Headphones/Earphones Recomendation Corner V2

sep90
post Dec 5 2008, 10:23 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(juniortit@n @ Dec 5 2008, 08:59 AM)
Plz recommend me a RM500-RM600 range headphone....i'm newbie here but i really wan to try out since i bored on multimedia speaker sound...

plz recommend me,any brand will do (AT,Senn,Bayer,AKG n etc)...

currently considering Alessandro MS-1 for around RM4xx...the remaining will go for DAC maybe...which DAC should i take???
u got yurself a good sen headphone there sweat.gif
why u need to get another headset?
with that budget get yurself a zero dac 1st or an amp
then yur sen will singing to u like an angel biggrin.gif
sep90
post Dec 5 2008, 10:45 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(juniortit@n @ Dec 5 2008, 10:32 AM)
really???then wat DAC or AMP should i go for???

budget around RM200..

saw walabies sell Crossroad portable PLD Amp at RM150...should i go for it??

n it is for pc usage coz i can't see the USB port...
get govibe petite ler or ibasso
not bad imo
got usb and dac
sep90
post Dec 5 2008, 03:17 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 5 2008, 02:36 PM)
@juniortit@n

so currently u have RM600 and....

Speaker: AEGO M 2.1@Edifier S2.1/S330
Sound Card: ESI@Juli Pro
Headphone: Sennheiser HD437

if i were u... this is what i'd do.

RM600
- Buy Audio Technica A700 or AD700 (depends on whether or not u want open or closed)
- i happen to find ATs to be good all rounders. practically everything sounds good on them. even gaming.

Speaker: AEGO M 2.1@Edifier S2.1/S330
- Keep la just in case u need them

Sound Card: ESI@Juli Pro
- u already have this SC and u wanna change to a DAC? why bother? The Juli@ is one of the few soundcards that can whoop a whole lot of DACs out there. save ur money and leave it where it is. the Go-Vibe DAC would be a downgrade compared to the Juli@ imho.

Headphone: Sennheiser HD437
- Sell this and use the money for a decent amp. although ive always said the the AT A series dont benefit much from an amp, they still do. albeit very little. and hell...u can always use that amp to power something else in the future. brows.gif

as for the HD437 they may be sennheisers, but senns arent all-rounders. and dont anybody dares try to challenge me on that statement. throw metal onto a sennheiser and instead of headbanging ull fall asleep. all rounder my ass la....
wahsai this will spark a flame war against sen fans and beyers fan sweat.gif dt990 is not all rounder and too bassy for me doh.gif here comes the pain
i tell u ler all yur songs r not meant for sen and akgs as well somemore i spit on yur mp3 format u listen to lossy format for wat? better u dun listen and u amp it in a such lossy format biggrin.gif
sen got its advantages and disadvantages u change the cable then it will sparkle and will be suitable for all genres
beyers as well i will mod it to darth beyers and u will c ler brows.gif
check my rigs? aledi madman
i got all 3 bloody cans all high ends 1 and happen to own an audio technica anc-7 quietpoint formerly b4 i sold it
so i know all these cans chararestic and i dare u to challenge me in hearing sony r10,stax omega II, stax lambda signature which u havent touch in once in a lifetime cool.gif whistling.gif
phew i need to chill out 1st icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 5, 2008, 3:20 pm
QUOTE(juniortit@n @ Dec 5 2008, 11:02 AM)
bro sep90..what is the difference btw the DAC n AMP??

i saw the govibe petite from walabies but he separate the DAC n AMP or combine it together...

it is necessary to take DAC + AMP...or i take standalone DAC then should be enough??

sry that i very poh poh ma ma coz i newbie here..
since u got julia soundcard they can act as a dac
get an decent amp
rm 500 u can get a good amp
jus check around here and ask walabies & yuheng bout their recommendation

