Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

Not A GTR fanboy
post Oct 31 2018, 12:23 AM

Anyone fixed this kind of exhaust tips before? Is it hard to install?
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 8 2018, 02:18 PM

My CX-5 diesel started to have some kind of sour diesel smell after more thn 1 month of ownership so is it normal? Any CX-5 diesel owners can clarify?
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 9 2018, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 8 2018, 11:06 PM)
Mind describing where and how the smell comes about?
The smell comes from the exhaust, its not a typical pickup truck diesel smell but it adds a little "sour" taste to it maybe because of euro 5? hmm.gif
U encounter the same situation with me?

QUOTE(kyoshooo @ Dec 8 2018, 11:52 PM)
Me too when speeding on highway.
When on the move im not sure cus didn't roll down the window while driving, but its noticeable when u standing around the exhaust area where u really can smell the "sour" diesel...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 14 2018, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(ahhoe80 @ Dec 14 2018, 11:52 AM)
With the launch of the X70, what would current CX-5 owners feedback/opinion would be compared to your existing rides? Would CX-5 still be a better ride?
Haven test driven it yet. But from what I heard from my relatives in China, the fuel consumption of Geely Boyue (pre-facelift) is quite high and the engine is meh nothing special... Im not sure about the X70 caused is based on the facelifted version of Geely Boyue
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 20 2018, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(hyperx @ Dec 20 2018, 07:29 PM)
Hmm, my first 2 full tanks i pumped petron. Then i switched to bhp due to availability and better points reward. Over the time as im driving the car, i began to notice 2 things:
1. The sour smell which is so prominent unlike when i first got the car
2. Less torquey, lack of ‘pull’ when i pressed all the way hard

Until recently i tried Petron again. Walao. No more smell and the car is much powerful now. 🤩

Never tried petronas/caltex/shell though..
I think shell and bhp will produce the "soury" diesel smell cus so far i only pumped this two brands doh.gif ... will try petron or caltex this weekend
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 22 2018, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(xuanchew @ Dec 22 2018, 07:52 PM)
Got my shark last few days!!

Installed tinted, and next I’m thinking about coating? The price range is so huge, from RM299 to RM2999 or even 5-6k++
Of course higher price is better, but is that necessary?

Then I’m also considering about apple CarPlay, I use Waze navigation a lot. And if the mzd display can project the maps, that will be great, I don’t have to put my phones on all the times. Any idea where can we get that?
Lol, if u can fork out for 5-6k for coating, why not consider PPF since PPF can prevent stone chips while coating can't. If coating is ur preferred choice then i would suggest you don't go for too expensive cus most of them are more or less the same...
Apple Car Play can be retrofit by Bermaz, price is around 1.4k...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Dec 23 2018, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(alvinrenren @ Dec 23 2018, 12:57 AM)
Lol ppf is at a different price point. The more expensive coating also cannot match the cheapest ppf in terms of price as it would be more expensive. Unless u talking about just ppf is some prt of the car (like front and hood and door handle only) which then means u might have different color gradient given time under the sun( ppf tend to yellow out, whole car u might not see the diff, but annoying if your hood yellows but not your door, roof and boot). Maybe what u mean is wrapping ? Wrapping can be done with same color, or another color, gloss or matt as well with approx the price of coating.
I meant PPF and yes i know 5-6k is for the front part of the car only and whole car cost around 14k cry.gif
I agree that PPF will eventually turn yellowish but i think those who apply PPF on their car are mainly to prevent stone chips...

QUOTE(xuanchew @ Dec 23 2018, 05:42 AM)
Agree with you, 5-6k for coating is definitely out of my budget. Just want to know that are those cheap coating really helps? (Those around RM1k or less)
Im not sure about those 1k price point coating... I did mine for 2k...
Just find a reliable one as there are a lot of brands out thr...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Jan 6 2019, 11:19 PM

Test drive X70 executive variant today, want to point out a few things.
-Purposely drive into pot holes and got some rattling sound (not quite noticeable) from the center console part (maybe just the unit i test drove, im not sure about others)
-sound proofing is better thn crv, but cx-5 still better.
-acceleration is mehh... can feel a little bit delay due to turbo lag (maybe)
-360 camera is good and clear enough for this price segment
-UI can control a lot of things, but navigation from baidu is not as smooth as waze but still usable
-rear passenger seats are not as comfy as CX-5 (tht's jus my personal preference, some ppl may like it)
-handling.. okay lahh easy to maneuver around city for a car of this size (even the sales person say my CX-5 handles better whistling.gif)
-boot is way smaller thn cx-5...

