Technical Xbox Live – which country did you pick?

TSatomica
post Jul 9 2018, 03:33 PM, updated 8y ago

340 posts

Used to be an avid Xbox 360 gamer but then I switched to PS4. Now feel like going back and probably want to get the Xbox One X.

My big question – which country did you pick for Xbox Live?

I chose Singapore when I was using Xbox 360 but I notice now it's much harder to get Xbox Live credit, as Xbox not popular anymore.

I plan to get most of my games digitally so appreciate any advice.

Thanks!
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 9 2018, 04:35 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jul 9 2018, 03:33 PM)
Used to be an avid Xbox 360 gamer but then I switched to PS4. Now feel like going back and probably want to get the Xbox One X.

My big question – which country did you pick for Xbox Live?

I chose Singapore when I was using Xbox 360 but I notice now it's much harder to get Xbox Live credit, as Xbox not popular anymore.

I plan to get most of my games digitally so appreciate any advice.

Thanks!
change it to US. easier to find cheaper rate gift card/credit.
very seldom pay 1:1. I always find mine cheaper. pay $45 get $50 whistling.gif
TSatomica
post Jul 9 2018, 04:55 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 9 2018, 04:35 PM)
change it to US. easier to find cheaper rate gift card/credit.
very seldom pay 1:1. I always find mine cheaper. pay $45 get $50  whistling.gif
Thanks for recommendation ... but are those cards legit though. Always worried might get banned.

In any case, I think I should change region to US to make things easier. Just hope Xbox makes it easy.
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 9 2018, 05:30 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jul 9 2018, 04:55 PM)
Thanks for recommendation ... but are those cards legit though. Always worried might get banned.

In any case, I think I should change region to US to make things easier. Just hope Xbox makes it easy.
I havent got banned. started buying them since Aug 2015 when I got my Xbox One. bought maybe $400-600 for myself. another $500-800 for my friends/side income. a few 12 months XBLG here & there.
encounter some shady sites like G2A. just need to check out their reviews & other views about that site. can gamble but better make a paypal account. they can back you up if those sites bail on you. if you wanna be safe you can always buy from amazon/xbox.com
TSatomica
post Jul 9 2018, 05:42 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 9 2018, 05:30 PM)
I havent got banned. started buying them since Aug 2015 when I got my Xbox One. bought maybe $400-600 for myself. another $500-800 for my friends/side income. a few 12 months XBLG here & there.
encounter some shady sites like G2A. just need to check out their reviews & other views about that site. can gamble but better make a paypal account. they can back you up if those sites bail on you. if you wanna be safe you can always buy from amazon/xbox.com
Just found out that if I change region, I will forfeit my balance. Luckily not much.

May I know where you get your credits from?

Thanks!
TSatomica
post Jul 9 2018, 05:43 PM

340 posts

And I have an added complication -- I also use the same account on my PC./
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 10 2018, 09:57 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jul 9 2018, 05:42 PM)
Just found out that if I change region, I will forfeit my balance. Luckily not much.

Thanks!
nope. they dont forfeit mine

nokeys(not so much discount now), cdkeys(can get 5% discount on fb), & sometimes watever people of reddit suggest.

yeah. my windows 10 account & xbox account are the same. both are under Microsoft. so no problem imo
unless you dont want to mix gaming & work then make a new account for either one lor
TSatomica
post Jul 10 2018, 06:37 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 10 2018, 09:57 AM)
nope. they dont forfeit mine

nokeys(not so much discount now), cdkeys(can get 5% discount on fb), & sometimes watever people of reddit suggest.

yeah. my windows 10 account & xbox account are the same. both are under Microsoft. so no problem imo
unless you dont want to mix gaming & work then make a new account for either one lor
Interesting info. May I know if you changed the region of your console or your Xbox Live account?
DoomHammer
post Jul 12 2018, 02:22 PM

228 posts

US
TSatomica
post Jul 12 2018, 06:41 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(DoomHammer @ Jul 12 2018, 02:22 PM)
US
Thanks. Did you change the region of your console or your account?

