Lawn weedkiller without killing planted grass, Lawn maintenance

TSBerfda
post Jul 12 2018, 11:41 PM, updated 8y ago

27 posts

I planted cowgrass(axonopus compressus) in my lawn. Looks nice like a football field untill weeds started to invade. Any suggestion what type of herbicide can be use to kill the weeds without harming my lovely grass?
ozak
post Jul 13 2018, 09:41 AM

17,021 posts

Try check at ACE. I read some label on those weed killer chemical that sell in there. It seems to be able to kill the weed and leave the grass.
TSBerfda
post Jul 17 2018, 12:29 PM

27 posts

Yesterday I go to ACE.. but cant find any of it.. may I know what is the brand?

ozak
post Jul 17 2018, 02:57 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Berfda @ Jul 17 2018, 12:29 PM)
It is at the lawn and garden section. Come in a spray form.

I didn't see what is the name or brand. I read the content only.
enriquelee
post Jul 18 2018, 09:22 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

To me the only way to battle weed is still manual plugging in daily or at least weekly manner.
irsyadfy
post Jul 18 2018, 09:37 AM

219 posts

same problem here.

penat woo weekly cabut.
aeiou228
post Jul 18 2018, 12:09 PM

5,867 posts

I'm not sure if there is such herbicide is able to do selective killing. But I do know that GMO soy, canola, corn wheat and etc by Monsanto are genetically modified crops that are glyphosate resistant. Glyphosate is the generic name of Round-up by Monsanto, a very popular systemic herbicide. The farmers blanket spray the Round-Up to the crops to kill only the weeds but spare the GMO crops. That's why ppl sket eating GMO glyphosate-resistant food. Maybe Monsanto should come out with GMO glyphosate-resistant cowgrass seeds
TSBerfda
post Jul 19 2018, 10:27 PM

27 posts

If there is glyphosate resistance cowgrass, that will be great.. in fact, most farmers especially in rubber estates will use glyphosate to kill cowgrass without harming their rubber tree
TSBerfda
post Jul 19 2018, 10:32 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jul 18 2018, 09:22 AM)
To me the only way to battle weed is still manual plugging in daily or at least weekly manner.
Agree with you but I cant tahan doing that anymore.
Wonder how they control weeds at school football field. mostly school field use this type of grass..I dont think the gardener will pluck all the weeds by hand like every weeks
enriquelee
post Jul 20 2018, 10:54 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(Berfda @ Jul 19 2018, 10:32 PM)
Wonder how they control weeds at school football field. mostly school field use this type of grass..I dont think the gardener will pluck all the weeds by hand like every weeks
Football field i think they just leave with it.
TSBerfda
post Jul 21 2018, 08:20 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jul 20 2018, 10:54 AM)
Football field i think they just leave with it.
:-) :-) :-)

aeiou228
post Jul 21 2018, 09:03 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Berfda @ Jul 19 2018, 10:27 PM)
If there is glyphosate resistance cowgrass, that will be great.. in fact, most farmers especially in rubber estates will use glyphosate to kill cowgrass without harming their rubber tree
Glyphosate is a systemic base herbicide, need green surface to absorb the herbicide down to the root system, that's why matured rubber tree or any other plants with thick brown bark will not be harmed.

QUOTE(Berfda @ Jul 19 2018, 10:32 PM)
Right, they don't pluck, they use lawn mover. The higher grown weeds got cut over and over again and eventually die off leaving only the grass.
ozak
post Jul 23 2018, 04:42 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Berfda @ Jul 17 2018, 12:29 PM)
From ACE

From Daiso

irsyadfy
post Jul 23 2018, 04:52 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 23 2018, 04:42 PM)