Buying Advice Filters..., dun wanna be fooled!

yaliqiu
post Jul 16 2007, 10:44 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 10 2007, 05:10 PM)
i got hoya UV - rm35
at j-one...amcorp mall...
rm35 cheap leh... plan to get 1 soon...
by the way... 50mm F1.8 for 400D any brand recommend n price??
J one & YL which 1 better?
szyap
post Sep 14 2007, 10:44 AM

Nobody
748 posts

jus bought from FTZ 52mm Hoya for RM35 include ship!

i'm looking for 52mm Hoya CPL nod.gif ... PM me if available!
philipcs
post Sep 18 2007, 12:39 AM

2,581 posts

UV filter is a must but try to avoid those filter do not have HMC because cheap filter might cause ghosting image in some focal length and some lighting situation. Somemore Hoya HMC price is not much different with Hoya standard filter.

As for CPL, is not a must unless you really need it but good to have because you can really captured the super blue sky and cut through the reflection which you can't achieve through Photoshop. (Blue Sky still can)

This Picture captured with Hoya CPL to enhance the blue sky.

This Picture captured with Hoya CPL to cut through the water reflection at the bottom.

For ND filter, it can help you to slow down the shutter speed during bright day bright in order to achieve special blur effect in day time.

ND8 has been used to achieve the slow shutter in order to get the misty effect of the water current.

I used ND8 to get 15s to make the water reflection as smooth as mirror.

goldfries
post Sep 18 2007, 01:29 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ May 27 2007, 07:44 PM)
Is CPL really a must buy? can u guys live with it or without it ??
http://www.camerafilters.com/pages/cpl.aspx

whether you need it depends on whether you want that effect.
julchin_09
post Sep 18 2007, 01:52 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 18 2007, 12:39 AM)
UV filter is a must but try to avoid those filter do not have HMC because cheap filter might cause ghosting image in some focal length and some lighting situation. Somemore Hoya HMC price is not much different with Hoya standard filter.

As for CPL, is not a must unless you really need it but good to have because you can really captured the super blue sky and cut through the reflection which you can't achieve through Photoshop. (Blue Sky still can)

This Picture captured with Hoya CPL to enhance the blue sky.

This Picture captured with Hoya CPL to cut through the water reflection at the bottom.

For ND filter, it can help you to slow down the shutter speed during bright day bright in order to achieve special blur effect in day time.

ND8 has been used to achieve the slow shutter in order to get the misty effect of the water current.

I used ND8 to get 15s to make the water reflection as smooth as mirror.
Your 1st 2 pics looks almost as if you were also using a graduating filter.

Anyway, I need some price quotations. Can help?

I need a 77mm thread UV or CPL. It has to be a HOYA HMC, cos like it was mentioned earlier, thicker filters can cause ghosting as well as the other non desired after effects. But what is the cheapest you have heard of for this and the location best to buy it? I am not from KL so I do not have the chance to go scout around KL and am only able to come up to KL once in a while to obtained stuff I need.

Also, ND Filters. They come with the huge bracket holders? How much would it cost for the ND filter?

Thanks for the info guys.....

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Sep 18 2007, 01:54 AM
AlamakLor
post Sep 18 2007, 09:42 AM

9,856 posts

CPL is a form of gradual filter.

Hoya HMC is not super thin, the super thin hoya HMC is the digital version. Beware that these filters are not stackable and does not have threads out the outer ring. I use SHMC pro-1 on my 80-200 with screw in metal lens hood.

Thicker filter does NOT cause ghosting, they can cause vignetting if you stack them up. CHEAP filters cause ghosting. The only cheap filter that has worked well for me is the tiffen haze-1, don't bother with cheap HOYA filters, all the non SHMC versions have relatively lower flare resistance. More importantly, because they are only coated at the outer side, if there is too much distance between the back side of the filter and the front element, reflection in that space can cause severe flares.

If you want ND that comes with bracket holder, you will need to look into cokin system. Again, if you intend to stack filter, get filters that are larger than what you need, that way the filter frame doesn't get into the FOV. I use step up ring on my lenses when I intend to stack them...you should see how l33t my 50mm is when I have it stepped up to 77mm with a CPL on it biggrin.gif

HMC/SHMC hoya CPL will cost you an arm and leg....those run a few hundred RM.

BTW philip, last picture is teh l33t thumbup.gif
philipcs
post Sep 18 2007, 09:43 AM

2,581 posts

Your 1st 2 pics looks almost as if you were also using a graduating filter.

No lah... just the normal CPL. in fact the sun is at my back so the blue sky and foreground can expose quite balance.

