Legit Maybank email used for phishing?

TSevilhomura89
post Jul 18 2018, 08:34 PM, updated 8y ago

5,886 posts

I've always received legit emails from Maybank indicating that funds has been transferred to my account via m2u@maybank.com.my
Today I received another email from this address asking me to review my account with a PDF attached to it (of course I didn't click on the link).

I suppose something has gone wrong somewhere, outlook failed to detect it as a spam/phishing email. It appeared in my focused inbox like usual.
You might want to warn those around you as those who are not tech-savvy might fall for it. Either way, I've forwarded the email to Maybank's phishing reporting department.

Normal legit email from Maybank

This suspicious email from the same email address

Phishing email PDF Content
ReaperX
post Jul 18 2018, 08:41 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

Thanks for the heads up.
LeonTan
post Jul 18 2018, 08:47 PM

**SHINE**
2,161 posts

normally all bank email I wont click any inside link in the email including credit card statement, all info I login bank account to check
UserU
post Jul 18 2018, 09:07 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

99% phish.

Number 1, banks would address you by name instead of the generic customer title and number 2, call the bank when in doubt.
cybpsych
post Jul 18 2018, 09:20 PM

---------------------
65,333 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 18 2018, 05:59 PM)
Does this email (m2u@maybank.com.my) legit from Maybank? Looks like a fraud mail to me hmm.gif

p/s: seems like I couldn't find anywhere suitable for me to post this issue, do let me know if there is.
same case
budi1413
post Jul 18 2018, 11:24 PM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Jul 18 2018, 09:07 PM)
99% phish.

Number 1, banks would address you by name instead of the generic customer title and number 2, call the bank when in doubt.
99.9%
Icehart
post Jul 19 2018, 01:10 AM

14,899 posts

Check the header. Most likely relayed through reputable SMTP providers hence it didn't end up in spam.
erald06
post Jul 19 2018, 08:53 AM

271 posts

The bank will not email you in any way if it is something important related to your account. They will send the usual snail mail to you or the branch will contact you.
jerm57
post Jul 19 2018, 10:29 AM

405 posts

Maybank email kena hack by davidmoore? Or maybe spoofed maybank email.
#Victor
post Jul 19 2018, 11:12 AM

4,672 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 18 2018, 09:20 PM)
same case
thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif Confirmed phishing rclxms.gif
TSevilhomura89
post Jul 19 2018, 04:01 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 19 2018, 01:10 AM)
Check the header. Most likely relayed through reputable SMTP providers hence it didn't end up in spam.
Ya that seems like the case
But from our end there's nothing much we can do, can't even blacklist the email address but take extra precaution not to click on anything suspicious

well technically u can still blacklist it but you won't be receiving those transaction related emails

This post has been edited by evilhomura89: Jul 19 2018, 04:02 PM
Srjkc
post Jul 20 2018, 04:04 PM

Does m2u send email to inform us transaction? I never received such email.
Archemedia
post Jul 20 2018, 09:12 PM

368 posts

maybank has 2 domains: maybank.com and maybank2u.com.my
so email would either be example@maybank.com or example@maybank2u.com.my

the email u received is not legit maybank domain. (maybank.com.my)

This post has been edited by Archemedia: Jul 20 2018, 09:12 PM
mrpotat
post Jul 22 2018, 08:22 PM

14 posts

there's no maybank.com.my

confirm phishing
lin@lowyat
post Jul 23 2018, 04:37 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jul 18 2018, 08:34 PM)
I've always received legit emails from Maybank indicating that funds has been transferred to my account via m2u@maybank.com.my
Today I received another email from this address asking me to review my account with a PDF attached to it (of course I didn't click on the link).

I suppose something has gone wrong somewhere, outlook failed to detect it as a spam/phishing email. It appeared in my focused inbox like usual.
You might want to warn those around you as those who are not tech-savvy might fall for it. Either way, I've forwarded the email to Maybank's phishing reporting department.

Normal legit email from Maybank
This suspicious email from the same email address

Phishing email PDF Content
this one confirm phishing lah..
next time check properly the sender.
btw, you click all the files/URLs, most likely you kena ransomware.
please update us in 3-5 days.

FarEast92
post Jul 23 2018, 04:43 PM

84 posts

sometimes the email looks legit but it not...
it got invisible characters in the email address...
budi1413
post Jul 24 2018, 11:33 AM

1,607 posts

domain can spoof bro. even phone number can spoof also.

0.0189sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:39 AM