Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

cute_boboi
post Aug 28 2020, 02:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(feringgee @ Aug 28 2020, 02:07 PM)
Hi guys. My istop started blinking recently upon starting the engine Does not happen every time though, maybe once every 2 engine starts. Own the car for more than 2 years now and has always switched off istop function. Should i do anything (is there any harm other than the annoying blinking istol indicator). Does it impact the main battery?
I believe the car battery is getting weak. Start to look for replacement now. The car may unable to start within days or 1-2 weeks.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Aug 28 2020, 03:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Aug 28 2020, 02:14 PM)
Riding on this, may I ask how long generally did your batteries all last?  Any indication other than this way to know if battery is weak?
My own experience. Those old gen cars whether use wet battery or maintenance free, I can sense from turning the key to crank/start the engine. It takes split second longer and can hear the weaker cranking sound. This warning will last about 2-4 weeks before totally die. 1st batt last me 4 yrs and 2nd batt 4.5 yrs.

Newer gen cars, no warning at all for maintenance free battery. It just died and shows the lights at dash. Happened few times on me. Morning drive to work all normal. Then evening totally cannot start sweat.gif 1st batt 2+ yrs, then 2.5 yrs, then another 2.5 yrs. All stock cars (non modified), most likely newer gen cars has more electronics/sensors.

Current car - not yet 1 year old, I disable i-stop most of the time.

How long a battery last, it depends on your style & usage.

cute_boboi
post Sep 1 2020, 11:02 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 1 2020, 08:20 AM)
according to CTEK manufacturer claim, the charger consists patented automatic desulphation step and a special reconditioning step that will revive and restore deeply discharged and stratified batteries. Due to its function, CTEK is a bit expensive than the ordinary charger where those charger only provide 'charge' function only.

To answer your question, YES the CTEK charger can extend the car batteries and it is not just CX5 but many cars can use it as well... Just google and you got the answer
(Btw, top-up battery fluid also la when needed for battery maintenance)
I'm just curious on this claim, from physics and chemistry point of view hmm.gif you know, last time got those water filter/enhancement claims about making water molecule smaller/etc. but pure water is H2O , it can't get any smaller than that.
If chemistry already change to sulphur dioxide, how can it deoxidised or desulphate ?

cute_boboi
post Sep 1 2020, 12:03 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(cloudwin @ Sep 1 2020, 11:08 AM)
Just a quick google bro, don't shoot laugh.gif  ~

Desulfation - A desulfator breaks down the sulfur that has built up in your battery and dissolves it. It does this by passing current through the sulfate buildup. The buildup then drops into the battery acid and dissolves. This process results in no harm to the battery
No worries, no shoot. We come here to discuss intellectually. To be fair, I didn't search or read up on this either as this is not my cup of tea (yet, maybe?)
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Sep 21 2020, 11:38 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemmien @ Sep 21 2020, 12:12 PM)
Hi All,

I'm not yet an owner but considering to become one.

Anyway I have read through all the posts from January 2020 until the latest. Most members only mentioned about Glenmarie SC, anyone got and service their car regularly at BERMAZ Jalan Ampang? Just wondering about their service.. or it does not matter for Mazda brand..

I visited Jalan Ampang twice and the SA seems nice.. both visits he explained about the car thoroughly without pushing me to close the deal. Not to mentioned he prepared test drive unit although already passed their operating hours.

Actually was aiming for X70, the car is indeed good (specs on paper) but a bit concern on reliability and after sales service. Proton SA cannot answer most of my questions on the warranty issues, they keep saying for some cases Proton need to investigate because of the 'grey' area..
First and foremost, so far I only service at PJ.

My friend (not forum/online, but real friend), send to service in Jalan Ampang. The service is not bad. But there are a lot of cars/queue. You may not notice cause most of them drop off their cars for service in early morning, then they take grabcar or ask their colleagues fetch them for the last mile to work in city centre/KLCC/etc. After work then go there pickup. So don't be surprise if see empty SC after 9am+ but you may notice a lot of cars parked there.

