> Why don't UEC students take SPM/STPM ?, as private candidates

rickyro
post Jul 13 2018, 10:54 PM

908 posts

QUOTE(MRaef @ Jul 13 2018, 10:37 PM)
Question is, can these UEC holders converse well in Bahasa? Taking an exam is one thing, their communication and interaction among peers in Bahasa should be taken into consideration.
In Chong Hwa Independent, we took both SPM and UEC... Somemore we had to pay for sitting SPM exams, each subject RM20 if not mistaken
rickyro
post Jul 13 2018, 11:08 PM

908 posts

QUOTE(rd33 @ Jul 13 2018, 10:57 PM)
U don't even answer his question. U sure u understand English ? or u using google translate English to Chinese?
In terms of conversing well, yes we can, no problem making friends with other Malaysians from outside the school... Many scored A in SPM too...
rickyro
post Jul 13 2018, 11:34 PM

908 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Jul 13 2018, 11:20 PM)
Yes you can. But there are some (not sure is many or some) that can’t. I know a handful that just can’t speak bahasa and they don’t feel ashamed of it at all

As a cainis, this is why I don’t really support this UEC
i think those chinese independent schools that takes only UEC has malay language classes that is roughly 2 years behind what the SMK studies, i.e. syllabus of BM during form 5 in a chinese independent school is only equivalent to learning PMR BM.

but yeah... i did came across some students whom really failed in conversing in BM / English, almost purely "chinese speaking"
rickyro
post Jul 15 2018, 04:23 PM

908 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Jul 15 2018, 03:37 PM)
Good..  I do not have many Chinese friend since I went to SK.. could u advice whether your peers have issue grasping the Bahasa Malaysia? Or they excel on papers only?
My classmates had no problem conversing in BM, at least we dont talk like bahasa rempit. And our school passing rate for SPM BM is almost 100%.

I hope the long term plan is...

1) recognise UEC
2) slowly bring up SPM standard to be somewhere around UEC
3) abolish UEC
4) pursue sekolah wawasan, no more Chinese independent, tahfiz school, tahfiz secondary school etc etc

The problem i see now is many "ngo" or "opposition" is lacking the patience to let this new government to run the show. And it seems the general public dont know nuts what is UEC, and yet they put in so much racist/political dividing comments.

0.0146sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:26 AM