Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

Ivan_T
post Jul 28 2018, 10:39 PM

133 posts

I have just received my 2.0 GLS today. Everything is ok except there is sound and slight vibration when I press the brake hard. SA said this is just temporary, it will be ok after a while. Anyone experience the same? Still to me the CX5 brake is not good.
Ivan_T
post Jul 29 2018, 12:43 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 28 2018, 11:02 PM)
Yeah, I believe I experienced similar during the first few weeks and complained about it during first service. But looks like it went away on its on. Service guy did confide in me that the cx5 brake is typically like that. Also, the brakes aren't great at all. Needs more pressing to get proper grip. Though, in a recent experience, saved me from an accident.. When you really press it, it stops real hard. Fresh tires and reflexes helped..  smile.gif

So for stock, better to get used to it fast and keep your distance from the car in front while you get used to it. Most members upgrade the brake system...pads, calipers, rotors, etc.. So do so if can.
Thanks for the info that it's normal. I'm sure it's much more challenging for your 2.2d than my 2.0. I did feel that I couldn't slow down enough to go over hump when test drive the 2.2d. Got to get use to it over time.
Ivan_T
post Jul 29 2018, 12:10 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tctctctctc @ Jul 29 2018, 09:15 AM)
Hi bros, planning to get the 2.0 GL version. Anybody know where to add on front parking sensors?
I will seriously suggest you to go for the GLS instead. To add on you can't even get 1/3 of the list of missing features and equipment from the GL with the price difference. List as below:

Exterior
-------------
LED daytime running lights
LED rear combination taillights
Piano black door pillar garnish

Interior
-----------
Keyless entry
Metal & Wood dashboard trim
Power-adjustable 10-way driver’s seat
Leather seats
Navigation function for MZD system

Safety
----------
Four front parking sensors
Adaptive Front-Lighting System (AFS)
Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
Rear Cross Traffic Alert
Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) – front
Ivan_T
post Jul 30 2018, 05:46 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 30 2018, 05:29 PM)
Hmm. silly me, i thought there will be no fold button for folding mirrors..just that people choose to install auto-fold is because they want it to be folded automatically...ahh... biggrin.gif
Please forgive me...I buy this car without actually know much about it also..

May i know where is the button located?  hmm.gif
The button is just in front of the power windows switches, beside the window lock button. But night time very hard to find it, no light. Found quite a few stupidity in CX5.
Ivan_T
post Aug 1 2018, 06:56 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 1 2018, 01:34 PM)
Early May.
Wow, that's quite a long wait for Sonic Silver, lucky I didn't waited that long. Congrats and enjoy your ride.

QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 1 2018, 04:27 PM)
as far as i know, cx-5 dont have dedicated button at driver's side to do central door lock/unlock right?
have to use the "latch" next to the door handle  hmm.gif

always wanted a central lock button to ease locking and unlocking doors from the inside. instead of pulling on a latch...
This is really another stupidity of the CX5, when stop and pick up passengers, want to open the doors also got to use the latch. Also there is no actual food rest, only carpet that become so dirty and difficult to clean after put my foot there.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Aug 1 2018, 05:08 PM)
To others.. I be needing assistance from all who have received their confirmed 2018 vehicles.. Please pm me or indicate here your willingness to discuss further. If you stay within or are willing to show up in KV? Even better. Thanks.
Bro, what help do you need from us?
Ivan_T
post Aug 2 2018, 04:58 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 2 2018, 03:45 PM)
I was told that my DCBlue need to wait another 3 weeks by my SA.

And I am so tired of waiting and almost giving up..

But then my SA called me again, "Do you want to change to Jet Black? And it will be available next week.."...I was like..."Ok.."

SRC -> DCB -> JB

What a journey..
SRC still the most outstanding color, all other colors I think no much different. Did you threaten to cancel? Sometimes that helps. Seriously if you really need the car fast, the wait is killing. If your car really arriving in 3 weeks time, please spare 1 more week for the registration etc, so another month.

QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 2 2018, 04:42 PM)
or buka kasut before masuk kereta....macam rumah... biggrin.gif
Good idea.. but got to install a shoes rack inside the car..biggrin.gif
For this I missed my Civic foot rest, it was really a nice one.
Ivan_T
post Aug 7 2018, 05:58 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 7 2018, 03:14 PM)
Clocked 580Km on FOC or first tank la.

