Upgrading bike, CBR250R to Versys650 or else

TSDoomHammer
post Jul 10 2018, 01:54 PM, updated 6y ago

225 posts

Hi bikers,
Currently I am looking forward to upgrade my bike from CBR250R (2014) to the new Versys 650.
I need confirmation: Kawasaki does not sell ABS model here? because I really wish to have ABS due to my past 'close call' experience ( my CBR does not have ABS).
Let say I just forget about Versys because of no ABS and opted for Suzuki V-strom 650 which comes with ABS, how about the maintenance of this Suzy? long term wise?
I am using this bike for daily commute only; 140km/day. Please advise. TQ.

hong3831
post Jul 10 2018, 02:44 PM

314 posts

Some mudah ads i saw indicate come with ABS. Have you check with shop yet?
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 10 2018, 02:47 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 10 2018, 02:40 PM)
Suzuki has a rather small market share here. so part and maintenance may be an issue unless u know exactly where to go.

I still feel kawasaki is the safest bet in terms of parts etc.

as for versys 650abs... not sure if it comes with it though.. some googling doesnt really show anything other than this website: https://www.zigwheels.my/new-motorcycles/kawasaki/versys-650

another option to look at is the Z650 or the new ninja 650 which comes standard with ABS though u will have to accesorize it to a more touring style (if thats ur thing) by fitting in larger windscreens, taller handle bars etc
what in gods name are u doing in this sub forum then? sheesh doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
I have confirmed Malaysia Versys 650 does not come with ABS.
I like the new look of Z650 and Ninja 650 but I prefer touring bike like versys/cb500x/vstrom. Now still in survey mode for Suzuki parts availability.
High probability I will go for Versys.
basilisk
post Jul 10 2018, 02:50 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 10 2018, 02:47 PM)
I have confirmed Malaysia Versys 650 does not come with ABS.
I like the new look of Z650 and Ninja 650 but I prefer touring bike like versys/cb500x/vstrom. Now still in survey mode for Suzuki parts availability.
High probability I will go for Versys.
yes confirm no abs.

there is a difference in between versys 650 and vstrom 650.

the ride quality and handling etc. all u can find @ angmo reviews, utubes, forums, and also local vstrom fb group where many versys owners have changed to vstrom...

TSDoomHammer
post Jul 10 2018, 02:50 PM

225 posts

BTW, this shop is ok or not?
KHM, KIAN HUAT MARKETING SDN BHD
(PADANG JAWA, SHAH ALAM)

basilisk
post Jul 10 2018, 02:54 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 10 2018, 02:50 PM)
(PADANG JAWA, SHAH ALAM)
for susuki go to sin seng huat... or eang chun setapak

some comparisons

https://ridermagazine.com/2017/09/14/2017-k...comparo-review/

https://advrider.com/index.php?threads/v-st...650-or.1067285/

these features.. versys ada kar ??

Specification of Vstrom New
1) Comes With Traction Control
2) Suzuki Easy Start Button
3) Low RPM Assist
4) New Outlook Like Vstrom 1000
5) Power Outlet Charger
6) Voltage Meter
7) More HorsePower !
8) Comes With ABS !
Read more at https://www.mudah.my/2018+Vstrom+650+Loan+E...kA43Vdkdum3Y.99

This post has been edited by basilisk: Jul 10 2018, 03:03 PM
lowpro
post Jul 10 2018, 03:41 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 10 2018, 02:40 PM)

what in gods name are u doing in this sub forum then? sheesh doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
LOL lol.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lowpro: Jul 10 2018, 03:42 PM
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 10 2018, 03:59 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 10 2018, 02:54 PM)
for susuki go to sin seng huat... or eang chun setapak
some comparisons

https://ridermagazine.com/2017/09/14/2017-k...comparo-review/

https://advrider.com/index.php?threads/v-st...650-or.1067285/
these features.. versys ada kar ??

