Discussion Why some people doesn't like EPL?, give ur reason

Duke Red
post May 25 2007, 11:04 AM

6,112 posts

The way I see it, fans nowadays are looking to be entertained, just like the American's and their suggestion to increase the size of the goal, to see more goals in a match. The EPL is arguably the fastest league around and players don't get that much time on the ball. The Arsenal team of 2004/2005 took an average of 12 seconds to bring up the ball from their half and have a shot on goal, when on the counter attach. I dare say not many teams can match this. From the days of old, teams that have adopted the pass and move approach have garnered much success (i.e. Liverpool of the 70's/80's & Man Utd of the 90's to current). Players are encouraged not to spend too much time on the ball and to keep it moving. In training sessions, coaches would dish out punishment to anyone that kept the ball for more than 5 seconds. This meant that the game was played at a higher tempo.

You seldom see fans today appreciate the technical side of the game, all they want is to see a good pace to the game, and players with good individual flair and ability. This is why when teams adopt a more technical approach, they are deemed to be boring, just because they don't play at a high tempo. This is the reason I feel many EPL fans do not appreciate the Serie A. A huge majority of fans today only recognise players that score a truck load of goals or can do a million stepovers in under 10 seconds. They fail to recognise players with strong fundamentals that make the game look easy with their anticipation and reading of the game. They'd much prefer player that dive into tackles with such force, sending the ball into row Z. I repeat, most fans today (especially younger ones) look to be entertained, and a game played at a high tempo is arguable, more entertaining.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: May 25 2007, 11:06 AM
Duke Red
post May 25 2007, 02:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(alien2003 @ May 25 2007, 02:39 PM)
And this is the type of post which will spark potential flamewar  rclxub.gif
Yeah well judging by how insightful his post was, I think it's best not to honour it with a response.
Duke Red
post May 25 2007, 04:12 PM

6,112 posts

In truth, I used to watch a fair share of Serie A matches back in the day. I have no favourite team but I did use to follow Inter back in the day of Mattheus, Brehme and Klinnmans. It was back when Napoli was still in the reckoning with Maradona and Careca in their fold.
Duke Red
post Jun 6 2007, 04:30 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Jun 6 2007, 11:28 AM)
well even ppl rated spanish league is the best but yet spain didnt perform at world cup stage.
The quality of a league has little relevance to the quality of it's international side. Why? Have you seen the number of foreign players these days? If the quality of the league reflected the quality of the international side, France would not have gotten to the World Cup Finals.
Duke Red
post Jun 7 2007, 12:34 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jun 7 2007, 02:53 AM)
What made the difference is like what most people said here,the language and commentators. 1st,most people only understands english. Secondly,EPL commentators make the game more lively. I've seen some other league games commentated by their own people and some of it really sounds boring.

Spot on, the quality of commentators is crucial. You can say the same of other sports such as the F1, tennis, badminton... actually just about any other sport in the world. Have you tried watching a European game on local TV? It's really painful and I would not recommend it to my worst enemy. The South American leagues have pretty good commentators. Well I can't understand what's being said but they get really excited and it rubs of. I can still hear one of them going "Goallllll... go.. go...go...go...go... goaaallllll!!!!".

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jun 7 2007, 02:53 AM)
The problem is i JUST DON'T understand what has over promoting a league got to do with some people. They don't like epl coz it's overpromoted??What??Give me a break! That's the most pathetic and ridiculous reason i've ever heard.
I believe it's like this. Against Brazil, David Beckham's pictures were on every major paper and they were talking about how he conquered Brazil, but who has MOM again? That's right, Steven Gerrard, but I bet a good portion of people thought it was Beckham, am I wrong? You can see how publicity can sometimes distort the truth and I believe this is what the category of people are you referring to mean.

A good portion fans only watch the EPL and of that portion, there is a sizeable amount that only watch their teams. How then are they supposed to determine which league is best when they've never seen a La Liga or Serie A match?

