Headphones/Earphones Recomendation Corner V2

Enigmatic
post Sep 22 2007, 03:26 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Before going ahead to seek recommendations for my purchase, what do you guys think about me using my cellphone (803T Toshiba) as my portable audio device? I limits bitrates to 192Kbps on MP3, if I am not mistaken I can also encode music to be on AAC+/AAC format as well. (192kbps as well)

The big question is that I am planning to throw about RM200 to make my audio life more enjoyable, but is it advisable for me to do so, seeing most audiophiles here much prefer to use lossless sound quality, or really good audio equipments like Ipods and stuffs.

I am rather new in this area, so I hope seniors in this field may guide me as much as possible. smile.gif Thanks in advanced.

(My tests so far on my 803T with my SHP2700, bass had been reduced significantly, though much more thumpier, it sounds slightly ricer, less muddier than what I get on my laptop, have yet to get access to my desktop with a proper soundcard for further comparisions though.)
Enigmatic
post Sep 22 2007, 09:58 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Yup, I heard people say MylarThee is good even without amps. biggrin.gif
Well, AAC should do better than MP3. My ears are quite untrain of yet, so I might lose out noticing alot more details than people like you guys. *bitter laughs*

Sunway eh.. Hmmm.. Slightly far of from my place but I would go there if possible. smile.gif Any way to go there using public transport? Meeting you up eh? smile.gif

Well, not being persistant here, but what about headphones? smile.gif What headphones should be recommended? I was thinking of the HD201, just to train my ears to feel the difference between the SHP2700 and the HD201. Still a hell long way to train my ears. laugh.gif

PS: I'll drop a check on the ES5. Any good? smile.gif Me treble and clarity freak, I think. laugh.gif Not really a bass head but some good old thump will do good.

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Sep 22 2007, 10:00 AM
Enigmatic
post Sep 23 2007, 12:22 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Eh or maybe I go straight for PcWork's KSC75 recabled? biggrin.gif
Enigmatic
post Sep 23 2007, 02:53 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Alright then, it's settled. biggrin.gif Though more expensive, I think I will get my KSC75 from ALLIT first, wanna listen to the difference between after recabled and before recable. Hurmm.. At least train my ears a little.
Enigmatic
post Sep 23 2007, 10:46 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Sep 23 2007, 10:07 AM)
Hemm not sure whether AllIT still have the KSC75 bcos last week i went there and i couldn't find KSC75 (other koss products are still there)..
If I am not mistaken I just saw it two days ago, retailing at a bloodcut throat price of RM89. laugh.gif I'll go check again today probably. wink.gif
Enigmatic
post Sep 24 2007, 11:51 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

The HD201, from what I have heard so far, is good in clarity and details. Lacks slightly in bass. The Philips might do better for your friend. wink.gif Hmm.. The SHP8900 cost about RM200+- if I am not mistaken, right?
Enigmatic
post Jan 11 2008, 02:41 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

If you're aiming for an all rounder music player, the SHP2700 may serve you well. It is, however, a headphone, bulkier and harder to bring around compared to smaller earphones. Will be you moving around alot with your music source? smile.gif

I ain't too sure about earphones cause I am currently being poisoned to actually check on either the x3i or the xBi... Either that or I'd just go ahead splurge some RM700~RM800 on a full new speaker setup. xD Crap... audio upgrading year 2008.
Enigmatic
post Oct 3 2008, 12:23 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:47 PM)
I am newbie to Headphone. Need sifu here to advise  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Beyer Dynamics DT231 vs Audio Technica M30 (both price from rm180 - 200)

For entry level, which one is better? Of course Beyer Dynamics DT231 is award winning for entry level
Any other good one?

If both compare to Sennheiser: HD555 (price RM500-600)...peformance per price....will this HD555 is great investment...or other better unit???

This is my intention setting flow: Notebook => USB to coaxial signal converter => ZERO DAC preamp => headphone
(for travelling purpose)

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Hi ALPS2008,

I have currently both the ATH-M30 and the DT231, and also the SHP8900.
Currently burning in the M30 so I could come out with a good description for it. First impression is it's abit on the bassy side, hopefully some of it will lean down after some burning in. Interestingly the bass does not muffle up other ranges, eg vocals/instruments.

What songs do you usually listen to though?
Gah. I wanna try the HD555. Heard there's a simple mod to improve its soundstage.

Will you require your headphone to be able to isolate outside noise well, and also not let other people hear what you're listening to?
Enigmatic
post Oct 3 2008, 05:02 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

It's just a simple mod of removing the inner grill. smile.gif

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f4/soundstag...5-595-a-243907/

@ALPS2008

For those range, about RM200, SHP8900 from Davis. Bright pair of cans though, can be tiring after some time of usage. Lacks abit of bass but I find that's rather sweet for me. DT231 is warmer, bass is more prominent. Fun to listen though. ATH-M30 bass is slightly too much for me on my personal record, however, the sweet part is the bass doesn't overwhelm other ranges at all. Haven't tried movie test on them yet though. I may write a full review about all these three sub RM200 phones next week. smile.gif *abit too busy to describe much about them at the moment.*

Else, above RM200, SR80 (RM380++) is a good choice if you can get it, though might not be too comfortable if you're planning to wear it for extended periods ESPECIALLY if you have glasses. I can't comment much about the HD555 though, since I've never really tried it yet. Though I had been reading up a little on it. For RM500 you can get quite a few things actually, AD700/A700, MS-1, SR80, HD555, DT440. Hurrrrrmm..