Specification of Vstrom New
1) Comes With Traction Control
2) Suzuki Easy Start Button
3) Low RPM Assist
4) New Outlook Like Vstrom 1000
5) Power Outlet Charger
6) Voltage Meter
7) More HorsePower !
8) Comes With ABS !
Read more at https://www.mudah.my/2018+Vstrom+650+Loan+E...kA43Vdkdum3Y.99
wub.gif
haturaya
post Jul 10 2018, 06:35 PM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 10 2018, 02:50 PM)
(PADANG JAWA, SHAH ALAM)
I bought 2 modenas & 2 scooters there before. Never had any experience with big bike though.

That was long time ago. Till now the shop keep sending me SMS greeting seasonal greeting card and birthday wishes. whistling.gif

My friend bough his MT-09 there 3 years ago.

For me it's just another bike shop.
ramdieslow
post Jul 13 2018, 03:58 AM

121 posts

Please get any bikes with ABS. Confirm will not regret

I used to ride Duke 200 with ABS, now riding Z650.

Feedback from otai also favor ABS
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 13 2018, 03:28 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(ramdieslow @ Jul 13 2018, 03:58 AM)
Please get any bikes with ABS. Confirm will not regret

I used to ride Duke 200 with ABS, now riding Z650.

Feedback from otai also favor ABS
Yes this is one of the reason why I want to change my bike
haturaya
post Jul 13 2018, 04:25 PM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 13 2018, 03:28 PM)
Yes this is one of the reason why I want to change my bike
ABS is a must. thumbup.gif

I did slam on my Rebel's brake last month. Moronic driver that indicate left but changed to right lane ranting.gif (I was on right lane). No skidding, the wheels just rolls. thumbup.gif
latipbogiba
post Jul 16 2018, 09:18 AM

94 posts

Go 1000 terus ts. 650 u bawak sekejap je lepas tu tak puas.
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 17 2018, 12:27 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Jul 13 2018, 04:25 PM)
ABS is a must.  thumbup.gif

I did slam on my Rebel's brake last month. Moronic driver that indicate left but changed to right lane  ranting.gif  (I was on right lane). No skidding, the wheels just rolls.  thumbup.gif
Wow... thank god
haturaya
post Jul 17 2018, 07:45 AM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 17 2018, 12:27 AM)
Wow... thank god
Yah. Thank God. rclxm9.gif

The road still wet, after rain. The speed hovering around 80-90km/h. When I slam on the brakes, I can feel the ABS unit pulsating, regulating the brakes. No wheel locking. thumbup.gif Pheeew. Damn car vmad.gif

I can't imagine if on that day I was on my PCX instead of Rebel. sweat.gif Sure lost control & slides / drop the bike...

This post has been edited by haturaya: Jul 17 2018, 07:46 AM
xswatch
post Jul 17 2018, 07:51 AM

489 posts

yeah bro. go for vstrom. I had nvx as spare bike (got front abs). test brake with my friend riding versys650 months ago. very wet road, speed set at 80kmph.bothbike do hard braking (front immediately slammed 100% force, back 50%). my small scooter still stable while versys650 almost fall down due to wheel locking. my friend had to put both foot down to control the bike. nvx braking distance also shorter.
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 17 2018, 10:14 AM

225 posts

Yesterday I surveyed the on the road price for Versys 650 around my home. The quoted price is around 39k+ (with a few free gift).
salesman told me the price will not exceed 40k.
On d road price for Tracer MT09 is around 51k -eyeing for this but the price is beyond my budget.

I wonder how much is the on the road price for Vstrom650Xt? unable to survey for this bike because no Suzy dealer around home.

This post has been edited by DoomHammer: Jul 17 2018, 10:15 AM
basilisk
post Jul 17 2018, 10:52 AM

30 posts

u can pm watsap call eang chun..
TSDoomHammer
post Jul 17 2018, 01:06 PM

225 posts

This shop is ok? I want to survey here

ICITY MOTOWORLD SDN BHD Shah Alam
haturaya
post Jul 17 2018, 04:57 PM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 17 2018, 01:06 PM)
This shop is ok? I want to survey here
ICITY MOTOWORLD SDN BHD Shah Alam
I've been to that shop before. Helping a friend buying his 'kapchai'.

The sales guy ok. Hassle free deal. Maybe because it's just a 2nd hand 'kapchai', cash. sweat.gif

0.0142sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:28 PM