16GB [ 68 ] ** [61.82%]
32GB [ 27 ] ** [24.55%]
Total Votes: 110
Guests cannot vote 

TSSuperPirate
post Jul 23 2018, 06:25 PM, updated 4y ago

Alot of new gaming systems comes with 8gb ram, the most 16gb ram for higher spec, not many go until 32gb ram.

To play the latest games and also future proof, whats the best ram amount requirement for gaming on windows 10 system, 8GB, 16GB or 32GB?

Does the same requirement also apply to laptop too?
jmas
post Jul 23 2018, 06:35 PM

755 posts

8GB should be enough for most game, unless you run many things in background.

If want to be safe, 16GB will be more than enough, unless you running 1000 tabs chrome and gaming at the same time.

32GB is overkill for showoff.

(My pc running 24GB ram, bought wrong mem kit XD)
efisherman
post Jul 23 2018, 06:43 PM

171 posts

Setting up myself a dual channel 16gb rig, 2x 8gb ram.
Baconateer
post Jul 23 2018, 06:45 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,875 posts

16gb is the new minimum
derthvadar
post Jul 23 2018, 07:18 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,690 posts

8GB should be enough for casual gaming. Bare minimum.

This post has been edited by derthvadar: Jul 23 2018, 07:18 PM
PzGman
post Jul 23 2018, 07:21 PM

Private Pilot
800 posts

2x8GB is the sweet spot. biggrin.gif
Porie
post Jul 24 2018, 04:44 PM

534 posts

8gb is enough for games only

16gb is plenty, just to be safe and I believe is sweet spot

32gb is just too much, go for it for future proofing
TristanX
post Jul 24 2018, 05:02 PM

Where is my stars?
23,670 posts

Same goes here. 8GB minimum, 16GB recommended.
goldfries
post Jul 24 2018, 05:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

Just to add, if you're using processors like AMD Ryzen 3 2200G and Ryzen 5 2400G with onboard graphics then the size is least of your concern.

You need it to be dual channel and of higher speed to get the best out of it.
Doraku
post Jul 24 2018, 10:27 PM

Old threads digger
1,121 posts

8GB is enough,But you can get 16GB for future proofing and heavy multitasking,32GB is overkill and you probably never use more than 16GB unless you are doing 3D/Video Editing,Etc
Overlord118
post Jul 24 2018, 11:21 PM

45 posts

8gb is enough but you can always add more if you feel background apps is slowing your pc
hihihehe
post Jul 24 2018, 11:31 PM

13,451 posts

8gb was not enough for me when running PUBG and android emulator together. so i just add up another 8 gb recently
icp
post Jul 24 2018, 11:35 PM

478 posts

still running 8gb since 2015 no prob
but im not heavy gamer so....
safe is 16gb
ChairmanDrew
post Jul 25 2018, 08:27 AM

552 posts

8gb is still enough for me, never see my total ram usage go over 7gb while gaming. But if I was to buy a new build I'd put 16gb in it.

32gb isn't "future proofing". By the time you got to games using that much, your pc will be a potato.
ave666
post Jul 25 2018, 11:27 AM

Beginner
1,515 posts

I got audio and graphics stuttering with 8gb before. After put another 8gb no more problem
ave666
post Jul 25 2018, 11:29 AM

Beginner
1,515 posts

QUOTE(ChairmanDrew @ Jul 25 2018, 08:27 AM)
8gb is still enough for me, never see my total ram usage go over 7gb while gaming. But if I was to buy a new build I'd put 16gb in it. 

32gb isn't "future proofing". By the time you got to games using that much, your pc will be a potato.
Because it used swap file
Najmods
post Aug 12 2018, 09:59 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Just bumping this thread since I tried with only 8GB RAM, running some games at maxed like Doom 2016 nightmare setting 1080p is more than enough without it touching the swapfile. Funnily enough having bucketloads of tabs (more than 50) and multiple video streaming eats more RAM than any games I tried.
HMMaster
post Aug 12 2018, 11:03 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Running Just Cause 3 with 8GB ram, and it said not enough memory. (I've Firefox open in background) lol.gif
Unclockable
post Aug 12 2018, 11:36 PM

21 posts

8gb minimum requirement
16gb recommended
Harold2009
post Aug 12 2018, 11:42 PM

526 posts

16 GB RAM is the minimum standard, especially in gaming segment with higher end GPU like GTX 1080 onward, maximum your graphics setting in game already easily use up 10 GB of RAM in modern titles games, that only limited on full HD setting, 4K gaming better pick 32GB, some games even easily passed 16GB of RAM, 32GB RAM more future proof.

0.0391sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:40 PM