Headphones/Earphones Recomendation Corner V2

widget
post Dec 2 2008, 08:54 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 2 2008, 08:39 PM)
Hi all sifu here, i looking a headphone for home use,which has better SQ in female vocal because i like female singer like emi fujita,susan wong, zhang jie li(china)...
Now targetting on MS1 or Audio technica product,i heard audio technica is good performance in female vocal,MS1 is more suitable to listen pop music,does it true?
Pls recommend me a HP which price range below RM600 which suit above criteria.I'm at singapore now,may b can drop to jaben has a test but at least should hav a list first,thanks.
Audio Technica ESW9 at S$370-380 might exceed your budget, but it has a warm sound that suit female vocal.
The cheaper ES7 (within your budget) has a harsher treble and a bit analytical as compared too ESW9.
I'm using ESW9 and some of my diet include Emi Fujita, Katie Melua, Jennifer Warnes, etc, so really recommend this headphone if you can up your budget.

Havent tried MS1, but I used to own SR-80.
The SR-80 is more for pop or rock as the sounds characteristics is very forward, i.e. more in-yer-face.....

This post has been edited by widget: Dec 2 2008, 08:58 PM
widget
post Dec 2 2008, 09:47 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 2 2008, 09:22 PM)
I know esw9 is much more better,but the price really cant afford.
even dt880 still cheaper than it.
now can only take a cheaper one then upgrade later lor.
singapore here hard to find 2nd hand esw9,always sold out very fast. rclxub.gif
any model that pricing in between esw9 & es7?
how about beyer ah?DT440?suitable for vocal?
Beyer ah?
I'm using DT880, 250-ohm for my home use and I'm sure the mid is not as smooth as ESW9.
The reason I'm using Beyer is coz my head is fairly large tongue.gif and this is the only closed headphone that I'm comfortable using for hours.
Not sure about DT440 coz I only tried the 770, 880 and 990 before decided to go for 880.
widget
post Dec 3 2008, 07:30 PM

1,156 posts

Senn and AKG are also suited for vocal, but Senn grip can be a bit tight for those with large head.
I've been listening to AKG 701 (loan set) for a few days and they sure sound nice on female vocal.
But the grip is still not as comfy as Beyer.
widget
post Dec 3 2008, 11:54 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Dec 3 2008, 11:43 PM)
sen r well known for the death grip but after seasoning they slide into yur head easily
i heard akg 701 great for vocals and slow and classical musics  rclxms.gif no doubt bout it
but finding an amp to pair with it aiyo  doh.gif really hard and like looking a needle in a haystack
graham slee novo,crossroad edge,even corda meier move even cannot drive akg 701 effeciently enough  sweat.gif
but rudistor and tubes amp heh no need to say ler  thumbup.gif showed up the bass when i playing limpbizkit  drool.gif
wahsai i love it when it shows its true color
for beyer yup great comfort and it is not warm and u can wear it for long hours
Used to own a cheaper Senn but still cannot take the death grip....
So my headphone choice is limited to Beyer, Grado and Audio-Technica.

Lately tried a seasoned AKG 701 and found that the grip is still tolerable, but damn difficult to drive as I'm using Darkvoice 336se at home.
I know it's the lower rung Darkvoice but dun wanna spend a fortune on tube, as I'm more into SS.
Thinking of ordering Corda Catente, but after trying Rudistor, becoming more confused tongue.gif
widget
post Dec 4 2008, 03:16 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Dec 4 2008, 01:05 PM)
what bout es7? hows the quality compared to ms1 and dt440?
the design for es7 nice...
ES7 has more analytical and upfront sounds if compared against it's more expensive sibling, i.e. ESW9.
ESW9 is well known for it luscious mid, which to me is very good for female vocal.
Also, ES7 is not as comfortable as ESW9 although the design is almost the same, minus the wooden cups.

Added on December 4, 2008, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2008, 02:16 AM)
no marnee ler.... saving for some other toy of a different nature now user posted image
Bro,

Order a custom-made DT990 from Beyer Manufaktur lah laugh.gif
If I really wanna get DT990, 600 ohm, I'll customize it to be all black....
Saw a picture of a black 990 with black cover, looks very stealthy. drool.gif

Just that I still prefer the sounds signature of 880 and you cannot change the steel cover to black, unlike 990.

Added on December 4, 2008, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(sep90 @ Dec 4 2008, 12:38 AM)
darkvoice 336 se?
imho it is the worst of the darkvoice except for the 1st ed
try all the darkvoices and the promising 1 is the 337,3322,336 1st ed only 332 is not bad
get the rudistor able to drive akg 701 using low gain at 2 oclock
great combination with akgs  thumbup.gif
Kinda regretted buying the DV 336Se.
I went for it as wanna venture into tubey, but definitely a wrong decision, that's why wanna go back to SS.
Rudistor or the cheaper Corda? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by widget: Dec 4 2008, 03:40 PM
widget
post Dec 4 2008, 07:36 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 4 2008, 07:16 PM)
first of all i already said i no marnee and saving for something else, lagi wanna ask me to order...

as for the black DT990... u think ive never considered it before meh?? if not how u think i know the price is 2k+? brows.gif
Haha!
Just wanna see you post a high-res photo of a black 990 if you decided to order one.... brows.gif
widget
post Dec 4 2008, 11:21 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 4 2008, 09:54 PM)

OMG....after reading i quickly google esw9, wow the design is sooo awesome! with black mirror finishing! cool.gif  can i know is this the real pic im referring to? can i know the price and preformance and where can i get it with best deal?

The pic is ES7, the cheaper sibling of ESW9.
ESW9 is wooden cups, not shiny black plastic.

But if your music selection is hip-hop and rock, maybe ES7 will suit you more as ESW9 has more warmer characteristic.
widget
post Dec 4 2008, 11:47 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 4 2008, 11:27 PM)
wow ESW9 cost rm1900! i though below rm800
and ESW7 i was aiming at rm450~ luckly is around there ...n thanks god ESW7 is the one i uploaded wrongly that i though is ESW9 haha

think i should focus on ESW7 how is the feedback on this baby?

p/s: saw pic for Shure E530 i thought is nice too n price around rm500 who knows rm1900 im going to faint! haha
ESW9 won't u cost that much.... maybe you're looking at the price of the limited edition ESW10Jpn?
ESW10 has darker wooden cup and diff. drivers compared to run-out-of-the-mill ESW9.

I've tried ES7 before but it's definitely not for me as the grip is not as comfy as ESW9.
With ESW9, I can use it for 2-3 hours in a/c room.
Sound wise, ES7 is more analytical, and the mid is not as luscious as ESW9.
If your music taste is mainly vocal, you should consider ESW9.
widget
post Dec 6 2008, 10:43 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 6 2008, 10:35 PM)
how much the brand new of esw9 selling in jaben now?
Should be < $400.
Got mine for ard $370 a few mths back, with some freebies from Wilson as I'm a regular there.
widget
post Dec 6 2008, 11:00 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 6 2008, 10:54 PM)
shit,i just get a 2nd hand 3month old esw9 with $300... doh.gif
If it's in mint condition, you can consider that you're getting an already burn-in headphone tongue.gif

0.0463sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:54 PM