want to buy 250cc bike, tax free period

haturaya
post Jul 5 2018, 09:35 PM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2018, 06:18 PM)
actually i just use it to commute short distance maybe less than 20km lol. currently using modenas ct100 and honda scooter. suffering lel
20km is nothing... very short distance. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jul 5 2018, 08:18 PM)
250cc a bit overkill for you...unless u planned for a fun ride during weekend sweat.gif
Nah... I use my Rebel 500 to go to work... 7 - 8 km one way only... whistling.gif Covering less than 20km a day. But once a month I ride solo to Kelantan, 1,000km 2-3 days return trip. whistling.gif
TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 5 2018, 11:44 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jul 5 2018, 08:18 PM)
250cc a bit overkill for you...unless u planned for a fun ride during weekend sweat.gif
yea i know. many said buy sym 200cc scooter more comfort, but im also looking for the wow factor when drive to mamak hahahah.
im looking at second hand market now

e_X
post Jul 5 2018, 11:48 PM

584 posts

Consider Honda Rebel 500 RM29,000.00.
haturaya
post Jul 6 2018, 07:17 AM

2,469 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2018, 11:44 PM)
yea i know. many said buy sym 200cc scooter more comfort, but im also looking for the wow factor when drive to mamak hahahah.
Plenty... make it a habit of checking on Mudah every morning. If there's one, grab it quick because good one (everything stock, no modification) wont last. Normally it will be gone (sold) within a day or two. This is based on my brother's experience finding his Z250 last year. A lot out there, but heavily modded.

QUOTE(e_X @ Jul 5 2018, 11:48 PM)
Consider Honda Rebel 500 RM29,000.00.
Yah go for it. One vote from me. thumbup.gif

PS - My biased vote towards Rebel 500 because I use one whistling.gif sweat.gif
arthur88
post Jul 6 2018, 07:22 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jul 5 2018, 10:27 AM)
Buy 2nd hand.. its always tax free.....

trust us.. 2nd hand 250cc bike wont regret, you will get over it very fast. No point buy new..

Unless you are willing stay in B2 class license for life...

Now for the bike recommendation:

1. Kawa Z250 cheap to maintain (not as cheap as kapchai but its cheaper compare to other Jepuns brand)
2. Benelli TNT 250.. Twin also .. sounds like bigger bike since its using 360 firing order but its Chinese bike basically, you need to do more research on bike reliability and spare parts availability in MY
3. Yamaha R25 twin Fastest compare to the rest, look handsome baby R1, but engine maintenance is on the high side since its tuned for performance, valve clearance every 10k Km and so on..

Beside that, most of the 250 are single bore cylinder (Yamaha XMAX, KTM duke 250, Honda CBR 250, Honda CB250R (new))
enlighten me on the bold part...is that necessary?

been riding R25 for 2 years+ now...
leon898
post Jul 6 2018, 08:31 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2018, 11:44 PM)
nothing 'wow' if you drive 250 sweat.gif
if 25k is your budget, try hunting versys/er6n/er6f in secondhand market... my friend just bought er6n for 14k

TSimperialrealcs
post Jul 6 2018, 08:47 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jul 6 2018, 08:31 AM)
nothing 'wow' if you drive 250 sweat.gif
if 25k is your budget, try hunting versys/er6n/er6f in secondhand market... my friend just bought er6n for 14k
for bike ppl of course not wow. but for common masses should be good enough. no plan to get higher than B2 license. far distance normally i drive car but sometimes i need a quick ride to downtown for some simple stuff so is better i ride a bike
leon898
post Jul 6 2018, 09:42 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 6 2018, 08:47 AM)
for bike ppl of course not wow. but for common masses should be good enough. no plan to get higher than B2 license. far distance normally i drive car but sometimes i need a quick ride to downtown for some simple stuff so is better i ride a bike
ya...later can go funride with group...many people regretted buying first 250 bike..

croomaniac
post Jul 6 2018, 10:40 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jul 6 2018, 09:42 AM)
ya...later can go funride with group...many people regretted buying first 250 bike..
that is because the maintenance cost is as much as (or about the same) with other 'big bikes' (read: > 500cc bikes), but the power is lesser (well, at least half of the power) that you can get from that 250 cc bikes
skincladalien
post Jul 6 2018, 11:33 AM

Densha Otaku
1,913 posts

how about something like Kawasaki Z300? is it same as those 250?
Quazacolt
post Jul 6 2018, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Jul 6 2018, 07:22 AM)
enlighten me on the bold part...is that necessary?

been riding R25 for 2 years+ now...
Depends on how you ride and matter of luck

I 3 months not riding cuz engine dead lol
21k km bike

0.0124sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:46 PM