DoomHammer
post Jul 13 2018, 03:29 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jul 12 2018, 06:41 PM)
Thanks. Did you change the region of your console or your account?
Both
izaman
post Jul 16 2018, 05:01 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jul 9 2018, 05:42 PM)

Thanks!
dont think so. i always change region nearly everytime i buy new game
stevenlee
post Oct 8 2018, 11:45 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

Is this game site trusted ? Anyone buy from them before
Find it quite cheap. How about play-Asia.com ? Anyone try before as well to buy game

http://www.gamezone.com.my/products/xbox-l...mail--no-refund

This post has been edited by stevenlee: Oct 8 2018, 11:48 AM
iguana_dude_619
post Oct 9 2018, 05:33 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Oct 8 2018, 11:45 AM)
Is this game site trusted ? Anyone buy from them before
Find it quite cheap. How about play-Asia.com ? Anyone try before as well to buy game
http://www.gamezone.com.my/products/xbox-l...mail--no-refund
never try this website yet. hmm.gif
most site I tried get their gift/xbl gold from shady grey market sources anyway brows.gif tongue.gif
cdkeys, nokeys, g2a. to me as long as they have a paypal system Im cool. can just contact paypal & request to refund my order.
imagine get 12 + 1 months XBL Gold cheaper then PS+ MY RM129 rclxm9.gif
if you want secure site try buy from Amazon. they do some time make sale like buy XBLG 3 months for 15 pounds get 10 pounds gift card for free
Deathhunter
post Oct 9 2018, 06:11 PM

217 posts

I use US & SG
offgamers.com/

I buy from here, they are really trusted (spend around 500RM already on diff wallet cards)

This post has been edited by Deathhunter: Oct 9 2018, 06:13 PM
stevenlee
post Oct 10 2018, 11:23 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

Finally buy from cdkey currently the cheaper after compare.. USD45 after discount code for 1 year account
rhysrolf
post Nov 11 2018, 02:20 PM

Hi, I just purchased xbox with 2 free game code.
Not sure which region i should redeem them in.
Question 1 : If i redeem under japan region, the language will stuck with japanese?

Question 2 : I read that most credit card cannot be used for purchasing digital games, which debit card is recommended?

Question 3 : Will i lose xbox one digital games when region changed?

This post has been edited by rhysrolf: Nov 11 2018, 03:44 PM
tripleB
post Nov 11 2018, 08:51 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(rhysrolf @ Nov 11 2018, 02:20 PM)
Hi, I just purchased xbox with 2 free game code.
Not sure which region i should redeem them in.
Question 1 : If i redeem under japan region, the language will stuck with japanese?

Question 2 : I read that most credit card cannot be used for purchasing digital games, which debit card is recommended?

Question 3 : Will i lose xbox one digital games when region changed?
1. Xbox One games are pretty much the same wherever you buy/redeem from, since there are no longer region restrictions like the old days. As long as your Xbox is set to the language you want to use, it will download the local language of the game.

2. That's not accurate. I don't have any issue using my credit card to buy digital games directly from Xbox Live. I've bought using Citibank and Maybank with no issues. I can't be sure about other banks though.

3. All your purchases should carry over when you change region. I haven't tried it recently, but the last time when I changed my region from Singapore to US, all my games are still in the account. BUT, any credits you have in the account will not carry over to the new region.
rhysrolf
post Nov 15 2018, 06:20 PM

QUOTE(tripleB @ Nov 11 2018, 08:51 PM)
1. Xbox One games are pretty much the same wherever you buy/redeem from, since there are no longer region restrictions like the old days. As long as your Xbox is set to the language you want to use, it will download the local language of the game.

2. That's not accurate. I don't have any issue using my credit card to buy digital games directly from Xbox Live. I've bought using Citibank and Maybank with no issues. I can't be sure about other banks though.

3. All your purchases should carry over when you change region. I haven't tried it recently, but the last time when I changed my region from Singapore to US, all my games are still in the account. BUT, any credits you have in the account will not carry over to the new region.
I tried to purchase game from singapore store with cc.
Got rejected with "We can't process your payment"

Can i buy M rated titles with gift card ?
rhysrolf
post Nov 15 2018, 10:17 PM

my cc got charged sgd2 even though trx failed doh.gif

I bought gift card from seagm instead.

The code cannot redeem on website, must redeem on console.

0.0212sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:45 PM