ServerFreak or SiteGround?, For Business and Educational WP-based

TSNecroPhilia
post Jul 19 2018, 01:31 PM, updated 8y ago

979 posts

Hi guys, I am new to web hosting and planned to use wordpress theme to create my first business (educational) website.

Just wondering which one would be better for first time user?

Serverfreak seemed to have best customer service and their support are very helpful

SiteGround reputation seemed to be quite good except that several complains that once your site is heavy loaded, they will shut down due to high CPU usage.

Thank you so much for your insight and advise. notworthy.gif
RedShirt
post Jul 20 2018, 03:03 AM

515 posts

Depends on your usage. I am using shared hosting with Serverfreak, quite okay.

But if you are expecting very high usage and visitors, would suggest to get VPS hosting instead.

I am also using Exabytes, shared hosting and VPS hosting, so far so good too.

So far my clients' Wordpress websites are performing okay.

No idea about Siteground though, sorry.
regnessem
post Jul 20 2018, 09:30 AM

398 posts

You can't expect to run a heavy website on a shared hosting, so it is common for web hosting provider to suspend an account which uses way too much resources as the same resources needs to be shared among hundreds other account.

Both serverfreak and siteground are reputable company but I believe Siteground's server is in Singapore whereas serverfreak have servers in Malaysia.

Not that it is a big deal as I am also running my servers in SG and the latency difference is very low.
blurjoey
post Jul 20 2018, 09:47 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

I'm on Siteground's StartUp plan for my review site.

Quite ok. Support is quick and good.

Once got the high usage and my site went down. But back up in a few minutes after contacting support. I followed the support's advice to set some settings (can't remember what as it was a year ago) and was back to normal.
dvlzplayground
post Jul 21 2018, 10:01 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

Definitely go with SiteGround if the prices are okay for you. I think any shared hosting provider will shut down / suspend you if your traffic is overloaded, that's why it's important to know which kind of hosting to choose in the first place. You can always start with the most basic shared hosting and upgrade accordingly to VPS / cloud later on.
ladycooper
post Jul 24 2018, 04:18 PM

944 posts

Where do you expect most of your website visitors from?
Getting a server that is hosted nearer to majority of your website visitors is always a better option.
happy4ever
post Jul 24 2018, 05:19 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

For first time business, traffic usually kosong.

i'd go with serverfreak. service is better.

once your site has more visitors, can opt to upgrade it to cloud or other plans in serverfreak.

exabytes also ok, but service wise, serverfreak seems a bit better
leotorino
post Aug 2 2018, 04:58 PM

23 posts

Im using serverfreak service since 2010 n my shared hosting site never down. Paling syok they replied my enquiry at 3a.m.

0.0155sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:51 PM