MacOS X Other Active Apple Forum, Reliable and Informative

TSAppleMacUser
post May 23 2007, 11:53 AM, updated 19y ago

30 posts

I dont mean to offend anybody here in LYnet. But seems that there are sometimes too many repeatition of topics herein that need to be solve by so-called MacUser here. I was thinking, rather than asking people left right centre on the solutions, maybe as a newbie they need to be more independent. It is not all the time people can spoon feed others.

So... out of my courtesy, for those who need to know MORE on Mac and other stuffs that may relates to Mac, you might need to go and search at he address given below:-

http://www.macusersg.org/forums/index.php

Most answer can be found there... all you need to do is SEARCH.
kevler
post May 23 2007, 01:33 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

try http://www.mactalk.com.au

Added on May 23, 2007, 1:34 pmmymug.org

This post has been edited by kevler: May 23 2007, 01:34 PM
xaw5126
post May 23 2007, 07:24 PM

3,488 posts

actually, the problem is some people here don't want to google or do any kind of search.

none of us are getting paid to help anyone else here, so at the very least, go search ler...
kevler
post May 23 2007, 07:28 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ May 23 2007, 07:24 PM)
actually, the problem is some people here don't want to google or do any kind of search. 

none of us are getting paid to help anyone else here, so at the very least, go search ler...
he is just junior in LYN ..so we "beri muka" to him ..

later he/she will learn ..how google able to spice his/her life drool.gif
TSAppleMacUser
post May 24 2007, 09:48 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ May 23 2007, 07:28 PM)
..how google able to spice his/her life  drool.gif
Actually it can. I becoming macuser through google. I had this problem of phobia in using PC that afraid of unintentional mis-configurating windows with the result of losing datas. Its happen so many times as well as virus and what-not.

This is soooo frustrating...! It just so happen that I googled an Apple product back then and decided to give it a "go" in buying my first eMac... thinking it haing the same OS as windows. To my surprise, it is NOT and making me more frustrated as NOBODY can teach me how to use it neither can anybody assist me in configurating it.

I learn MacOS by myself and I started with OS9 up to Jaguar. Today you guys are very fortunate as you have a forum to ask or just by searching or googling it through the net. Further, Mac is not an alien to our local people nowadays comparing to 5 years ago.

So, be more resourceful my Mac fellow!!!! Use google on your Safari... thats the least you can do. rclxms.gif
tishaban
post May 24 2007, 10:18 AM

3,615 posts

It's annoying when people decide to ask online when google or other resources are more accurate. I guess only the lazy people (myself included) biggrin.gif hang out on LYN, the good ones are in the other forums maybe? biggrin.gif

youngkies
post May 24 2007, 10:26 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 24 2007, 10:18 AM)
It's annoying when people decide to ask online when google or other resources are more accurate. I guess only the lazy people (myself included) biggrin.gif hang out on LYN, the good ones are in the other forums maybe? biggrin.gif
Sometimes it is quite hard to search in thousands of posts in some forum, that is why creating a new topic, ask and get answer directly is way easier than searching here and there. But that is applicable to not so frequent problem and troubleshooting. Else solution for common problems can be easily found on google if the right keyword is used.

Well, it is great for senior member to help newbie too. If not how can I have 5k post count tongue.gif Except sometime it is boring to see the same repeated questions again and again.

Another very great mac site that I love: insanelymac thumbup.gif
TSAppleMacUser
post May 24 2007, 10:33 AM

30 posts

It is to be mindful that before one can ask about solution on their problems, better make sure what are the problems are. Some people just ask question on general basis. Kind of hard for others to figure out which area or target of solutions that may applicable.

So, do some search first, specify the problem area or target then ask question specifically on that area. Easier to solve and easy to answer.
youngkies
post May 24 2007, 10:39 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(AppleMacUser @ May 24 2007, 10:33 AM)
It is to be mindful that before one can ask about solution on their problems, better make sure what are the problems are. Some people just ask question on general basis. Kind of hard for others to figure out which area or target of solutions that may applicable.

So, do some search first, specify the problem area or target then ask question specifically on that area. Easier to solve and easy to answer.
that is where the fun kick in. start from diagnosis to the the possible cause to the possible solutions to possible outcome.

anyway what is the purpose of this thread? sharing/promoting good mac website?
TSAppleMacUser
post May 24 2007, 10:44 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ May 24 2007, 10:39 AM)
anyway what is the purpose of this thread? sharing/promoting good mac website?
Depends on how people see it. But to me, promoting MacOSX is one of it. But the crucial part is to share relevant website that may help the newbies instead of jumping in and start to ask question that has been repeatedly being asked by others without doing some search.
wei
post May 24 2007, 11:07 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Personally i wont take lowyat.net as an Apple forum to begin with, it's just an IT forum with an Apple sub section.

Regarding on help, internet is not the only way. There's always real life friends & communities that share. Worse come to worse, there's Apple support line.
TSAppleMacUser
post May 24 2007, 11:35 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 24 2007, 11:07 AM)
Personally i wont take lowyat.net as an Apple forum to begin with, it's just an IT forum with an Apple sub section.

Regarding on help, internet is not the only way. There's always real life friends & communities that share. Worse come to worse, there's Apple support line.
Bull's eye! rclxms.gif
youngkies
post May 24 2007, 01:15 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 24 2007, 11:07 AM)

Apart of that. Apple support site is already great, with it's discussion corner:

http://discussions.apple.com/index.jspa
wei
post May 24 2007, 01:52 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

But I found that their response is a bit slow. Maybe due to timeline different.
I still prefer forum like MacNN, macrumors, macosxhints & so on.
danfaiz
post Jun 19 2007, 09:49 AM

hi, this is my first post in a very long time. personally, i like MSJ, apart from LYN la. because the "discussions" there are very good tongue.gif

*edited in an attempt to obscure any reference to the non-existent mac-related favourite site.

This post has been edited by danfaiz: Jun 20 2007, 03:37 AM
allvin
post Jun 19 2007, 01:53 PM

4,506 posts

@danfaiz, i think you better delete the link. That forum is "ehem" and lyn don't support illegal stuff.. wink.gif

0.0168sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:42 PM