Conclusion:
Worth to buy? Yes, but not for now, reliability still a question mark but will definitely pick X70 over the H and T brands...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Jan 28 2019, 09:48 PM

QUOTE(Simple15 @ Jan 28 2019, 08:48 PM)
Yup, saw that in the first page, thanks.
Looks like a so-so spec.

Was recommended by the SA to upgrade to LLumar package worth RM4600 with discount of RM1000 (SA offered)

That means got to pay RM3600 for

1) 7 years warranty tint
2) car body coating, suppose to protect the car paint I guess?javascript:add_smilie(":confused:")
3) polish/coating the interior upholstery
Anyone comes across such offer?
I think u should do some survey urself 1st and maybe u can find a cheaper or better one for the same price... I don't trust those SA trying to hardsell coating and tinting packages, expensive but quality so so only.
Not A GTR fanboy
post Mar 25 2019, 04:52 PM

From what I've observe after a few months of trying different brand of Euro 5 diesel, here's how I ranked them according to brands (just my personal opinion, don't take it too seriously):
Caltex>Petron>Shell>BHP (I havent try Petronas as there are no Euro 5 diesel in my area)

Oh BTW, just found out tht Bermaz will bring in the 2.5 T AWD CX-5 this year (according to my SA) rclxm9.gif
Should have waited for it cry.gif, well at least im paying less for the road tax and fuel whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Not A GTR fanboy: Mar 25 2019, 04:52 PM
Not A GTR fanboy
post Mar 25 2019, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(buffa @ Mar 25 2019, 05:06 PM)
Woh, 2.5T, AWD somemore! (I just like AWD, dont care if it is useful or not tongue.gif)

Maybe we will follow taiwan that diesel 2.2 will be discontinued? Replace by turbo engine as top spec.
I doubt tht the 2.2 diesel will discontinued as its demand is high here... Maybe the 2.5T will priced 10k more thn the top spec 2.2 diesel?

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Mar 25 2019, 05:06 PM)
That 2.5T AWD will not be cheap.

I think it will priced around RM210k.
Well it depends whether its CBU or CKD... If CBU sure thn confirm is around 200k
If it is CKD thn will be around 180k and due to the fact tht CX-8 will also be locally assembled i dun think Bermaz will price the 2.5T CX-5 close to the 200k margin...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Mar 25 2019, 08:38 PM

QUOTE(drgnkid @ Mar 25 2019, 05:45 PM)
Sorry but how is it that you will be paying less roadtax? If you are comparing with 2.2D, you will be paying more coz, if not mistaken, 2.5T will still kena 2.5cc roadtax price no matter turbo or not. So judging from current 2.5NA roadtax, that is RM800+ compared to 2.2's RM500+

If you are comparing against the current 2.5NA, then should be the same roadtax price..

Correct me if I am wrong...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Im a 2.2D CX-5 owner myself smile.gif
Maybe its been too long since i last posted or visited this forum tht cause ur misunderstanding sweat.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 25 2019, 07:51 PM)
You are wrong boss.. A simple misunderstanding.. Re-read his last sentence again.. It'll make sense..  biggrin.gif
brows.gif
Not A GTR fanboy
post Mar 26 2019, 01:39 AM

QUOTE(zepherrxl @ Mar 26 2019, 12:55 AM)
Hi guys, I am not able to open the FC survey in the link provided on first page. Anyone of you did? Just wanna know is there a big difference in FC between 2.0 and 2.2d ? Thanks
Honestly its down to ur driving style
For diesel my average fuel consumption is around 11-12 km per liter (100% city drive)
Im not so sure about petrol but what I've heard from my uncle who owned a 2.0 GLS CX-5 is around 9 km per liter (100% city drive)
For highway driving both can achieve more than 600-650km per tank easily...
There isn't much of a difference in terms of FC in my opinion but keep in mind tht you may be spending less on fuel but more on service in the near future for the diesel variant and at the end its still the same story smile.gif
Not A GTR fanboy
post Apr 10 2019, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(de4ever @ Apr 9 2019, 08:28 PM)
Really? may i know where the news from?
Check from ur SA and i think thy all already have news regarding this matter.
Just depend on you willing to wait and spend tht extra few K for the updated model or take the existing model.

Here are some of the new things that will be available in the updated CX-5:
-360 degree camera
-Apple Carplay and Android Auto
-Digital instrument cluster
-GVC plus (not sure this will be available in Malaysia or not)
-New rims
-Very minor changes to the interior

*Note that I just take the ones that are most likely available in Malaysia cause Bermaz always like to "potong spec" compare to other countries...
Not A GTR fanboy
post Apr 27 2019, 11:42 AM

Just came back from service.
My salesperson told me that Bermaz MAY offer current 2nd gen CX-5 owners to have the option of retrofitting 360° camera in the future. Nothing is confirm yet...

0.2850sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:11 PM