Maybe if you're bored you can drop by my place or we meet up and audit my sub RM200 range phones la.
PS: How much isolation you need? Most of the recommended cans above are open based, except the DT231, M30 (superb isolation), A700. If I am not mistaken la.

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Oct 3 2008, 05:06 PM
Enigmatic
post Oct 4 2008, 11:21 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

SHP2700, KSC75 (try recabling it). Hurm... If you're using Ipods I'd assume that you're going portable alot? smile.gif Oh yea, Audio Technica ON3 looks funky too, though I can't say how they sound like.
Enigmatic
post Oct 5 2008, 12:08 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Sorry, but I ain't exactly the 'citizen' type of guy. laugh.gif

Still, that's a thing to bear in mind for hydrogenation's case especially if he goes portable alot, though the KSC75 is really too good to be missed out.

The ON3 and the SHP2700 may suit hydrogenation better, though the SHP2700's ear cup is much larger.
Enigmatic
post Oct 5 2008, 12:56 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(hydrogenation @ Oct 5 2008, 12:28 AM)
the SHP2700 is just what i'm looking for! thank you so much! would you happen to know roughly how much it would cost? i'm hitting the digital mall tmw, hopefully i'll find something there.

i really prefer those with the headband over those with the ear clip-ons, because they seem so much sturdier (and the clip-ons hurt my ears). bulkiness won't be much of a problem-- it's something i'm willing to sacrifice for good sound quality smile.gif i'm sick of those cheapo earbuds breaking after like a few months of usage. even my ipod in-ear earbuds (rm 200++ i believe) broke! i was so pissed :[

the ON3 is really sexy though. anyone know the price? or where to get one?

ps: i'm a girl tongue.gif
Damn.
I forgot to edit that 'he'.

Gah. Don't mind me. Too many traps around here lately. laugh.gif
SHP2700 is pretty sturdy if you ask me. *takes a glance on it lying on the floor* Hurmmm.. *kicks it aside* Yeap. Still works.

Oh one thing about the SHP2700, do you have long hair? Sometimes my hair gets clipped on it, just be abit mindful of that then.
It's price ranges about RM80 to RM100. Try to get it for about RM90+-, that should be a sweet spot. I got mine for RM100, slightly on the more expensive side, so you'd be clearer on how much to expect on it. You should be able to find it at Digital Mall la. No problem. Philip's a pretty consumer based brand afterall. laugh.gif

As for the ON3, you can get them from both Akabane or Walabies. Akabane's bringing in the Limited Editions one though. Tempting. Must.. Control... Must.. Save.. To.. Buy.. MS-1.. And.. Secret.. Amp...
Enigmatic
post Oct 12 2008, 02:35 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Hi cyew86,

For around RM85, the Koss should be one of your best bets.
Personally I have not tested anything which comes close to the Koss within that price range, YET.

Nor have I heard any recommendations other than the Koss for that price range which is deemed legendary. Well, the Philips SHP2xxx series may actually come close, though they're not as portable as one would think.

Hurm.. More testing to do I guess.
Enigmatic
post Oct 25 2008, 09:50 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

It retails for Rm75 in Sri Comp. smile.gif

Onboard soundcard don't drive the headphones that well.
If that's the case you can either get another soundcard or just tweak around your video player's settings to boost the volume. Media Player Classic allows you to do so. smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Nov 1 2008, 05:53 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(cupz @ Nov 1 2008, 04:57 PM)
Looking for headphone.

Budget: RM100-200

I prefer a headphone with comfort and has good sound and clarity. I'm wearing glasses and some of the headphones I tried squeezes my ear and it hurts after a while using it.

Thanks in advance for all reply(s).
In that case, you would want to grab circumaural headphones are they over around your ear, not on top of it. smile.gif
For that budget range, clip on earphones can do well for you too.

KSC-75 (buy from jiaxun, recable them from PcWork)
SHP8900 RM200 (RM140 sec hand in the forums)
SHP2700 (RM80+-)
Sennheiser HD201 (RM100 from bata)

First of all, what type of songs do you listen to? As those from the top have different sound signature.
Enigmatic
post Nov 1 2008, 07:16 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Movies, you'd want something with a large soundstage. smile.gif

I'd highly recommend you the SHP8900 then. However, prolong wearing will cause some sweating.
Enigmatic
post Nov 22 2008, 04:04 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

I believe what he meant was he doesn't like IEM, or canalphones, those which extends into your ears. smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Dec 13 2008, 10:43 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ Dec 13 2008, 02:34 AM)
there a headphone that quite good..tried at pc fair..(for 5 minute..cant test long enough..coz leakage noise makes me  doh.gif )..its pioneer se-a1000..at rm299..easy to drive..direct competition to hd555 n 595 (without amp)
You're tempting me.
Though the RM99 Pioneer sounds really dry and flat to me though.

Maybe it's just me and closed back cans. laugh.gif

0.0483sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:57 PM