Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

fruitie
post Oct 19 2022, 06:22 PM

Rise and Shine
67,988 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Oct 19 2022, 04:23 PM)
U need mostly cash in South Korea anyway
QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Oct 19 2022, 05:48 PM)
huh i thought south korea mostly they are cashless liao, except for roadside stalls.
Ya, I remember I went in 2017; credit card acceptance was pretty high at that time.
Can't say the same for Japan though, last trip in 2019 CC acceptance was still low.
GymBoi
post Oct 19 2022, 06:33 PM

1,352 posts

huh i thought south korea mostly they are cashless liao, except for roadside stalls.
Well depends what you do i guess .. I'm going next month and based on my checks mostly still recommend cash.

To load T money u need cash, roadside stalls which is where the good stuff are is cash, small shops also cash. Even guesthouse if u pay cash can get some discounts.

Unless u're going for business, taking taxi and stay hotel and eat restaurants all then could be card i guess ... and their cashless mostly also thier ewallet i think? Not sure.
Calvin Seak
post Oct 19 2022, 07:18 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,367 posts

So I just changed a new phone and now having issues to login as i can't receive my OTP

Anyway to go around this?
Lingohal
post Oct 19 2022, 08:29 PM

1,340 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 19 2022, 06:22 PM)
Ya, I remember I went in 2017; credit card acceptance was pretty high at that time.
Can't say the same for Japan though, last trip in 2019 CC acceptance was still low.
I agree with both of you. I remember using Samsung Pay a lot there in 2018, even in small shops. They do not use the card terminal like ours. They tap on their panel at the cashier.
Devil4life
post Oct 19 2022, 10:48 PM

921 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Oct 18 2022, 10:23 PM)
Anyone realised when you log in BigPay app and you start seeing the notification at the bottom saying "your new card will be printed soon" eventhough your card is still far from expiring/just renewed?

I tapped it, and then it brings me to the Qatar virtual card but then there's no info on if it's being printed or not.
Yeah, mine is like 16X days away from expiry so i didn't click in.

QUOTE(no6 @ Oct 19 2022, 06:00 PM)
bigpay is changing from mastercard to visa for new card. is the forex for visa less desirable than mastercard ?
from what i read from this page, seems like mastercard rate is still better hence I not planning to change anytime soon as i plan to travel overseas early next year.
sidefulnes
post Oct 20 2022, 10:07 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Oct 19 2022, 03:10 PM)
Hi all. Anyone of you tried using bigpay in South Korea?

How convenient is it to use in South Korea?

Trying not to convert too much cash haha.

Appreciate your sharing!
For Seoul specifically 85% no problem using card especially at department stores, supermarkets, convenience stores, cafes and restaurants.
However do bring a reasonable amount of cash for traditional markets and small businesses as such.
Certain shops in the underground market do have terminals but its so different than the ones we use and many do not have contactless payment so there is potential risk of error in reading the card.

If you really don't wanna carry cash, you can withdraw at the atm with fees but do take note on the location and fees cause different banks will charge differently depending on area such as airport, tourist areas and such.

4eyeco
post Oct 20 2022, 10:25 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Oct 19 2022, 04:23 PM)
U need mostly cash in South Korea anyway
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 19 2022, 06:22 PM)
QUOTE(GymBoi @ Oct 19 2022, 06:33 PM)
Well depends what you do i guess .. I'm going next month and based on my checks mostly still recommend cash.

To load T money u need cash, roadside stalls which is where the good stuff are is cash, small shops also cash. Even guesthouse if u pay cash can get some discounts.

Unless u're going for business, taking taxi and stay hotel and eat restaurants all then could be card i guess ... and their cashless mostly also thier ewallet i think? Not sure.
QUOTE(Lingohal @ Oct 19 2022, 08:29 PM)
I agree with both of you. I remember using Samsung Pay a lot there in 2018, even in small shops. They do not use the card terminal like ours. They tap on their panel at the cashier.
QUOTE(sidefulnes @ Oct 20 2022, 10:07 AM)
For Seoul specifically 85% no problem using card especially at department stores, supermarkets, convenience stores, cafes and restaurants.
However do bring a reasonable amount of cash for traditional markets and small businesses as such.
Certain shops in the underground market do have terminals but its so different than the ones we use and many do not have contactless payment so there is potential risk of error in reading the card.