Added on June 7, 2007, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(scorps @ Jun 7 2007, 08:57 AM)
3 teams in the last 4 of the CL... greatest league in the world... notworthy.gif

brows.gif  however... Italy are World Champions & Milan are European Champions... rclxm9.gif
You're beginning to sound like a broken record mate.

Firstly, Italy being crowned world champions does not reflect the quality of the league. As many of us have mentioned earlier, teams consist of many foreigners these days. Your best player is Brazilian and so is your best rightback, your somewhat chubby forward and no.1 keeper. Need I mention Leonardo and Rivaldo? Last I checked, Seedorf was Dutch.

Secondly, you said it yourself, 3 English teams made the semi's, that not enough? In the past 3 seasons, English teams have made the finals. Look at the bigger picture mate and not just focus on one season. While I will not begin a debate on which league is better, the EPL is certainly on the ascendancy.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 7 2007, 12:44 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 8 2007, 01:43 PM

6,112 posts

It's arguable which is the better league but the EPL is certainly the most popular. We don't always have to support the best league, just like we don't all support the best teams. If you want to lend support to the best league, look to South America. I just watched a game between Boca Juniors and (can't remember who) and the atmosphere was electric, so was the game. In recent years, Europe's best have come up against Brazilian opposition in the finals of the FIFA World Club Cup, and have been found wanting. Liverpool were beaten by Sao Paulo in 2005 while Barcelona was beaten by Internacional in 2006. That's twice in 2 years Europe's best teams were beaten by South America's best.

People support the EPL because it's the most popular, not because it's the best.
Duke Red
post Jun 8 2007, 03:24 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kepet @ Jun 8 2007, 03:15 PM)
is it? but most of player who "established" abroad, cannot adapt to the Premiership..
let say, Sheva (Serie A), Ballack (Bundesliga), and Carew (i wondder why Villa didn't make him play - his damn good at Lyon).. sweat.gif

But you aren't looking at the number of players that have adapted. Just because they can't adapt to the EPL doesn't mean it's a better league, it just means it's a different league.
Duke Red
post Jun 8 2007, 03:44 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kepet @ Jun 8 2007, 03:38 PM)
yeah..but mostly young players..like arjen, cristiano, tevez, martins, maccarthy and lots of gunners youngsters hehe tongue.gif
and notice what, most brazillian cannot play in EPL - seriously because of the language and also they afraid gonna patah kaki if joga bonito too much.
EPL's tackle are the most dangerous i've seen compared to others sweat.gif
That's one thing I like about the EPL, bone crunching tackles! This is a game for men, not fairies! biggrin.gif I've always liked the physical element of the EPL. So what if the players are less graceful, this isn't freaking ballet.
Duke Red
post Jun 8 2007, 04:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kepet @ Jun 8 2007, 03:51 PM)
now we're talking.. tongue.gif
there are certain things which are good and bad about one league
it's just up to us to justify..
you're a Kopfan are'nt u?
well, sori for the lost (Champs League)
i've felt the same last season cry.gif
No worries mate, I'm a pretty patient bloke when it comes to my club. I've been waiting 17 years for a league titles, what's waiting another couple of years for the Champions League?
Duke Red
post Jun 11 2007, 11:10 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 10 2007, 11:31 AM)
EPL not support their team till death,they kill other fan to support their team,EPL and England fan (holigan) always make a  problem to the police and sometime kill their oppenant fan
Heard about the cop that got killed by Catania fans in Italy? English hooligans are not as notorious as they used to be. Rarely do you see and incidents these days in the EPL or the whole of England for that matter. What about the Ultra's? Football violence is a global issue, not an England one. What does this have to do with the quality of the league anyway?

QUOTE(verx @ Jun 10 2007, 02:30 PM)
English supporters are some of the most passionate in the world. That cannot be in doubt.

But i want to add that the Spanish aren't that bad either. The problem is the coverage we get of La Liga doesn't capture the atmosphere as well as the coverage from Sky Sports. I know this because i've seen highlights by Sky Sports of games that i have watched on Astro...and i was astounded by the difference. You can really hear and feel the atmosphere.

