PIMETA from Alamaklor if you like solidstates + portable/transportability.
Headphones/Earphones Recomendation Corner V2
May 24 2007, 04:10 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
PIMETA from Alamaklor if you like solidstates + portable/transportability.
May 24 2007, 06:02 PM
May 24 2007, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ May 24 2007, 06:31 PM) i say go for Davis's bulk- Canada PA2V2. RM222~! i strongly disagree.mini headamp +2xAA batt impressive batt life~ much warmer sound. No batt replacement fussy in future like Ipod. And Crossroad headamp which around price wif LDM+. Heard is pretty good budget type. For the same price, you can get a much better sound quality at a MUCH cheaper price For example, a Cmoy with tomahawk like configuration beats the PA2V2 both on sound quality and battery life. |
May 25 2007, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ May 25 2007, 12:30 PM) Little Ghost, Hey, how is me disagreeing with your opinion makes it bashing? My suggestion is the best solution to find out their searching in this forum. Not every DIY sifu likes to take CMOY order right now. Are all the DIY CMOY goin to be at top quality standard is another question. This is highly depends on mancraftwork as well. i am kindly providing information for User who wan the quickies. Dat's my initial motive. I dun see ur motive which strongly disagree up der Plus i dun bashing on others model as well??!! Did i? My motive is to encourage people to spend more wisely. The PA2V2 might only be worth it if you got it from the US and is seeking for product assurance, warranty only commercial companies can provide. I've both own and heard the PA2V2 before. The sound quality is terrible. Before I heard of anything better, I used to think the PA2V2 did not have a significant boost of performance was due to the my limited knowledge that the amp should not change the sound too much. However, I was very wrong after I know it's due to the crappy parts and design used and it was no better than my DAP's internal amp. Of course, it also happened because I have heard of something else that is better. Enough about my PA2V2 experience, here comes the solutions. Solution A: Where there are monies, there are desperate amp builders. If you've did more reading and researching you'll know that there are indeed more than one of DIY junkies out there that are more than willing to help you build an amp. PM and logic observation are all you need. Examples: Empire23 is offering mods for various DACs. Logically he should be able to build a simple yet good cmoy for money. There is also ijan, who built a few PIMETA lite for a few forumers before. Oh and Alamaklor has a complete dedicated bulk thread for his DIY amps. Some of them might not show his interests in building amps for money publically through dedicated threads but it's just as simple as shooting them a polite message enquiring whether they would do so for an amount of money. Solution B: Where there are demands for commercial products, there are yeah_guyz and Wallabies. (LOL I never knew wallabies is a word.) Both of them sell some pretty cheap commercial amps. Wallabies is selling the OPA227 based amp which is priced around RM150. I suspect it's something like a cmoy but anyway it's cheaper and is a commercial product. Other than that, yeah_guyz is selling Littledot products (hint: Little dot micro+). It's cheaper than the PA2V2 and should be considered an option. I've seen reviews preferring the LDM+ more than the PA2v2. Personally they are on par with each other. Which brings me to my first question, how is me disagreeing with your suggestion makes it bashing? It only means there are other options worth considering. Solution C: Adui, RM222 can also be invested on basic soldering tools and cmoy parts also mah. This solution is not applicable for everyone. To me RM222 counts as a budget to start a simple yet cheap DIY journey. I've counted the cost before, basic soldering tools + parts costs no more than RM100. Heck it includes a Digital Multimeter too. You have an extra RM100 for another max out amp once you finish your first cmoy. Yay! You has two amps! Again, I have to stress that this solution is not for everyone. It's a little bit time consuming, but damn worth it. Not only you learn a lot, but you finally get to fine tune sounds you really like and get really serious in this head-fi thingy. Dinodog_jr, my apologies if you felt my initial post were offending. I did not mean it that way. This post has been edited by LittleGhost: May 25 2007, 07:25 PM |
May 25 2007, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ May 25 2007, 08:40 PM) S'a: Waiting for a DIY sifu to customise a CMOY would be time consuming esp Waiting duration. And really depends on DIY maker's Mood. This is pleading someone to help u in special something. DIY is a Hobby more than a job thing. Unless they are doing as major income. Even though der would be a contribution's spirit. It won't last forever, rite?! Hence why I said it should start with observation and a polite private message. If the diyer isn't in the mood or time for the job, he would directly decline. It's just that simple. We also know if the price is right, we desperados (diy junkies) will surely do the job competently. (LOL It's true, the pain of lack of money is very apparent.) QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ May 25 2007, 08:40 PM) S'b: I stand on this solution more than solution A. This is exactly the information we need to sharing out for newcomers in this sub-forum. Nice recommendation of both trustful sellers- Yeah Guyz & Wallabies aka Uncle Wala. Impatient ppl simply makes ur order. Next 3 days, enjoy ur music. This is a nice way to support our generousity forumers who willing to go thru all the fussy procedures. It usually starts this way and ends this way: 1) OP asks for suggestion. 2) A person replies. 3) OP Needs more information and asks for detailed elaboration and ways to act on the solution 4) The person replies again. Clearly step 3 and 4 has yet to happen. Step 4 will happen if step 3 happens. How am I lacking when it comes to giving information? QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ May 25 2007, 08:40 PM) S'c: We don't have all the time in this world. Someone born to enjoy music. Some loves adventures such as DIY hobby. Some would impatient to try out something which they can afford at the moment. EDIT: On the first quote, i stated that we diyers are desperados. Anyone care to donate some money to us for the sake of this forum? Haha LOL. This post has been edited by LittleGhost: May 25 2007, 09:17 PM |
May 26 2007, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(walabies @ May 26 2007, 01:03 AM) You added another 'l'. It's a word but reducing a 'l' ease me for typing purpose. oddly, a lot of nicknames here automatically gets filtered through my brains and they usually end up with different word count or subtle changes. Example: PCWork becomes PCWorks, Walabies becomes Wallabies.And since when I become an uncle. My crossroad amp I'm selling is something more... better specs than the 'commercial amps' that are selling within this price range, just pain in @ss of the stupiak 9v battery we need. The sifus here make good amps but in order to move their lazy @ss you need to befriend with them first la. About the crossroad amp, do you have any official sites for that amp? I could not find it's official site. Type "crossroad amp" into google and i got irrelevant search results. |
May 26 2007, 02:29 PM
May 28 2007, 05:42 PM
May 28 2007, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ May 28 2007, 06:38 PM) there is You either go diy amp all the way or commercial amp all the way in a DIY amp vs commercial amp argument. On the contary, arguing about the options available is different. We include every single amp existed on this planet. Does not matter if it's commercial or diy amp as long as it sounds good and worth the marney. |
| Change to: | 0.0552sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:53 PM |