LYN Christian Fellowship V14 (Group)

thomasthai
post Sep 12 2019, 08:21 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Sep 12 2019, 08:12 PM)
I don't know if this is off topic, but does anyone knows of how to be born again ? Seems like that is the only way to Salvation.
Let me ask you, did you cause your own physical birth?
thomasthai
post Sep 12 2019, 09:42 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Sep 12 2019, 09:28 PM)
You are correct for the first 2 parts. However you and other Calvinists forget are that humans are not robots. We have something called free will. We have to cooperate with the graces necessary for salvation which God will certainly give to those who ask Him. A mortal sin is a deliberate rejection of God. What did the scriptures say when one has fallen from grace? See the life of King David, the parable of the pharisee and the publican and you will get your answer.
This is always the objection for Calvinism, we are not robots and we have free will.

Calvin in fact, did not deny free will. In his work the institutes of the christian life he said that.

The problem is this, left to ourselves and our own free will, we are all headed to hell.

Without the intervention and regeneration by God, we will never come to faith in the Lord.

And you He  made  alive,  who were dead in trespasses and sins, in which you once walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit who now works in the sons of disobedience, among whom also we all once conducted ourselves in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, just as the others. But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),
Ephesians 2:1‭-‬5 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/eph.2.1-5.NKJV

We were all dead in sin, and it is God who made us alive (regeneration). Can a dead man raise himself? No!

The total depravity of men is so clear here I don't understand how people can understand it any other way. Paul said the same thing twice here, in case anybody missed it.

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 12 2019, 09:44 PM
thomasthai
post Sep 16 2019, 07:19 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Sep 15 2019, 05:30 PM)
Bro,

Of course not. What I was trying to imply with that was, if only all of us was born again of the Spirit of God, there would be much rejoicing. 😊
Of course, but back to your original question on how to be born again, the answer is you can't.

Just as you did not caused anything for your physical birth, you cannot cause anything for your spiritual birth. God does that.

It is the Holy Spirit's ministry to cause regeneration.
thomasthai
post Sep 16 2019, 08:40 AM

321 posts

I think the bottom line of the discussion between prophetjul and unknownwarrior is not on salvation, (we all agree that salvation is based on the merits of Christ, not our own, ie our works), but the doctrine of sanctification.

Or more specifically, who causes a believer's sanctification?

To fail to recognise justification and sanctification, we will end up messing up the gospel itself, like what happened to the catholic church.

When we try to sanctify ourselves by our own might, we will always tend to impugn the finished works of Christ, and we will fall into thinking that we are doing anything to contribute to our salvation.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.  For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.  Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.
Romans 8:28‭-‬30 KJV
https://bible.com/bible/1/rom.8.28-30.KJV

This has been called the golden chain of salvation. We see that salvation is predestinated, initiated, and completed by God. No one takes credit for his salvation, and no salvation will lost by anyone.

What about sanctification? How and who does it? Let's look at a helpful illustration by our Lord himself.

After that, He poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded. Then He came to Simon Peter. And Peter said to Him, “Lord, are You washing my feet?” Jesus answered and said to him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.” Peter said to Him, “You shall never wash my feet!” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me.” Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head!” Jesus said to him, “He who is bathed needs only to wash his feet, but is completely clean; and you are clean, but not all of you.”
John 13:5‭-‬10 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/jhn.13.5-10.NKJV

What is this washing of feet by Jesus that Peter did not understand that time?

Break it down into points:
1) All who have taken a bath is already clean
2) There's some dirt that have been picked up by the feet, only needs their feet cleaned.
3) Jesus does the cleaning.
4) Who they do not let Jesus clean them, they have to part in Him.

This is an illustration by Jesus sanctifying His believers. Jesus Himself does the cleaning. It doesn't mean that they have lost their salvation when they picked up some dirt with their feet.

So how does Jesus sanctify His believers?

Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth.
John 17:17 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/jhn.17.17.NKJV

We are sanctified by the Word of God. Only when we know His word, the Holy Spirit can do His ministry of sanctification.

Or in humanly words, the Spirit binds our conscience with the truth, and gives us the internal restraint to refrain from the works of the flesh.

