How to buy cheap ASUS RT-AC68U router, come have a look

prokiller1199
post Jul 22 2018, 09:44 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(matt_rix @ Jul 12 2018, 10:32 PM)
Since unifi is providing free upgrade soon, i guess everyone is looking to upgrade their router to get the best possible result.

i recently got my a refurbished unit of ASUS RT-AC68U from taobao for around rm 300. delivery will take around 2 weeks to reach my doorstep.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ns=1&abbucket=7

For those who cant read chinese (like me), i use google translate to help me during the payment process

A quick search at taobao also revealed asus rt-ac86u at around rm 500~

Anyone had experience buying this router from taobao can also share your experience here

hope this helps  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
link dead.
prokiller1199
post Jul 23 2018, 02:38 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Jul 23 2018, 02:24 PM)
What about this?

Well, anyone here bought from TaoBao as well?

Mind to share your experience?  hmm.gif
this new.
prokiller1199
post Jul 30 2018, 10:22 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jul 30 2018, 09:41 PM)
you meant the local seller bought from taobao n sale at price 899 with 3 years warranty ?

can provide link Pls ...
thanks ...
rmb899 or rm899
prokiller1199
post Aug 11 2018, 08:23 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Aug 11 2018, 08:22 PM)
Is a 14 month old RT-AC3200 for RM 550 a good price ?
definitely!
prokiller1199
post Aug 20 2018, 10:23 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Aug 20 2018, 08:24 AM)
Anyone still buying...?
I wanna share and is from KL....cant read a word of Chinese to order from Tmall
I'm not buying but I can guide you for the Chinese words
prokiller1199
post Oct 18 2018, 06:53 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(cwk0713 @ Oct 18 2018, 06:01 PM)
Found one AC68U with AC88U antenna and free fan for RM 364, 1 GHZ cpu, US import...

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=5148.7...&id=37530771525

What's the differences between AC68U, AC68P and AC1900P??
woww..
prokiller1199
post Oct 18 2018, 09:53 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(cwk0713 @ Oct 18 2018, 07:01 PM)
Added in my cart and wait till 11-11 for further discounts...
I seriously don't know how these taobao seller makes profits!!!
seems it is a good deal. dont know performance how.
prokiller1199
post Oct 21 2018, 06:42 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Oct 21 2018, 05:31 PM)
hi guys, I got good some good thing to share with you all guys for who bought Asus router from China.
I was found a method to switch this China router to Asia Pacific version.
I was noticed that this router only got 2 languages only. Either English or Simplfied Chinese. So I guess I need to do something tricks to change the region of this router firmware to Asia version.
**Unfortunately, the region will restore back to China region after reboot. So you need to redo this method again.

First of all, you need to login into your router and switch on telnet. Go to administration > system, then switch telnet to "Yes"
[attachmentid=10078627]

Then download and install Putty here
https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatha...tty/latest.html

Start Putty, then login 192.168.1.1 as telnet mode and leave port as 23
[attachmentid=10078630]

Now login your router with your router username and admin password [your router password]. You will see the screen as below:
[attachmentid=10078641]

Now type this,
nvram set territory_code=AP/01
nvram=commit

[attachmentid=10078642]

Now login your router through browser and check for the change
Some of the proof:
as you know, China was blocked Google play.
[attachmentid=10078648]

before that, only got English and Chinese Simplified
[attachmentid=10078649]

The wifi region is no longer showing China as default region.
[attachmentid=10078650]
good info!
prokiller1199
post Nov 14 2018, 05:56 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Nov 13 2018, 11:30 PM)
my status.....
we almost identical distance, haha but mine not router

prokiller1199
post Nov 23 2018, 02:48 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Nov 23 2018, 02:39 AM)
depends on devices and distance away from the router.

my Oneplus 6 can get 400mbps+ if very near the router.

Usually around 200 to 300mbps
yeah me too.
prokiller1199
post Dec 4 2018, 12:36 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Dec 4 2018, 12:12 AM)
need help my router cannot connect
rmb to select unifi profile at LAN -> IPTV
prokiller1199
post Jan 19 2019, 02:42 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

anyone selling their 86u?
prokiller1199
post Jan 24 2019, 11:33 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(PS3 @ Jan 24 2019, 10:55 PM)
I ordered AC86 last Wed, Jan 16 but it’s already 8 days. Status still on Tue, Jan 22, shipped to your destination country. Some of you quite lucky to get it within a few days.

The international tracking number not yet available on the shipping page!
now almost cny confirm la. according to my china forwarder all their warehouse full af. they mentioned more things to ship that 11.11 or 12.12
prokiller1199
post Mar 28 2019, 10:01 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Mar 28 2019, 05:37 PM)
i wanted to buy the below but how to apply the angpow and how to ask the seller whether i will get the free gift as stated:

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...aad33b6e4b8cf6b
link cannot open...
prokiller1199
post Apr 2 2020, 08:33 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 2 2020, 05:26 PM)
Care to elaborate a bit more? Cause I couldn't find the "Device" setting/option from my desktop router login...

TQVM... notworthy.gif
u have to click the computer icon above the client then from right side find those u want block and turn on the switch
prokiller1199
post Jun 2 2021, 03:56 AM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Oct 21 2018, 05:31 PM)
hi guys, I got good some good thing to share with you all guys for who bought Asus router from China.
I was found a method to switch this China router to Asia Pacific version.
I was noticed that this router only got 2 languages only. Either English or Simplfied Chinese. So I guess I need to do something tricks to change the region of this router firmware to Asia version.
**Unfortunately, the region will restore back to China region after reboot. So you need to redo this method again.

First of all, you need to login into your router and switch on telnet. Go to administration > system, then switch telnet to "Yes"
[attachmentid=10078627]

Then download and install Putty here
https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatha...tty/latest.html

Start Putty, then login 192.168.1.1 as telnet mode and leave port as 23
[attachmentid=10078630]

Now login your router with your router username and admin password [your router password]. You will see the screen as below:
[attachmentid=10078641]

Now type this,
nvram set territory_code=AP/01
nvram=commit

[attachmentid=10078642]

Now login your router through browser and check for the change
Some of the proof:
as you know, China was blocked Google play.
[attachmentid=10078648]

before that, only got English and Chinese Simplified
[attachmentid=10078649]

The wifi region is no longer showing China as default region.
[attachmentid=10078650]
does the region revert back after reboot?
prokiller1199
post Jun 3 2021, 04:50 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Jun 3 2021, 10:50 AM)
You can edit your cfe here to make it region free - https://cfeditor.feng.si
86u cfe can edit there?
prokiller1199
post Jun 3 2021, 04:58 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jun 3 2021, 12:04 AM)
yes, it will revert because the region was hardware locked.
Okay thanks.
prokiller1199
post Jun 3 2021, 05:44 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Jun 3 2021, 05:41 PM)
No the AC86U CFE is encrypted.
yaya that's why
prokiller1199
post Jun 3 2021, 05:44 PM

Hi there.
966 posts