Not going to pump ron97 anytime soon.  sweat.gif
Same here still on 1st tank within 2 weeks on Shell 97 from SA.
I will only pump 97 going forward, need to try all the different brands, but I think BHP is the best from past experience.
Ivan_T
post Aug 8 2018, 04:31 PM

133 posts

I made the detailing process very simple, just wash clean with Turtle wash and wax then apply the Fusso coat, kao dim.

QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 8 2018, 03:42 PM)
Thx for sharing bro.

Just want to check with you on Rain-X application on windscreen.
I had bad experience before on my old car. After apply, the wipers judders when wiping.
Worst thing was very hard/impossible to remove rain-x coating.
Went online to read, got mixed reviews from users. Some say no problem, but got a handful also face wiper judder problem.

So now dunno whether to apply rain-x coating or even use the wiper washer fluid additive  unsure.gif
I have the same concern with you as many said shouldn't apply rain-x on front windscreen.
Ivan_T
post Aug 10 2018, 08:42 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Aug 10 2018, 04:24 PM)
I kinda like it because it makes the mat not so boring...

Yakks...Red color? No thanks...Even my car is red color, i wont buying red mats..  puke.gif
Yes, mine is like this, quite like it as well.

Ivan_T
post Aug 12 2018, 03:56 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(LHleong @ Aug 11 2018, 12:07 AM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWAT2uzZmjU

Pretty interesting info about 4WD CX 5....but in Chinese dialect..
Yes very good info indeed, I have watched that before and for few others like the CRV, Forester, Tiguan etc. There might be differences for the China market, but there should be high similarity as well. This is mainly about underneath the car and the build quality there determine how well the car drive.

QUOTE(aqmal_12 @ Aug 11 2018, 01:22 PM)

Thanks for your response. Oh well, guess I'm out of luck and running out of time to get everything done before August 31st.. I also heard from an agent that 2.2D 4WD is currently unavailable. I will be waiting for the next "tax holiday period" then, finger-crossed. Or I will just keep driving my 10-year old Myvi into the ground.

Quick question, which CRV variant comparable to CX-5 2.2D 4WD in term of handling and overall satisfaction? Cargo space notwithstanding.

Thanks!
To me the CRV win only in space and nothing else. The driving dynamic, refinement and NVH is definitely better on the CX5.
Ivan_T
post Aug 13 2018, 11:27 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 13 2018, 11:23 AM)
yes I did right after collecting the car. It was 400kpa +- for all four tyres. I released the air and had it pumped to 240kpa.
Same here.. released the air immediately after collecting the car and pump only 230kpa as per recommendation for 17" none full load. Super comfortable and quiet.

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 13 2018, 11:25 AM)
Wah, diff level and diff animal all together.

SA kept pushing me to try the 2.2D, and I knew once I did, it will be no turning back. I declined politely.    blush.gif
I test drive both the 2.0 and 2.2D twice, still end up buying the 2.0.. kekeke.

This post has been edited by Ivan_T: Aug 13 2018, 11:29 AM
Ivan_T
post Aug 13 2018, 02:22 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 13 2018, 12:45 PM)
Some said River Steel and Ampang

Well for me, I am going to the Tmn Equine
Yes, my SA recommended Tmn Equine SC also. How is the service there? Need to do booking or not? Open Saturday?
Ivan_T
post Aug 14 2018, 06:06 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tkhengong @ Aug 14 2018, 05:46 PM)
Agree. I will sit out this 2.5 and wait for the 2.2D.
Definitely the 2.2D for its 420Nm torque, the more complete i-Activsense suite, full color LCD display instrument cluster, not forgetting the super good FC. But ofcoz the diesel engine noise can still be a little annoying. But the 2.0 engine also sound like a diesel engine ... sad.gif
Ivan_T
post Aug 23 2018, 06:32 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Toshiakiz @ Aug 23 2018, 05:33 PM)
Just checked is 2018 stated there. Since its august now lol
Any surprise like made in Japan ..😂
Ivan_T
post Aug 30 2018, 07:00 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Aug 30 2018, 03:16 PM)
Really want to smack Bermaz for choosing this spec for the tints. JPJ is one, Puspakom also another one. You follow JPJ spec, Puspakom will say fail to comply.

mad.gif

Yes my thigh and stomach is burning and it is good to burn fat.  mad.gif
Yes, JPJ or puspakom compliance is the only reason they choose the VLT 85% for the front, else the VLT 70% for the side will provide much better TSER. I believe no choice but to install a 2nd layer for front.