The Bernabeu is always packed full to its 80k capacity the past few months. Though i admit that in some of the earlier Spanish Cup games we dont get full houses but we still do generally fill more than half which is better than nothing.
I do agree that English fans are some of the most passionate and there's rivalry at almost every corner, dating back decades, even centuries. There is a lot of history in English football.

I have however seen the same degree of passion in other leagues, though perhaps not as widespread. Fans of clubs in smaller leagues like Olympiacos, Besiktas, Torino and the Sicilian clubs are just as fanatical and passionate as anyone else.

QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 11 2007, 09:11 AM)
didnt you know english always kill oppenant fan,you must read about
Heysel`85(Kops fan kill 39 Italian)
English make a lot of Turkey`s police get injured Euro 2004 Qualify

there are many more... you can find yourself in internet
English fans getting stabbed in Turkey? Italian cope murdered in Italy? Deportivo fan killed?

Don't kid yourself, football violence exists everywhere
http://www.ex.ac.uk/~watupman/undergrad/ro...anismeurope.htm

Please try not to be so ignorant in the future.

And when you say this "Kops fan kill 39 Italian", you are asking for trouble aren't you? Liverpool supporters (kops fan???) were pelted by missiles and charged at the chicken wire fence separating both fans. Italian supporters then tried climbing over the retaining wall that collapsed due to age. It's not like they pulled out AK-47's and gunned them down. Please show some respect to those that passed and not make it look like they were assassinated. I hope the 21 at the end of your nick does not indicate your IQ.
Duke Red
post Jun 11 2007, 03:00 PM

6,112 posts

A bit OT but there's a really good book on English Hooliganism which provides great insight into the minds of these fanatics. Anyone know where I can get my hands on a copy? I don't mean Amazon lah, I mean like has anyone seen it in a bookstore here? Wait a minute, does anyone even read here? tongue.gif
Duke Red
post Jun 11 2007, 05:49 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kepet @ Jun 11 2007, 05:19 PM)
Because of people like Roman, Glazer, Hicks, Thaksin, tycoon, billionaire invade
It's all about money now...not passion, not for the good of the game.
Does success cost you so much?!!

I agree with the decline in passion but I disagree it's a problem limited to the EPL. Footballers in Spain and Italy get paid just as much.

Incidentally, here's a list of the worlds richest clubs:

1 Real Madrid

2 Barcelona

3 Juventus

4 Manchester United

5 AC Milan

6 Chelsea

7 Inter Milan

8 Bayern Munich

9 Arsenal

10 Liverpool

11 Olympique Lyon

12 AS Roma

13 Newcastle United

14 Schalke 04

15 Tottenham Hotspur

16 Hamburg SV

17 Manchester City

18 Rangers

19 West Ham United

20 Benfica
This is interesting though, there are 8 English clubs in the top 20. If they're so rich, how come West Ham and City were fighting relegation? Now we know why Roeder left because with the money they have, he has underperformed as manager. The Spanish giants still lead the way though.

QUOTE(kepet @ Jun 11 2007, 05:19 PM)
Play ugly to win, pay more $$$ to play, tap player with $$$,
ridiculous price for $#!t player, what's next?!
Build a super duper talented elite player (and youngster) squad (formation: 9 defense & 1 striker-big one and know how to langgar defend) + build super seater stadium and fans will come to the street (from nowhere<--trust me, i've seen this) wearing their jersey and saying, " i'm a die-hard supporter of XXXXXXX" ?!!

If I read your comments correctly, they are centred around 1 particular club and not the whole of the EPL. Some of us have yet to splurge insurmountable amounts of money on players. Some of us still play in 45,000 seater stadiums. Most of your observations can be descriptive of almost any league, not just the EPL. You just read about it more because of the exposure received by the EPL.