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 5 2008, 03:20 PM
sep90
post Dec 5 2008, 03:28 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Dec 5 2008, 03:25 PM)
LOLZ!!!
MY WESTONE3 ARRIVED!!!
BALIK RUMAH TEAR THE STUFF OUT & BURN!!!
rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
pics bro...
proof of joining the new gang of WWW
sep90
post Dec 5 2008, 03:58 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 5 2008, 03:47 PM)
laugh.gif AAAWW!!! DIA SENSITIF!!!! wahahahahahahaha

chill bro...thats just my opinion..... doesnt mean im right... ur entitled to urs oso and it still doesnt mean ur right....

besides....u can own as much high end stuff as u want oso....at the end of the day, if i listen to it (IF i ever get to touch it in my lifetime as u insultingly said) , and if i dont like it means i dont like it... they can be the most high headphone in the world. watever brand it is.. if it sounds like shit to me itll sound like shit to me..high end or price, or brand doesnt matter...i dont like it means i dont like it... u can make as much love to it and bang it upside down as much as u want for all i care... i still wont like it. get wat i mean?

yer right about the DT990. its not a full all rounder. its extended bass and recessed mids makes it less of an all rounder. but at least for metal it still gives u the energy. its a fun headphone that makes u wanna bob ur head when listening to it. not the kind that will make u fall asleep.. its even good for orchestra type music etc. that more than makes it up for me imho. makes it more of an all rounder than the senns.

as for my MP3s... spit as much as u want ler...kasi kering itu air liur and ill give u a cup of water so u can spit somemore tongue.gif....the ones i brought to ur house are all from my car one ler... my car player cannot read FLAC (no car player can at the moment).

in office its mostly FLAC, unless i cant get them in flac then i listen to MP3s. besdides, do u know how hard it is to find FLAC files for metal songs? especially those obscure wans.... sheesh
also, i do not appreciate ur personal attacks and insults towards me. i never attacked anyone in particular.. my comments were solely based on MY opinion and experience towards sennheisers. if u dont like my thoughts on sennheiser, tough luck...live with it. the fact that ur a fanboy and u dont like my opinions isnt gonna change the fact that i dont like sennheisers and the fact i think theyre crap.

u can boast that u tried this n that... owned that n this... wat difference does it make to me? nothing. i will still think senns are crap for metal. also take note that all my opinions and comments on senns are based on metal. which is what I listen to. also take note that i have never said that senns are crap for other genres.

seriously... i will say what i want about senns because theyre MY opinions....if u accidentally ate the chilli... then go drink a cup of water and chill out. keep in mind... audio is subjective. and thats what im praticing.

icon_rolleyes.gif
lol hahaha biggrin.gif
lucky u r my best kaki in argument ler however it is getting out of hand
anyway i apologise if my words somehow offend u sorry bout that
anyway yeah ppl entitled to their own opinion and somehow i think u can get yur metals song if u order online or grab it from Tower Records
aside the price ler....
sep90
post Dec 9 2008, 11:11 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(zidane88 @ Dec 9 2008, 10:53 AM)
lol... well then, what brand do u recommend?
budget?
wan me to recommend something to u? brows.gif
sep90
post Dec 9 2008, 11:32 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Dec 9 2008, 11:15 AM)
now now...dont squeeze his wallet sep90... laugh.gif
lol i be extra gentle with u biggrin.gif
i promise tongue.gif

Added on December 9, 2008, 11:34 am
QUOTE(zidane88 @ Dec 9 2008, 11:25 AM)
biggrin.gif lol... below rm500 i suppose...
ok iems or portable cans?
sound signature ?
yur songs preference?

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 9 2008, 11:34 AM
sep90
post Dec 10 2008, 12:14 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(zidane88 @ Dec 9 2008, 12:11 PM)
Rock and pop.. I prefer a balance sound rather than strong bass type.
hmm for rm 500 budget
get a sen px 100 or 200 fall between yur budget portable can
um 1 is a bit above yur budget but nevertheless it is a good iem
Klipsch Custom 1 and 2 bout around yur budget and shure se110 as well
audio technica ATH-PRO5V and ATH-M30
anyway try them out 1st and decide for yurself