Ivan_T
post Jan 8 2021, 01:21 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(nYbROOKLYN @ Jan 7 2021, 10:45 PM)
USA use RON 87 as regular lah. 92 already premium. Everyone pump 87. X5 only pump 87. You mazda pump 95 already enough. Pump 97 just like good for nothing.
I think this is not apple to apple comparison. The reason that European octane ratings (same as Malaysia) seems higher than American ratings is because Europe and Japan only use the RON numbers. American and Canadian fuel uses an octane number derived from the average of the RON and the MON numbers. American fuel pumps have the designation R+M/2 to designation that the octane rating is RON plus MON divided by 2. So it is not exactly the same as the RON number we have here.

The latest CX5 2.0 engine is with lower compression ratio of 13.0:1 compared the one in 2018 at 14.0:1, so maybe using RON95 is not a problem at all. But for the 2018 model I think better use RON97. I seriously don't understand why Mazda tune the lower compression engine to give more power than the higher one, then what is the point of having such high compression engine in the 1st place?

The extremely high compression ratio caused the 2.0 engine to clatter like a diesel engine. I'm not sure if that is causing the annoying problem of car body vibration during idling which is my major problem. SC has replaced the Top engine mounting, the vibration has improved but not solved. The steering is with lesser vibration but the body (including the seats) vibration is still obvious. Anyone having the same problem?
Ivan_T
post Jan 8 2021, 07:30 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 8 2021, 03:56 PM)
Hi all, just want to share my experience after owning the car for almost 3 years.

The car is great. Good NVH, comfort and driving experience. Nothing to shout out about fuel economy but hey it's a 2.0 SUV car so can't expect very good fuel economy.

Feature wise I am also quite satisfied. Safety features, interior and exterior look is all superb.

Now, here's the bad part of the car. Minor issues everywhere. The common ones are the lower front bush, lower front arm, engine mounting and side mirrors. I've changed all of these parts within 3 years of owning the car. Side mirrors itself I've claimed warranty for 3 times. Yes, you did not see it wrong. It's freaking 3 times. First time on the left side, second time on the right side and third time on the left side again. The side mirrors just can't close properly.

There are also some minor rattling sounds in the front part of the car coming from dashboard or doors or anywhere. I just recently dissemble the front driver car door myself to fix the rattling sound. It was due to some loose panel and cables.

However, the consolation of these problems is that service center honors the warranty and they are quick to fix or replace these parts. Kudos to them.
The NVH is acceptable but not great. The main noise is still from the tyres which I believe can be improved by using quieter tyres. The NVH is definitely better than CRV but not on par with Forester.

I'm surprised that you have changed so many parts under warranty, my car is over 2 years and the only problem is the vibration which SC change the Top engine mounting but problem remained. Maybe my mileage is still very low, hardly drive. I think I need to change to another SC to fix this Vibration problem.
Ivan_T
post Jan 8 2021, 07:41 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(nYbROOKLYN @ Jan 8 2021, 07:22 PM)
Use RON 100 better. This people think Mazda is luxury Automobile. For god sake, this is Average Joe Car of the World. Pump 95 have it move that is. Wasting money.
Don't think you understand the reason. The requirement for high Octane fuel has nothing to do with if the car is Luxury or not. Mazda skyactiv petrol engine is with the highest compression ratio compared to any engine in other cars. You can't find any other petrol engine with 14.0:1 compression ratio, only Mazda has it. Due to the high compression ratio, there is higher chance of knocking with lower octane fuel that can damage your engine in the long run. The high Octane fuel has got higher knock resistance. Knock resistance is a fuel’s ability not to self-ignite and burn in an uncontrolled way while the fuel is being compressed. This means that the air-fuel mixture in the engine is not ignited only by the ignition spark, but also by compression pressure.
Ivan_T
post Jan 8 2021, 08:29 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 8 2021, 07:43 PM)
I've drove 50k mileage so far. Not sure if that's considered low or high sweat.gif
Mine is less than 15k km.. smile.gif
Ivan_T
post Jan 8 2021, 09:10 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 8 2021, 08:31 PM)
Speaking of vibration, i also can feel random vibration when idling. i thought there waa car passby but no.it happened occasionally
You can try this see it is the same or not. For my case, when idling (gear either on P or N), I turn off the aircond, the RPM will drop to the lowest, to ~600 RPM.
I will feel the car body, the car seats all with minor vibration, the feeling is like you are on a massage chair. The feeling is lesser at 750 RPM.

0.0338sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:55 PM