How much Apple iBook/Powerbook repair cost?

TSCreativeJoe
post May 23 2007, 02:43 AM, updated 19y ago

18 posts

Actually i'm planning to buy 2nd ibook G4...
The condition is ok.. but i'm afraid if somethings happen soon..
so i want to know much minimum or maximum price we must pay at the service center..

maybe forumers can give the problem with the price you pay too... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by CreativeJoe: May 23 2007, 02:43 AM
AppleMacUser
post May 23 2007, 09:11 AM

30 posts

It is utmost impossible for anybody to answer this question. The costs will definitely depends on kind of repair needed, the specs and the costs of the hardware that may involve. As for example, if your memory gone, need to change to new one. Since DDR Sodimm for speed of 333 is not going to be stagnantly at the current price. As such, if possible, kindly enlighten us with the kind of problems that you can think off.
musha01
post May 23 2007, 09:59 AM

207 posts

yes you can pm me what is our MAC problem,
then i can see our special apple technician and PM you the price...

please msg or email me as my contact email stated in my signature below

AppleMacUser
post May 23 2007, 11:42 AM

30 posts

By the way... why people in this forum always refer Macintosh as "MAC" rather than "Mac"??? All am concern that MAC refers to something else... Check out MacUser in other forum or other country, they all refer Macintosh as Mac and NOT "MAC".
wei
post May 23 2007, 11:58 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Not everyone ok? wink.gif

On the repair part... logiboard & LCD cost the most (if you go back to Apple). Cost is RM1k above (don't point finger to me, I'm just giving example from my experience).
vandetta
post May 23 2007, 04:35 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(AppleMacUser @ May 23 2007, 11:42 AM)
By the way... why people in this forum always refer Macintosh as "MAC" rather than "Mac"??? All am concern that MAC refers to something else... Check out MacUser in other forum or other country, they all refer Macintosh as Mac and NOT "MAC".
You're concerning about very little problem la. Some forum I enter spell Windows as Windoze, Unix as *nix, Man Utd as Man U, but who cares? As long as people in this forum can understood it's OK.

Back to topic, I repaired my iBook's Optical drive, it cost me around RM200. Not change to new one but repair only. Very pricey rite?
TSCreativeJoe
post May 23 2007, 05:05 PM

18 posts

yup, its totally and very pricey than normal pc... biggrin.gif
still thinking about it..
tishaban
post May 23 2007, 10:51 PM

3,615 posts

Also, check out parts prices in pbfixit.com. This will give you an idea of how much parts costs in the US. Assume that they cost more in Malaysia biggrin.gif

Can you give us an idea of how much you're willing to pay and how old the iBook G4 is?

AppleMacUser
post May 24 2007, 09:31 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ May 23 2007, 04:35 PM)
You're concerning about very little problem la. Some forum I enter spell Windows as Windoze, Unix as *nix, Man Utd as Man U, but who cares?
I do care. Though a little word or phrase.... no matter how hard we try, still MAC does not mean as Macintosh. This is the attitude of Macuser that need to be change. Try to be more resourceful rather than comparing ourself to other OS user. This is simple thing... if one simple thing cannot be think off... how can other people rely on us??

Anyway, repairing iBook or PB is depending on where you sent it. As much as the hardware costs is concern, the costs is varied to each of the center. But if I must, please be mindful that if you wanted to repair those machine with no warranty, just go to any computer technician that literate with Mac. To be frank, Mac especially on G4, its not so difficult or any much different from other normal computer except the arcitechtural design itself. Here you can have or bargain the cost of repairing it.

But if you dare, wanted to repair DIY, just google the net and find the diagram or pic that may applicable for the repair. PBfixit.com is one of the best web for who dares to do DIY repairing. I know it for sure as I do it myself too by referring to this web... till now most of my eMacs, iBooks and PB are still in good condition if not new.

But if there is warranty, sent it in to Apple Centre for free.
f2f
post May 25 2007, 05:44 AM

22 posts

Yup, PBfixit.com is great website for DIY..

This post has been edited by f2f: May 25 2007, 05:46 AM
AppleMacUser
post May 25 2007, 09:22 AM

30 posts

Any G4 machine is still applicable nowadays.... but make sure that we upgrade the Memory to the highest end, it will be more convenient. Until today, am still sceptical of MacIntel machine and I dont know why.

0.0186sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:55 PM