sep90
post Dec 10 2008, 01:14 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 9 2008, 11:32 PM)
can anyone recommend me a amp/dac/dac+amp for my esw9?
i still dunno shud go to solid amp or tube amp like little dot,btw,i see there is quite a lot of recommendation for the ibasso d2 boa.
does it really match with the esw9 taste?
yur budget 1st?
esw-9 is very good portable can i think u cant go wrong with ibasso
pico or predator may suits yur preference both got dac as well but cost a bomb
iqube v2 is very good and dac as well same as above a bit exp
little dot mk1 is not bad very cost effective but no dac btw
anyway u will need to hear it for yurself

sep90
post Dec 10 2008, 01:24 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(juniortit@n @ Dec 10 2008, 12:52 AM)
got ppl recommend to get AKG K141 Studio...it good in wat type of music ar??

just visit the website n it looks quite nice...
aik u again sweat.gif
if u like classical or slow music then akg is for u
but get the akg 701 if u can
great analytical and soundstage compare to sen hd650 but it can be excessive cold compare to sens and less bass and very hard to drive......
but if u can drive it with a good amp heh.....

sep90
post Dec 10 2008, 01:28 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(Dybre @ Dec 10 2008, 01:20 AM)
bro sep, have tried graham slee voyager before? compared with predator or pico?
yup
better than pico i felt onli disadvantages voyager is a bit bigger and doesnt have a dac
more subtle and timbre compare to pico
warm and very relaxing sound signature
pico is good for sweet mids and warm signature but loses to voyager and rudistor
both of them r more musical and has expandable soundstage compare to pico
predator well aggressive,fast punchy and superb soundstage
the sound signature keeps attacking u and very fatiguing to hear for a while

sep90
post Dec 10 2008, 01:56 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(Dybre @ Dec 10 2008, 01:45 AM)
what about compare to iQube? i wonder how much does voyager sold in jaben? not in a package. just the amp.
iqube maynot suit some ppl cos it is very very neutral amp compare to others amp
ask icy he has heard my deadly iqube b4.... brows.gif
drinking plain water i would say it sweat.gif
but true audiophile go for it cos they dont wan anything to color their sources and adding msg to their songs thumbup.gif
hmm i not sure check at jaben forum i think around 400 sg not sure

sep90
post Dec 11 2008, 12:42 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Dec 10 2008, 11:04 PM)
i'll goto 2nd hand dac+amp.
now targetting ibasso or even zero because i plan to match it with my laptop.
too many model in ibasso product line,which model of ibasso may suit my criteria?
this weekend will try go jaben giv a try for this 2 items.
but after uncle moved to his new place,too many new salesman inside make me quite uncomfortable... sweat.gif
if u planning to match with a desktop better get a zero dac
much better than ibasso
get an upgrade version or sun,earth,moon opamp and watch zero deliver powerful and justice performance to yur cans....
btw i using it as well with earth opamp and it doesnt dissapoint me whether i pair with my speakers or my millet hybrid max to my akg701,hd650 or dt880
it can make all of them to perform remarkablility thumbup.gif i think i in heaven lol with these guardian angels tongue.gif

Added on December 11, 2008, 12:49 am
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 10 2008, 11:33 PM)
brother, how u manage to get the price quote at jaben? i wonder am i visiting the correct Jaben website coz all the headphone/earphone price list is USD 0  smile.gif

btw, u from singapore?

besides ES7 what else is mid average at rm500 budget? 70% movies + 30% music~

cos i working in Sg that y biggrin.gif
each week i datang kacau uncle and try all his new stuffs tongue.gif now i think he scared of me aledi sweat.gif
hmm portable can issit?
dt 440 is not bad for a closed can but a bit bassy
audio technica anc-7 may suit u but too exp great for everything and it is a noise cancelling
sen 555 is great for music and movies as well gaming easy to drive but it is a open can
anyway go to Jaben and ask the fellas for recommendation
and usually they will tell u to forget yur budget and try 1st brows.gif

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 11 2008, 12:49 AM
sep90
post Dec 12 2008, 03:21 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Dec 12 2008, 11:35 AM)
saw more that sennheiser is cheap too!

