Headphones/Earphones Recomendation Corner V2
sengchangko
Dec 12 2008, 09:45 PM

Another audiophile wannabe/newbie here. My "dream  " portable setup: 1. Shure SE530 2. RSA The Hornet 3. Ipod Line Out cable from ebay http://shop.ebay.com/items/_W0QQ_nkwZipodQ...QQ_fromZQQ_mdoZ (Need advice on which to get)Did I missed out anything important? Can this setup to be hook up to my laptop during work?  Hope to get as many advices as possible from the experts here before I proceed to purchase one.  Thanks in advance This post has been edited by sengchangko: Dec 12 2008, 09:54 PM
sengchangko
Dec 12 2008, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(bunyani @ Dec 12 2008, 10:09 PM) how bout get blackbird instead ..waakaka You nearly got me haha, sound so familiar. Blackbird guitar amp not headphone amp that I looking for This post has been edited by sengchangko: Dec 12 2008, 10:15 PM
sengchangko
Dec 12 2008, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(pierrecool @ Dec 12 2008, 11:03 PM) hey all sifus here.. juz wanna ask is anyone try the sony Extra Bass (XB) Headphones? today went to klcc for pcfair and also drop by to the sony wing, found this headphone there.. the pad is so comfortable... just wonder any comment about the sq... Extra Bass (XB) Headphones - MDR-XB500My 2 cent, way too much bass, Sony focused too much on improving the bass and the balance of overall sounds are all gone.
sengchangko
Dec 13 2008, 11:28 AM

QUOTE(sep90 @ Dec 13 2008, 12:08 AM) ever tot getting iqube for it since u r getting shure se530? shure pair incredible well with iqube....my experience since i got shure 530 with iqube  Sure bro, iqube has been stored in my consideration database QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 13 2008, 07:48 AM) Since you're getting an iPod LOD, I assume you'll be playing music straight out of your iPod Why would you want to connect it to your laptop then? ohh ok, that make all sense to me now, was thinking of playing from 2 sources (ipod and laptop) I guess the answer below explained it.QUOTE(sep90 @ Dec 13 2008, 09:51 AM) hmm i think u should get portable amp/dac if u r looking to connect to yur laptop iqube v2 is coming out with a dac rsa predator, headamp pico and govibe petite those may suit u since they have dac but it cost a bomb except the low entry govibe petite.... Agreed with you, cost is a big factor for me, did consider the desktop amp/dac but the price tag scared me away.
Thanks a lot guys for the kind feedback, appreciate it. Added on December 13, 2008, 12:18 pmI have a suggestion here, can we have some sort of voting counter within this thread? So people visiting this thread, regardless on which page the are in, they get to see the big list, voted result and approx prices. We could even list down option on where to get it locally and internationally. It can be divided it into few sections: A. Portable Amp (Approximated prices are based on online retails worldwide. Shipping fees, custom duties are not included)1. Meier Audio 2MOVE/3MOVE | Approx Price in RM: 810//940 1. Ray Samuel Audio The Hornet | Approx Price in RM: 1330 2. The Black Bird SR-71A | Approx Price in RM: 1620 3. iqube | Approx Price in RM: 1900 4. Voyager | Approx Price in RM: 940 5. HeadRoom Total AirHead/ Total Bithead | Approx Price in RM: 360/ 580 The lists goes on ...B. Portable/Desktop DAC/Amp (Approximated prices are based on online retails worldwide. Shipping fees, custom duties are not included)1. iqube v2c | Approx Price in RM: 2380 2. RSA Predator | Approx Price in RM: 1710 3. RSA Raptor | Approx Price in RM: 4230 4. Headamp Pico | Approx Price in RM: 1260 for amp only/ 1800 with the optional 24/96 USB DAC 5. Govibe Petite | Approx Price in RM: 720 And many many more ...C. Audiophile Headphones (Approximated prices are based on online retails worldwide. Shipping fees, custom duties are not included)1. AKG K701 | Approx Price in RM: 920 2. Audio Technica ATH-W5000 | Approx Price in RM: 2590 3. Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO | Approx Price in RM: 1000 4. Denon AH-D5000/Denon AH-D7000 | Approx Price in RM: 1660/3580 5. Grado GS 1000 | Approx Price in RM: 3580 6. Phiaton PS 500 | Approx Price in RM: 1080 7. Sennheiser HD650 | Approx Price in RM: 1780 8. Stax SR-007MK2 | Approx Price in RM: BOMB 9. Stax SR-007MK2 with amp | Approx Price in RM: NUCLEAR BOMB 10. Ultrasone Edition 9 | Approx Price in RM: 6480 Sorry to list down only expensive headphones, I was lucky enough to have a chance to tried most of it in Bic Camera Japan few months ago. We can all compile this big lists together ...D. In Ear Earphones(Approximated prices are based on online retails worldwide. Shipping fees, custom duties are not included)1. Shure SE530PTH | Approx Price in RM: 1200 2. Ultimate Ears Triple.fi 10 Pro | Approx Price in RM: 1260 3. Etymotic Research HF2 Earphones | Approx Price in RM: 630 4. Westone UM2 | Approx Price in RM: 980 5. Westone 3 | Approx Price in RM: 1440 6. Sleek Audio SA6 | Approx Price in RM: 720 7. Sennheiser IE 7 | Approx Price in RM: 1020 Make your earphones look even cooler http://www.budclicks.com/ To be updated ... E. Cables (Approximated prices are based on online retails worldwide. Shipping fees, custom duties are not included)I need helps ...Please advice/ correct me if I listed any info wrongly This post has been edited by sengchangko: Dec 13 2008, 06:42 PM
sengchangko
Dec 13 2008, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(bunyani @ Dec 13 2008, 12:32 PM) actually u want to buy headphone or iem? so why compare shure530 with other headphone? ok my blind pick if i have money.lol:- A- The Black Bird SR-71A B- RSA Predator C- Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO Thanks for pointed it out! lists updated I am saving up for SE530 and any portable amp at the moment, desktop system would come after that, Wawasan 2020 haha  Added on December 13, 2008, 2:33 pmQUOTE(Dybre @ Dec 13 2008, 02:19 PM) from all those list of amp above, i guess Voyager would be a good choice based on SQ and budget. by the way westone UM2 is sold for RM980 only by wallabies.  Wukai, updated!  Added on December 13, 2008, 2:37 pmQUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 13 2008, 01:55 PM) wow..the list way out of my budget! haha bro u really an Audiophiles  Most of the system out of my budget too, eating roti kosong and ais kosong now  , saving up to be qualified as a real wannabe Audiophiler  ... This post has been edited by sengchangko: Dec 13 2008, 02:38 PM
sengchangko
Dec 13 2008, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(sep90 @ Dec 13 2008, 09:33 PM) great at least ppl wont get misled by the price well if u wan to be an audiophile u must at least have attend 1 gathering and be recognized as one lol  Oya of coz, that was the best suggestion to date, at least I can go empty handed and have a look and test all the system you guys owned, what could be better than this haha? I AM IN!