If you really don't wanna carry cash, you can withdraw at the atm with fees but do take note on the location and fees cause different banks will charge differently depending on area such as airport, tourist areas and such.
Thanks for all the sharing! notworthy.gif

Guess I will bring more cash than what I initially planned, to avoid unnecessary headache

ChiaW3n
post Oct 20 2022, 06:26 PM

3,575 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Oct 20 2022, 10:25 AM)
Thanks for all the sharing!  notworthy.gif

Guess I will bring more cash than what I initially planned, to avoid unnecessary headache
I think can carry some cash with you because some shops offer discount if you pay them in cash
paogeh
post Oct 21 2022, 12:07 PM

1,534 posts

my wife phone expired and got terminated .

now ,
bigpay tied with the old number .

how to get back the bp account (inside have $$$) with new phone number ?
Thank you
cybpsych
post Oct 21 2022, 12:39 PM

---------------------
62,904 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Oct 21 2022, 12:07 PM)
my wife phone expired and got terminated .

now ,
bigpay tied with the old number .

how to get back the bp account (inside have $$$) with new phone number ?
Thank you
read https://www.bigpayme.com/faq
joetiew
post Oct 24 2022, 05:33 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(4eyeco @ Oct 20 2022, 10:25 AM)
Thanks for all the sharing!  notworthy.gif

Maybe you can consider to withdraw cash there (Seven Bank @ any 7-Eleven).
We did this when we were in Japan on our last 3 visits (2014/ 2018/ 2019). The same apply to our S Korea/ Europe trip.

If not mistaken, the credit card acceptance was quite good in 2019 (Japan).
We used Debit card (BigPay MasterCard and Aeon Plus Visa) in 80% of shops/ food courts/ supermarket that we've visited.
It's super convenient.

The reason why we're using Debit card (instead of Credit card) is because of "safety"**.
We will preload RM1,000 in both BigPay & Aeon Plus before leave Malaysia.
Then we will reload RM1,000 again & again (using our Malaysia credit card) to BigPay in Japan on every week.

**Safety = our liability is only limit to RM1,000 in case bad thing happen.

Hope this info help ya!
goliath
post Nov 1 2022, 01:25 PM

5,529 posts

i keep getting standard faqs/ articles in their in-app chat. is there a way to trigger live agent instead?

This post has been edited by goliath: Nov 1 2022, 01:27 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2022, 02:15 PM

22,199 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Nov 1 2022, 01:25 PM)
i keep getting standard faqs/ articles in their in-app chat. is there a way to trigger live agent instead?
Open live chat. There's an option there chat with an agent. Alternatively just call the number and speak to real human.
jetjet92
post Nov 5 2022, 03:14 PM

26 posts

Hi anyone tried to login recently? Not able to receive the sms link to login, anyone having same issue?
Suicidal Guy
post Nov 7 2022, 03:30 PM

567 posts

Hi guys,

Is it still recommended to use BigPay for spending abroad? I'm going for a week's holiday. Should I convert all my money or just pay using BigPay?

datolee32
post Nov 7 2022, 06:25 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Nov 7 2022, 03:30 PM)
Hi guys,

Is it still recommended to use BigPay for spending abroad? I'm going for a week's holiday. Should I convert all my money or just pay using BigPay?

The rate is quite attractive compared to bank, i will suggest you to bring small amount of cash for emergency depends on the country you travel. Or you can do the withdrawal overseas but do take note the withdrawal fee charges.
Suicidal Guy
post Nov 7 2022, 11:54 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Nov 7 2022, 06:25 PM)
The rate is quite attractive compared to bank, i will suggest you to bring small amount of cash for emergency depends on the country you travel. Or you can do the withdrawal overseas but do take note the withdrawal fee charges.
I see.. Thanks for the reply.. Yes, I will bring convert some cash too. Then I will use BigPay whenever I can for payment.
joice11
post Nov 8 2022, 09:33 PM

631 posts

hi, just want to confirm is it i can do so ?
cc->big pay->shopee ->sspn
big pay to shopee is direct pay not reload to shopeepay
and for rhb shell and affin duo will get cash cack right for top up big pay right?
#Victor
post Nov 8 2022, 10:10 PM

4,600 posts

BigPay launches into the cryptocurrency space through its launch of crypto top-up feature, in partnership with TripleA
Devil4life
post Nov 11 2022, 10:46 AM

921 posts

Anyone else received email from Bigpay for those still using Mastercard one that they will automatically convert all Mastercard to Visa one by 3rd Dec?

I reluctant to change as previously informed that Mastercard rate is more competitive but if now they enforce to all I guess i renew now.

1431 Pages « < 1394 1395 1396 1397 1398 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:20 PM