Sennheiser

HD477
eH150
HD201
HD202

Which suits me best? my songs mainly harmony vocal group. (with the 2nd, 3rd high voice,and 3rd low voice)
get sen hd555 u will be happy biggrin.gif
sep90
post Dec 12 2008, 03:44 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(TeOtq @ Dec 12 2008, 03:35 PM)
nono,get hd650 with custom cable,u will fly~ thumbup.gif
nono get the hd650 with crystal cables and a tube amp with it
u will attend the level of immortality lol tongue.gif
sep90
post Dec 12 2008, 03:51 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 12 2008, 03:47 PM)
bleh.... get the Audio Technica A900 kow tim...

dont even need an amp like the Sennheiser HD650 tongue.gif
lol
better get w1 ler
woody and stylish and very very garang if u use it outside lol biggrin.gif
sure like ts
sep90
post Dec 12 2008, 04:38 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Dec 12 2008, 04:01 PM)
Aiseh come on guys, from HD202 naik till w1k.. My turn, get senn orpheus tongue.gif
well orpheus is crazy enuff sweat.gif
looking an amp to pair with it .........onli 10 amps onli could power the beast......
well i planning to mod my hd650 to this thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 12 2008, 06:54 PM

Attached image(s)
sep90
post Dec 13 2008, 12:08 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(sengchangko @ Dec 12 2008, 09:45 PM)
icon_question.gif Another audiophile wannabe/newbie here. 

My "dream drool.gif" portable setup:
1. Shure SE530
2. RSA The Hornet
3. Ipod Line Out cable from ebay
http://shop.ebay.com/items/_W0QQ_nkwZipodQ...QQ_fromZQQ_mdoZ (Need advice on which to get)

Did I missed out anything important? Can this setup to be hook up to my laptop during work?

notworthy.gif  Hope to get as many advices as possible from the experts here before I proceed to purchase one. notworthy.gif

cool.gif Thanks in advance  cool.gif
ever tot getting iqube for it since u r getting shure se530?
shure pair incredible well with iqube....my experience since i got shure 530 with iqube thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 13 2008, 12:09 AM
sep90
post Dec 13 2008, 09:51 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 13 2008, 07:48 AM)
Since you're getting an iPod LOD, I assume you'll be playing music straight out of your iPod
Why would you want to connect it to your laptop then?
hmm i think u should get portable amp/dac if u r looking to connect to yur laptop
iqube v2 is coming out with a dac
rsa predator, headamp pico and govibe petite
those may suit u since they have dac but it cost a bomb except the low entry govibe petite....
sep90
post Dec 13 2008, 09:33 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(sengchangko @ Dec 13 2008, 02:33 PM)
Thanks for pointed it out! lists updated thumbup.gif

I am saving up for SE530 and any portable amp at the moment, desktop system would come after that, Wawasan 2020 haha rclxub.gif

Added on December 13, 2008, 2:33 pm

Wukai, updated!   thumbup.gif

Added on December 13, 2008, 2:37 pm
Most of the system out of my budget too, eating roti kosong and ais kosong now  cry.gif , saving up to be qualified as a real wannabe Audiophiler  nod.gif  ...
great at least ppl wont get misled by the price thumbup.gif
well if u wan to be an audiophile u must at least have attend 1 gathering and be recognized as one lol biggrin.gif

Added on December 13, 2008, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Dec 13 2008, 01:55 PM)
wow..the list way out of my budget! haha bro u really an Audiophiles smile.gif

Added on December 13, 2008, 1:58 pm

haha is singapore Headphone/earphone cheaper than Malaysia? Where is Jaben actually? i might 1 2 pay a visit too is there's varieties to choose from  rclxms.gif  hope i wont poison too much hahahaha

Do they have ES7 there too? THanks
lo jaben is a sanctuary for all audiophiles......all audiophile knows bout them btw...
they aledi got esw10 there as well.... jus try it at the gathering imo it is better than previous model esw-9 ....

This post has been edited by sep90: Dec 13 2008, 09:37 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0238sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:24 PM