Duke Red
post Jun 14 2007, 03:47 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(bwan @ Jun 14 2007, 03:08 PM)
Nothing wrong with his post mate. He's trying to justify his lack of interest for EPL. And I think he thinks because the EPL standard is below the Serie A and La Liga. He got a point, I got a point of liking the EPL and you should have one too. BTW, this is not MU thread. We all should have an agreement to disagree.
I fail however to see the relevance between the no. of English players in Europe and the level of interest in the EPL. If we talking about tennis, it would be like saying Wimbledon is a boring, substandard tournament because very seldom do Englishmen make the finals.
Duke Red
post Jun 14 2007, 04:35 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(bwan @ Jun 14 2007, 03:54 PM)
Me too. But for some, they tend to believe that La Liga or Serie A better than EPL because the spanish and the italians played effecient, beautiful and entertaining football than us. It was just a wild guess, I could be wrong.
In the end it's subjective. It's just like how some people prefer Paella over Pasta or Fish & Chips.
Duke Red
post Jun 17 2007, 02:42 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 17 2007, 12:03 AM)
alrite i dont know abt u guys, but i find it rather amusing n unbelievable that this thing came out from some1 who spammed the message below in every 1 of Italian club thread in LYN laz time.
There is a hypocrite in our midst I see. He seems to have missed the point that people don't always have a preference for the most successful league. If we all did, won't that make us glory hunters?
Duke Red
post Jul 4 2007, 11:19 AM

6,112 posts

The EPL is indeed a very physical league and this is one reason why I like it. As far am I'm concerned the physical nature of the game is what makes it competitive. You run someone off the pitch and they'll be gunning for revenge. This is what makes it a man's game. I hate pansies that go down at the slightest hint of contact and whines to the ref like little school girls that had their lollipops taken away by the school bully.

I have read a couple of comments stating that the EPL is too technical and there is less skill on display. Are you sure you aren't confusing yourself with the England national team? If you look at the top sides, how many English players are in the starting 11? The vast majority of these teams consist of foreign players. Is the league really technical? I doubt so. The game is often played at a really high tempo at both ends of the pitch. How is this technical? In fact, the Serie A is more technical in my opinion with the ball often played on the deck, with teams stroking the ball about looking for openings. If anything, the EPL is more direct.
Duke Red
post Aug 24 2007, 02:23 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 23 2007, 07:11 PM)
one reason some ppl dont like epl, is maybe bcuz they think that games are already pre-fix by the gambling world..
The EPL is probably one of the least corrupted leagues around given how well paid the players are. Leagues in South America are much worse off. A little closer to home, just look at what happened to the Chinese league a couple of years back. What about the scandals involving certain Italian clubs?
Duke Red
post Oct 24 2007, 01:11 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ Oct 18 2007, 12:51 PM)
Simple, they just don't wanna be categorized as mainstream people.
Out of all the points, I think this is the most poignant.
Duke Red
post Dec 26 2008, 12:26 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 26 2008, 12:21 PM)
I'm not so sure about the statement that "People chose EPL not because it's the best, but it's the most popular". This might be true if we are in the 80's or 90's, but English club has done so well in the Champions League in recent seasons. Of course that doesn't mean EPL is the best, but surely that tells you something.

If you ask me, you can "blame" Liverpool for EPL frenzy here tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif . Or maybe Manchester United..lol. The fact that Liverpool fans are one of the earliest fan base in Malaysia could be one of the reason that we all like EPL.

And yes, the commentator! I can't stand Seria A and La Liga commentator. doh.gif
I think you can go even further back the the days when we were an English colony smile.gif Liverpool does have one of the earliest fan bases, same as Spurs and even Arsenal during the days of Lukic, Dixon, Adams, Winterburn, Bould, Smith, Wright, etc.
Duke Red
post Dec 26 2008, 06:49 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Dec 26 2008, 12:32 PM)
You mean during the war? I doubt it as ppl were too scare to think about football tongue.gif .
Yeah, spurs fans are also one the earliest fan base in M'sia. Arsenal, I'm not so sure...
You're right about the commentary though. They used to have this machine sounding commentator during Serie A highlights but I think he's since moved to Spain. Commentary enhances the experience by quite a bit man.

0.0178sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:53 PM