Anyway, I need some price quotations. Can help?
I need a 77mm thread UV or CPL. It has to be a HOYA HMC, cos like it was mentioned earlier, thicker filters can cause ghosting as well as the other non desired after effects. But what is the cheapest you have heard of for this and the location best to buy it? I am not from KL so I do not have the chance to go scout around KL and am only able to come up to KL once in a while to obtained stuff I need.

I also want to buy 77mm CPL and ND8 for my ultra wide angle and i am looking the price in Singapore. I think i need Hoya Pro-1 to avoid vignetting.

As for KL, i dont know the price but i think can be quite over price in KL.

Also, ND Filters. They come with the huge bracket holders? How much would it cost for the ND filter?

no bracket holder required if you want screw in type unless you buy those cokin slot in filter. you can contact Eng Tong for the price.

This post has been edited by philipcs: Sep 18 2007, 09:44 AM
julchin_09
post Sep 18 2007, 01:07 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 18 2007, 09:42 AM)
CPL is a form of gradual filter.

Hoya HMC is not super thin, the super thin hoya HMC is the digital version. Beware that these filters are not stackable and does not have threads out the outer ring. I use SHMC pro-1 on my 80-200 with screw in metal lens hood.

Thicker filter does NOT cause ghosting, they can cause vignetting if you stack them up. CHEAP filters cause ghosting. The only cheap filter that has worked well for me is the tiffen haze-1, don't bother with cheap HOYA filters, all the non SHMC versions have relatively lower flare resistance. More importantly, because they are only coated at the outer side, if there is too much distance between the back side of the filter and the front element, reflection in that space can cause severe flares.

If you want ND that comes with bracket holder, you will need to look into cokin system. Again, if you intend to stack filter, get filters that are larger than what you need, that way the filter frame doesn't get into the FOV. I use step up ring on my lenses when I intend to stack them...you should see how l33t my 50mm is when I have it stepped up to 77mm with a CPL on it biggrin.gif

HMC/SHMC hoya CPL will cost you an arm and leg....those run a few hundred RM.

BTW philip, last picture is teh l33t thumbup.gif
Thanks for the info.

You able to be more specific on pricing? Eg the cheapest you've seen? Or HOW MUCH you paid for YOURS? Thanks...

So far, a forumer has quoted to me the price of RM120-RM130 for a 77mm thread Hoya UV HMC. I wonder if this price can be cheaper somewhere else?

@philipcs

Hoya PRO-1 series is outta my league/budget for filters..... whistling.gif
philipcs
post Sep 18 2007, 02:20 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 18 2007, 01:07 PM)
Thanks for the info.

You able to be more specific on pricing? Eg the cheapest you've seen? Or HOW MUCH you paid for YOURS? Thanks...

So far, a forumer has quoted to me the price of RM120-RM130 for a 77mm thread Hoya UV HMC. I wonder if this price can be cheaper somewhere else?

@philipcs

Hoya PRO-1 series is outta my league/budget for filters..... whistling.gif
For the price reference, you can see here: http://forum.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?t=263716

You can times 2.3 (S$-RM) as currency rate.
julchin_09
post Sep 18 2007, 03:04 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 18 2007, 02:20 PM)
For the price reference, you can see here: http://forum.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?t=263716

You can times 2.3 (S$-RM) as currency rate.
THanks. Did the conversion. MIght as well get here in KL.

Anyway I'd need a map should I go there. Based on the locations in brackets(), I've only been to Cathay Photo and Sim Lim.
philipcs
post Sep 18 2007, 03:08 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 18 2007, 03:04 PM)
THanks. Did the conversion. MIght as well get here in KL.

Anyway I'd need a map should I go there. Based on the locations in brackets(), I've only been to Cathay Photo and Sim Lim.
do you know how much is 77mm standard CPL and ND8 selling in KL? which shop?
julchin_09
post Sep 18 2007, 03:15 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I was quoted RM120-130 for HOYA HMC UV 77mm thread at Bintang Maju Low Yatt. ND8 I never asked.....

If you happen to need to go to Sg, then it would be worth it getting there. But making a special trip to go to get them won't be worth it...
philipcs
post Sep 18 2007, 03:29 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Sep 18 2007, 03:15 PM)
I was quoted RM120-130 for HOYA HMC UV 77mm thread at Bintang Maju Low Yatt. ND8 I never asked.....

If you happen to need to go to Sg, then it would be worth it getting there. But making a special trip to go to get them won't be worth it...
i will go there sometime in oct.

i can help smile.gif

0.0207sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:31 AM