 posts

What did you order?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:16 PM

136 posts

Amplifier
edan1979
post Jul 25 2018, 05:19 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,510 posts

sure kena tax. go to the said post office and bring money to pay the extra fee you need to bear.
nebula87
post Jul 25 2018, 05:21 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

Should need you to buy SIRIM sticker or something..
^pomen_GTR^
post Jul 25 2018, 05:24 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:13 PM)
My parcel from Japan arrived at Malaysia yesterday and now being held by customs. I called +603-87773680  and they confirmed it. Item location currently at KLIA Sepang and I appointed Pos Malaysia as the middleman. This is the first time I kena such case so I don't know how to solve. They said I have to attend Pos Malaysia cawangan LCCT Lama to do clearance and I really don't understand how I should work it out.
bring money and go to pos malaysia LCCT to pay for the tax la...

clearly said lagi mau tanya meh?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:25 PM

136 posts

Ok. So now I go to the post office only I know the tax?

This post has been edited by C0deXeus: Jul 25 2018, 05:26 PM
skloda
post Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

need to pay duties .

item cost more than RM500 rite ?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:28 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Jul 25 2018, 05:24 PM)
bring money and go to pos malaysia LCCT to pay for the tax la...
clearly said lagi mau tanya meh?
Then what are the documents I need to bring along?
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 05:29 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM)
need to pay duties .

Cost around 1.2K. Usually no problem but Japanese seller to honest...
skloda
post Jul 25 2018, 05:33 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:29 PM)
Cost around 1.2K. Usually no problem but Japanese seller to honest...
yes , too honest then need to pay honest duties . hahahaha

wait for poslaju kastam call , they will let u know the amount for clearance ... usually take few working days stated in the form ....

^pomen_GTR^
post Jul 25 2018, 05:34 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(C0deXeus @ Jul 25 2018, 05:28 PM)
Then what are the documents I need to bring along?
your invoice from seller...and proof of your identification so they can verify the item is really yours
TSC0deXeus
post Jul 25 2018, 06:00 PM

136 posts

I emailed to pmk.cscustomsupervisor@pos.com.my I think now they're processing my duty.
Red_rustyjelly
post Jul 25 2018, 06:05 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 25 2018, 05:21 PM)
Should need you to buy SIRIM sticker or something..
is not called just SIRIM Sticker. dont mislead.

If custom officer enquire for electrical specification registration, TS is pretty much in more trouble acquiring the MSDS, technical and electrical spec from manufacturer and register it before getting clearance note. the process will take weeks to months.

TS case as he describe is probably the Duty fees required to pay.
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:21 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

i was about to order something 1.6k off the net from Japan, but scrap the idea since i knew it will be a hassle to drive all the way to LCCT just to get it release. However does services like DHL or FeDex help to pay and release item in case the custom did held it up?
nebula87
post Jul 26 2018, 08:23 AM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jul 25 2018, 06:05 PM)
is not called just SIRIM Sticker. dont mislead.

If custom officer enquire for electrical specification registration, TS is pretty much in more trouble acquiring the MSDS, technical and electrical spec from manufacturer and register it before getting clearance note. the process will take weeks to months.

TS case as he describe is probably the Duty fees required to pay.
Sorry about that. nod.gif
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:28 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Jul 25 2018, 05:27 PM)
need to pay duties .

after so many years still limit to RM500 when digital shopping era is beginning to shape,
meanwhile our currency dropping, inflation rate up, RM500 really seems pointless, even buying a normal sportshoe would cost more than that with shipping.
matkoi
post Jul 26 2018, 08:30 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 26 2018, 08:21 AM)
i was about to order something 1.6k off the net from Japan, but scrap the idea since i knew it will be a hassle to drive all the way to LCCT just to get it release.  However does services like DHL or FeDex help to pay and release item in case the custom did held it up?
Normally they can helped you clear any held item by customs, but you have to pay the forwarder first the tax incurred and their service charges before they'll help with the release.
TheEvilMan
post Jul 26 2018, 08:31 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
674 posts

QUOTE(matkoi @ Jul 26 2018, 08:30 AM)
Normally they can helped you clear any held item by customs, but you have  to pay the forwarder first the tax incurred and their service charges before they'll help with the release.
still quite pointless since if kena tax means the price u pay will be more than local price
i only dare to get items price between 500-700 (not electronics good) with shipment, usually these will still have chances to bypass the kastam

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Jul 26 2018, 08:35 AM
Zot
post Jul 26 2018, 08:46 AM

7,934 posts

This can be due to 2 main issues. The problem is one might be staying too far to go to LCCT.

1) They may need explanation on the item.
2) Need to pay tax

Most likely it is reason #1 because for #2, your agent can clear the tax. You just need to wire the money.

Since electricity in Japan is different from Malaysia, they might want you to get SIRIM QAS. If the product is being sold in Malaysia, then this might not be problem because someone has submit for approval before. However, if this is something new, then they may require you to submit the sample to SIRIM for testing. I think electrical/electronic product is not a problem because the product sure has met standard like UL and also CE. SIRIM might not need to do testing at all.

Maybe custom need owner to be there so that you can open the box contents in front of them to explain everything. All these exercise usually random and probably not your lucky day.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:31 AM