FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

kbandito
post Aug 13 2019, 09:57 AM

1,181 posts

Spent all day building my retirement plan and here is the projection:
1) Both spouse and I work until 45 yo and accumulate RM2.5mil in EPF. EPF dividend rate at inflation + 1%;
2) Expand our property portfolio to RM3 mil in next 3 years. Capital appreciation at inflation +1.5%, net property yield at inflation -1.5% p.a.

We should be able to FIRE at 45 yo with EPF being 35% of retirement portfolio and the rest from property.
Living standard is same as our current level which is rather comfortable, and that should last us until 90 years old.
Medical insurance premium is included, children education and own accommodation is budgeted separately from retirement portfolio.
Additional savings and investment return is a bonus.

Why property to lead to portfolio?
Assuming 10% downpayment and 5% transaction cost, a property that generates 2.5% net rental yield and appreciation by just 4% per annum is equivalent to 9.5% p.a. effective cash return. That's in 15 years and you only need to pray for the capitalism system and world order to be in tact.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Aug 13 2019, 10:14 AM
kbandito
post Aug 14 2019, 05:40 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 14 2019, 05:23 PM)
I theorised,... the best way is by controlling our expenses. I heard this many times from the elderly people around me,... even the ones who are well-to-do with more than 15m worth in Ringgit terms,... the unpredictability of the world outside today is too high.

A good eg : 15m used to be able to earn great FD income, and live risk-free with FDs only,... but today, FD rates are too low,... I had relatives peing accounts in Aus and NZ many years ago earning great FDs, then converting the AUD back to MYR, and benefit frm the exchange rte some more. But today, FD rates in those countries are very low,.. and with this, the AUD and NZD have depreciated so badly that they are not getting the same amount they used to after converting over.

But,... their consolation is their amt is high,... hence, if they lower their lifestyles, they can still live reasonably well. Some of these men need to support more than one family/wives,...
One of the reason why I use ‘inflation plus x%’ for my investment calculation.
kbandito
post Aug 14 2019, 05:50 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 14 2019, 12:03 PM)
kbandito,

This will be a solid plan if you are able to achieve this, but I am curious what type of properties you are targeting to acquire in your RM3 mil portfolio?
Would like to hear your views if you don't mind.
I plan to use the next 6 months to nail down what exact types and where, because that will impact on downpayment, reinstament if any, rental deficit amount and the probable appreciation % tier. I do real estate research for a living so I just need time to strategize the long-term risk and reward.
kbandito
post Aug 16 2019, 05:21 PM

1,181 posts

In an ideal world i would like my kids to go into a public uni like me and my wife did, I remember my total course fees for 3 years was <RM6,000)! Yet we are doing well in life compared to many people who spent 6-figure in private education.

He can then use up the education fund i set aside to him for i) a few years of gap year, or ii) to have a good head start in life, maybe for a house or investment to make up for the delay in starting his career.
kbandito
post Aug 21 2019, 08:52 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 21 2019, 08:02 PM)
For those who r good at investing (>8%), sspn returns might not be as good for long term (>10 years) even with tax relief of rm8000 and tax bracket of 25%. CMIIAW.
https://mypf.my/2017/05/11/should-you-invest-in-sspn/

Effective return for 25% annual rebate and 4% annual return is equivalent to 10% return per annum
kbandito
post Aug 22 2019, 09:35 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 21 2019, 09:32 PM)
With tax relief of rm8000 and tax bracket of 25%, tax savings is rm2000.
Effectively starting amount is rm8000-2000=6000, average SSPN annual return of 4% on rm8000 after 10 years becomes rm11842.
So using the financial calculator with these figures gives a return of 7.04% per annum.  Please correct me if I am wrong.

If you contribute RM8,000 pa for 10 years, at 4% annual return you get RM96,000 on 10th year.

Now with the relief you only pay RM6,000 pa for 10 years, but you will get RM96,000 on 10th year still - that’s 10% equivalent.
kbandito
post Aug 29 2019, 02:54 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 29 2019, 02:17 PM)
Sound like a family controlled conglomerate; his lifestyle was influenced by bosses and comparable with his peers. If he didn't has this lifestyle, he couldn't last at that rank until 60 y.o. Believe your friend made more money from insider trading than his salary.
RM30k isn’t enough for that kinda lifestyle, even RM100k/month is a bit tight.
kbandito
post Sep 10 2019, 11:16 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(chonghe @ Sep 8 2019, 11:12 AM)
Any property that generates passive income?

4k/month translates to RM 1.6M in FD (assuming 3% p.a.). Need to strategize to make your cash/assets worth RM1.6M in 11 years. Seems possible, but need to invest more to generate better returns, and combine with dividends from stocks maybe.

And by the way, for discussions with FD interest, we should be bear in mind that future FD rates just will not be at 3%, it is getting lower, let alone BNM is expected to further lower 25 points by Dec 2019. So when calculating for interest from FD in future, I will tend to be more conservative.
Assuming 4% inflation and 7% investment return, you should get c. RM1.2 mil by 40 yo, but that can only last you until c. 60 yo before you dried up you money.
Keep working until 45 yo then then you can extend that to 77 yo.

But mind you, 7% consistent investment return is not easy, and you need to factor in extra for medical expenses when you are old. Medical cost goes up for way more than 4% per annum.
kbandito
post Sep 13 2019, 02:58 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Sep 13 2019, 02:57 PM)
wow, what website to come out that graph? or you do it yourself?
5 minutes of Excel
kbandito
post Sep 20 2019, 05:04 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 20 2019, 01:01 PM)
Currently my passive income are only generated through equity investing. Tried and quitted P2P after a year of trial. Have not gone into Roboadvisory or any of the fintech stuff.
I also do not dabble in property investing because many of the properties are over-priced in my opinion. Unless I get a very good deal, I might not even step into property investing because most of it is negative cashflow investment.
For property, my view is that if you believe property will continue to appreciate in value over the next 2-3 decades, the negative cashflow is not concern. The cash-on-cash return come exit is still very attractive to me, despite the monthly negative cashflow.

kbandito
post Sep 28 2019, 10:17 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 28 2019, 10:13 PM)
Yes good  lelong props are there waiting for you to pick up.
You don't need much money, start with RM200k you can try it.
Imagine you buy  lelong LMC DS hse at RM48+k
rental RM450  already >9% pa.
best part is  in just 4 yrs can sell RM190k now
market price is RM210k.
often is the owner could not or did not pay his bank loan,
especially those LMC houses

I got one LC Flat at RM75k where the previous owner just keep collecting  rental RM450
never  pay his loan, just want cash did not want  the property
cheap or not you decide.....

In my portfolio- properties give the best returns
just on rentals alone 8-12%pa/buy cost.
imagine if add in price appreciation.
icemanfx found you a target to spend your time
kbandito
post Oct 7 2019, 06:36 PM

1,181 posts

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ontent=business

Describe me perfectly, and I believe many others too
kbandito
post Dec 9 2019, 11:33 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Dec 8 2019, 03:37 AM)
Thought i would contribute in this section based on my personal experience.
Some basic stats about myself :-

Two points that I agree so much, but many failed to understand its magnitude.
1) Life expectancy of 100. This is very real and will kill many FIRE plans because most budget 75 years old.
2) Nest egg that feeds you until 100. This means not working for at least 40-50 years and yet it can last you for that half a century. I built my own spreadsheet that is tailored to my investment style and appetite, the required number for FIRE scared the hell outta me. Everyone should start building a detailed year-by-year and item-by-item plan to build their goal properly.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Dec 9 2019, 11:33 AM

0.1167sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:19 PM