> Will changing SIM card slot affects your Whatsapp?

SUSMarioKart
post Jul 20 2018, 06:02 PM, updated 8y ago

22 posts

Ayam thinking to buy a voice for data call in South Korea when i am there for next month mainly for data use. The phone i will use for this ia a Xiaomi Mi A1.

I have never tried dual sims in any of my phones before,eventhough all of them has it. If i remove the current SIM to another slot and put the other SIM into the current slot, will this affect my Whatsapp? Because i read the 2nd SIM slot of this phone does not support 3G and only 4G, so i am afraid can't get line if suddenly the area like inside building drops to 3G.

Any advice is appreciated.
patienceGNR
post Jul 20 2018, 06:02 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

WhatsApp will ask you.
Lyu
post Jul 20 2018, 06:03 PM

772 posts

yes...

u change number, the whatshapp number auto change after gain ur approval ...

This post has been edited by Lyu: Jul 20 2018, 06:04 PM
game333
post Jul 20 2018, 06:04 PM

388 posts

yes
SUSMarioKart
post Jul 20 2018, 06:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jul 20 2018, 06:02 PM)
WhatsApp will ask you.
QUOTE(Lyu @ Jul 20 2018, 06:03 PM)
yes...

u change number, the whatshapp number auto change ...
Like that, after i change back a week later how? Will the Whatsapp still work?
Lyu
post Jul 20 2018, 06:06 PM

772 posts

QUOTE(MarioKart @ Jul 20 2018, 06:04 PM)
Like that, after i change back a week later how? Will the Whatsapp still work?
Whatshapp then change back the old number la
idoblu
post Jul 20 2018, 06:08 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

When you put in a different SIM card, It will ask you if you want to change - just click NO
That way whatsapp still uses your original number

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jul 20 2018, 06:09 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Jul 20 2018, 06:10 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

Im using wasap with celcom number on digi simcard right now.
Want to slowly kill that celcom number.
SUStsunade
post Jul 20 2018, 06:11 PM

2,063 posts

nope. won't affect. unless you change phone or initiate the change number in your WhatsApp settings yourself
SUSMarioKart
post Jul 20 2018, 06:11 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 20 2018, 06:08 PM)
It will ask you if you want to change - just click NO
Huh? I don't understand.

1) Current:
SIM Slot 1 - Malaysia SIM (Primary)
SIM Slot 2 - Empty

2) Swap SIM Slot:
SIM Slot 1 - Other SIM (Primary)
SIM Slot 2 - Malaysia SIM (not needed to use)

So whatsapp will ask if want to change no and i should say "NO"? Then it still can be used?

rclxub.gif
idoblu
post Jul 20 2018, 06:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(MarioKart @ Jul 20 2018, 06:11 PM)
Huh? I don't understand.

1) Current:
SIM Slot 1 - Malaysia SIM (Primary)
SIM Slot 2 - Empty

2) Swap SIM Slot:
SIM Slot 1 - Other SIM  (Primary)
SIM Slot 2 - Malaysia SIM (not needed to use)

So whatsapp will ask if want to change no and i should say "NO"? Then it still can be used?

rclxub.gif
Not sure how your two slots phone will work but for single SIM card phones. When I put in a foreign card, it will ask you if you want to change to the new number or stick with the old. Yes you can stick with the old number even though the old SIM card is not in the phone. I think your two Sim tray phone will work the same way
SUSMarioKart
post Jul 20 2018, 06:17 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 20 2018, 06:15 PM)
Not sure how your two slots phone will work but for single SIM card phones. When I put in a foreign card, it will ask you if you want to change to the new number or stick with the old. Yes you can stick with the old number even though the old SIM card is not in the phone. I think your two Sim tray phone will work the same way
IC. Thanks. I will keep that in mind.
TBJ
post Jul 20 2018, 06:18 PM

374 posts

whatsapp is an app, no sim card also work as long as can online through wifi. no issue changing sim. my whatsapp works on my china sim phone.
idoblu
post Jul 20 2018, 06:20 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

If you put in both cards, you not worry there’s a possibility that your Malaysian Sim kena data charges?
SUSMarioKart
post Jul 20 2018, 06:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 20 2018, 06:20 PM)
If you put in both cards, you not worry there’s a possibility that your Malaysian Sim kena data charges?
I think in SIM manager , you can choose which SIM for data?
ArefiE
post Jul 20 2018, 06:25 PM

18 posts

I can use whatsapp with dead simcard on my iphone laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ArefiE: Jul 20 2018, 06:26 PM
yhcyber
post Jul 20 2018, 06:28 PM

482 posts

For your case, it is adding new SIM into slot 2, so it wont affect anything

What you need to do is, go to Settings - SIM cards & mobile networks - Internet, select SIM 2 (the data SIM), done

I always did such way when travelling, so far WhatsApp never prompt me and ask for mobile no change smile.gif
yhcyber
post Jul 20 2018, 06:30 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(MarioKart @ Jul 20 2018, 06:22 PM)
I think in SIM manager , you can choose which SIM for data?
For Xiaomi phone, you can always select the SIM card for call and Data, unless you didnt choose it, then it will connect whichever having data connection

MR_alien
post Jul 20 2018, 06:37 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

won't affect but whatsapp will detect that you're using another number and prompt u
LamboSama
post Jul 20 2018, 08:24 PM

769 posts

No problem. As long as you can access messages sent to the whatsapp number no problem.
ar188
post Jul 20 2018, 08:27 PM

9,206 posts

your whatsapp will still run that number, even if that number's actual sim is not in the phone.
SUSazhan82
post Jul 20 2018, 08:31 PM

316 posts

dont think whatsapp or any app like it supports dual sims...
1 number per whatsapp

0.0162sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:24 PM