Warranty claim and fixing items are there also, so far no complain. After all it is under BERMAZ and not franchise holder.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 19 2020, 11:44 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 19 2020, 10:37 AM)
Yea to those affected you can check via this website: https://mazda.com.my/mazda-recall-information-centre

Just put ur car VIN number. Mine is affected.
This vehicle is not affected by any recall.

Mine is not affected, bought end-2019
PP1KFA231LM1xxxxx
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Nov 15 2020, 05:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(melkishi81 @ Nov 15 2020, 05:21 PM)
I was wondering, do you guys reinsured your cx-5 with berjaya sompo? I have another car under my name, and the policy will expire in January. How does the NCB works and do you guys recommend both cars to be insured under berjaya sompo or is there any better company or suggestion? Please help 🙏🏻 Thanks
1) Under Berjaya Sompo MPI (Mazda Premium Insurance)

2) Under Berjaya Sompo - Sompo Motor - cheaper than #1, but check above link whether you need those extra or not

3) Other insurers - Premium wise would be roughly the same. I heard Mazda workshop and Berjaya Sompo easier to approve claims.

NCB/NCD is No Claim Bonus/Discount - For each year that you do not claim, insurer will give discount to you. It will build up consecutively up to maximum 5 years = 55%
The moment a claim is made (that affects your NCD), the NCD % reset to zero in your next renewal. NCD follows the driver, not follow car. If you sell your current car, you can transfer the NCD to your new car. But you cannot transfer NCD to your wife/kids/etc. They have to start from zero %

Bonus: You can get additional 10% discount if the policy owner do it him/her-self, no matter which GI. Otherwise, you can always find an agent.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Nov 16 2020, 10:09 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Nov 16 2020, 01:28 AM)
How to get the additional 10% bro?
Yes, as stated one post above, DIY by either online or walk-in to HQ/branch counter. It started >10 years ago by BNM to liberise the general insurance. The 10% used to be the profit for agents and franchise branch owners. During those times, some agents also give personal discount from this portion.

Unless you think you may require agents help in claim in future, or you are too busy to DIY, or the 10% is not worth your time and money to DIY, my suggestion is ... just DIY.

This is not killing other people business. The world is continuously changing especially in recent times. If people or business stick to a particular model without evolving, they will be out from the game soon.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Nov 19 2020, 12:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Nov 19 2020, 09:06 AM)
Sifus, does ppf really necessary?  Just quoted Rm3750 front part only.

7 years warranty.

Cos worry the stone chips will cause rust
QUOTE(nYbROOKLYN @ Nov 19 2020, 10:12 AM)
Frankly statement. Save your money for faster paying off your loan. You get boring after new edition out. Car most important in engine and not exterior. Those stupid stone chip and scratch only you care and other don’t give a damn. Just always Wash your car will be enough attractive. 3K for a bra 🤣😅😂
Same, my opinion as well. For that amount, I'll invest it and spend to repaint whole car 3-5-7 years later. Provided I not yet trade-in

My new car <6 months already get minor bang by you guess it kapchai with small scratch and small dent. Don't bother about it as it is just a no-life physical materialistic thing. Prefer to spend my effort and money on people lives like family and friends.

Unless you say the wrap is <RM500 then I'll consider. Also, it doesn't bring benefit like tinting where it helps to reduce heat/IR/etc. to the people, which for this I am willing to spend. Not even placebo effect like add Mugen/TRD sticker for +2 hp or spoiler for +5 h/p doh.gif

But anyway, the money is yours to spend smile.gif and different people will choose to spend it differently icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2020, 08:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(yiyi87 @ Dec 18 2020, 03:09 PM)
for Mazda Premium Insurance, we have to go through Mazda? Couldn't find it from berjaya compo website
For me, Berjaya Sompo asked me to go back to my dealer/branch. I can't buy the MPI directly via Berjaya Sompo if I want to choose MPI.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Jan 21 2021, 09:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 21 2021, 04:22 PM)
Hey guys, 1st year anniversary for my CX5 coming up soon. Just wanna ask for those that renew insurance with Sompo, you guys went with the MPI or not? Is the MPI worth it?
After comparing the extras, which I do not need (not critical to me), I did not go with MPI. FYI, the MPI premium is higher by few hundred RM than direct Sompo website.
e.g. MPI from branch quote me 2.2-2.4k (w/o W/S). Direct Sompo w/o MPI 1.6-1.8k range.