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.
II Corinthians 3:18 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/2co.3.18.NKJV
Are you so foolish? Having begun in the Spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh?
Galatians 3:3 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/gal.3.3.NKJV

I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.
Galatians 5:16‭-‬18 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/gal.5.16-18.NKJV

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.
Colossians 3:16 NKJV
https://bible.com/bible/114/col.3.16.NKJV

Jesus sanctifies the believers when they dwell in His word and walk in the Spirit.

There are much more that can be said, I'll save it for next time.

May the peace of the Lord be with us all.
thomasthai
post Sep 16 2019, 08:58 AM

321 posts

In the modern evangelical churches, sound expositional preaching of the Word has been replaced by experience, feel good sermons, motivation talks, lovey dovey messages.

The preaching of the Word is where believers should sit under and is a main channel of sanctification.

Believers are drinking kool aid instead of real food of the Word.

That's one of the greatest grieve I have for these churches today.

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 16 2019, 09:05 AM
thomasthai
post Sep 17 2019, 09:02 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Sep 16 2019, 11:20 AM)
Just curious. Is the real food of the Word perfect?  Or the food of the word is not perfect.

So the "food of the Word" contains this text?
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.biblegatew...V&interface=amp

With the footnotes as such?
1 Timothy 3:16 Greek Who; some manuscripts God; others Which

Just curious.

What is the difference between
[B[God[/B] was manifest in the flesh
Versus
[B/He[/B][a] was manifested in the flesh,
Versus
Who was manifest in the flesh
Versus
[B]Which[/B[ was manifest in the flesh

So the ESV cannot even identify the entity that is manifest in the flesh?

So tell me. How have you really benefited from the "food of the Word " then.  And I dun mean from the pastor or any other sources but directly from the "food of the Word".

Because if you are only hearing from second hand sources, it's no better then what those guys are experiencing.

Do you even search the scriptures like the bereans do or you just assume whatever the authority figure tell you is true.

Be honest.
Granted, my opinion on 1 Tim 3.16 is that the TR/KJV is the correct one (we can tell it's a scribal shorthand error). Even so, from the context we know Christ was manifested in flesh.

I have been speaking to some overseas greek scholars in the textual critic field for the past year or so, although they think that the word of God is better preserved in the Byzantine/TR texts, they don't hold that there is a 'perfect' manuscript.

Every word and reading of every manuscript still needs to be compared and sorted, and they reckon there are probably still years of work to be done.

If you hold that the KJV bible is 'perfect', you have to say that the translators of the KJV, with imperfect and multiple versions of TR manuscripts, managed to create a perfect text, and therefore are equally inspired as the new testament writers?

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 17 2019, 09:14 AM
thomasthai
post Sep 17 2019, 09:41 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Sep 16 2019, 11:56 AM)
While we are on it,
Is there a differences between those 2 passages.
KJV
5 Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:

7 But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:

ESV
5 Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus,[a] 6 who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, 7 but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.

Are you sure they both passages preaches the same doctrine as you claim?

So the Jesus could not even understand why He is God. Does it make sense?

But of course, ESV is the better version right?

How about you answer those questions first. So that at least I "know" which is the "word of God" I should follow.

By the way. Is "made himself of no reputation" the same thing as "emptied himself"

What does "emptied himsellf" actually mean? Do you know in Yoga meditation, people actually "emptied themself"

So should I go and do Yoga meditation then.

The Bible supports "Yoga meditation"?

Maybe before criticizing other churches, one should look at one owns self right?
The base word of robbery here in both Alexandrian and TR is the same, harpazo.

Can be translated as to rob, to seize, to grasp, to snatch, to retain.

The context has to explain the meaning here.

Then to empty Himself, all greek texts (even in the TR texts, KJV based text) word by word translation is heauton ekenosen, self empties. Nothing about reputation here. This is a case of the KJV translators putting their theology into the text.

I used this to check the TR texts. You are welcome to check ny sources:

https://www.scripture4all.org/OnlineInterli...Greek_Index.htm

This post has been edited by thomasthai: Sep 17 2019, 09:51 AM

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0639sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:38 PM