My advise, it depends on the extra items in MPI if you need it or not. Don't just buta-buta take it.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 21 2021, 10:52 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(melkishi81 @ Jan 21 2021, 09:42 PM)
May I know if this is inclusive of windscreen insurance? And how much is the sum insured if you may share?

Thank you
This past few years I did not buy windscreen coverage. Even for my previous car, only the first 2-3 years bought it but never claim before. After that 5-7 years didn't bought, also never broke. This new baby shark also didn't buy. Yes, can be money wise, pound foolish. Again it depends on individual usage. For my route and parking, I do not encounter much high risk of windscreen breaking. Combine with current covid-19 situation, I am not driving much. Last year did about 5k km only.

Sum insured as auto-quoted by Berjaya-Sompo online is agreed value depending on your car model/year/cc
My sum insured is 150k+, premium around 3.7k
less NCD 55%
less direct purchase 10% (owner DIY, not through agent)
plus tax and duty
about 1.6k+ only
icon_rolleyes.gif

Just reopen the MPI PDS
Coverage for all drivers, excess = no need, I'm the only driver for this car.
Repair warranty - uh ... no need. this is workmanship and defects on repair. If major will send back to Bermaz and claim (NCD lost). Any issue, repair warranty or not, can go back Bermaz.
towing - standard agreed value already have one towing and new car I don't need unlimited towing.
Motor P.A. - I already have enough personal life insurance + medical
total lost & theft allowance - already agreed value
accident inconvenience -rm200/day up to 5 days. no need for me. My advise read the T&C clearly. Last time waiting period for spare parts doesn't count.
Waiver for betterment from 6-10 years - maybe change car already.

Edit: MPI quote me 4k for the same sum insured
less NCD 55%
no less direct purchase since go through agent/branch
plus tax and duty
= around 2k

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jan 21 2021, 10:54 PM
cute_boboi
post Feb 2 2021, 03:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(anon118 @ Feb 2 2021, 11:58 AM)
Guys, when you start your car.... First start of the day, do you warm it up for about 20 seconds? Supposed to be good for the car?

Also, do you turn off the air cond before you "turn off" the engine?

LoL! Sorry, I know it is lame.... but I accept that I'm a noob... tongue.gif
If cold start, the RPM will be higher like 1.5k, then I'll wait ~20 seconds for it to go down to ~800, then only engage gear.
If warm start, will idle for like 3-5 seconds, then engage gear and drive.

For aircond, it has been my practise to switch off the compressor (air cond) but leave the blower running once I enter my garden area. Once park car, then switch off the blower. Then off engine. I have been practising this since my previous cars. So far no issue with the internal unit having problem or need service at all, even 10 years old car. My own reason being condensation may occur inside internal coil and if acidic due to dust/particles may slowly corrode.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Jun 1 2021, 09:23 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jun 1 2021, 11:56 AM)
my case they dun give discount if i buy directly from mazda.. but for online i think u entitled certain discount...

they seems to give slight more coverage for mazda and charge for more premium of cos...
https://www.berjayasompo.com.my/_uploads/fi...G)_June2020.pdf
Read from post #6582 on wards for several pages until post #6839. There are discussions and comparisons in between there.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 31 2021, 02:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(z3alousn3ss @ Aug 31 2021, 01:13 PM)
Just picked up my CX-5 Turbo yesterday. Can we change the KM/L on the speedo to L/100km?
If I remember correctly, press and hold the needle/stick on the VDO meter there to cycle through the display options.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Nov 12 2021, 02:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Nov 12 2021, 11:16 AM)
SA said MPI is specially customized for Mazda. And it is cheaper than the comprehensive +extra.

I didn't personally checks the comprehensive + extra from berjaya sampo..
I did compre against AIG.  MPI still cheaper even after AIG I get 10% off for online renewal.
Check out similiar discussion I had around same time last year in this thread. There is comparison between MPI and Berjaya Sompo Insurance directly.

Unless the extra features are useful to you, then go for MPI. Otherwise direct Berjaya Sompo website or other insurers.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Mar 7 2022, 03:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 7 2022, 01:53 PM)
Not sure if anyone have similar issue, I felt that my SCBS-F is not working. SCBS-R is working though. I tested using 3 boxes and pile them up together, then engage D mode and let the car go without braking or accelerating. The car just ram through the boxes. I did some checking on Forscan and nothing came out, no DTC code or anything. Went to SC and they said the same thing..hmm..
Not sure if it's the same thing, but your speed need to be quite fast above certain km/h like 20 or 30 or ? Also set sensitivity or distance to high.
You may also need your leg on the accelerator or maintaining speed.
If you let go off accelerator or the speed is already dropping, it won't take effect.

I have the CX-5 auto-brake for me and the jerk is quite strong. Split second moment before that, the VDO will flash BRAKE ! and also some sound if I recall correctly.

cute_boboi
post Mar 7 2022, 11:55 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 7 2022, 04:20 PM)
I remembered last 2 times when the system activated it actually saves my ass from banging into the car in front. Recently I almost got into an accident but the system didn't activate at all, no warning sound or anything which leads me to feel that something is wrong hmm.gif

This is how I test it. Let me share the video here.

From your YouTube, my layman comment:
1) Speed too slow, try 20-30km/h from further away. Maybe try do this in safer area like open area car park.

2) instead of using box, just try prop up a big piece of cardboard like 1m height x 2m width with another small piece of cardboard. Less damage on your bumper for testing. The cardboard will fall flat and under your carriage roll over by tyres.
Or string up a piece of blanket/bedsheet, but ensure the string is at least 2m high (higher than your car roof). The cloth will sweep (hope no scratch) over your car.
Hitting the boxes, just worry damage or scratch the front bumper or broke your license number plate.

3) maybe stick another few pieces of padding on your bumper to prevent scratch, but ensure distance is at least 10cm away from every direction of each sensor.

4) ensure you are going fast and picking up speed. Our natural reaction is to let go accelerator and/or press brake when see an object. You need to train your brain not to see the big piece of cardboard.

I recall I were going at least 30-60km/h when it auto-brake for me and the distance to the car in front is very near like <1 metre.

cute_boboi
post Jan 22 2024, 01:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Jan 22 2024, 01:31 AM)
The plugged in CarPlay seems to be very sensitive, and sometimes just turned it off itself citing CarPlay not supposed to be in touch when car in motion.

Any fix for this?
Yours could be something wrong, maybe send into SC, but if cannot simulate the problem, very hard to resolve also.

Mine using everyday with iPhone Waze for many years no such issue. Also I don't like to leave fingerprints on the screen, so I only use that rotating knob thing at gear stick there, best UX ever.

Did you touch the screen ? Or have objects/decoration near it ?
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 22 2024, 11:46 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Jan 22 2024, 06:20 PM)
Nothing near the screen, it’s just some random disconnect sometimes, wonder why.

Also, how did u guys treat the stone chipping and paint chipping from some idiot car who just scratch ur door paint when they opened the door? Soul Red Crystal btw.
Try changing your USB cable or clean the phone connection part. I'm using the original flimsy iPhone cable for 4 years and cable still intact, which I leave inside the car.

I don't bother anymore about the scratch, dings, dents, no matter drive what car. You don't hit ppl, but ppl hit you no matter how nice you park.

0.0418sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:37 PM