FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

johnnyzai89
post Jul 24 2019, 11:42 PM

1,444 posts

Interesting thread.. just happy to see so many people aware of this and want to do this smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Jul 25 2019, 01:42 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jul 25 2019, 02:11 PM)
Loving all the stories here. I am FI but not planning to RE. I am probably semi retired now. I go to the office around 11 and work about 2-3 hours. I stay in the office until 4 or 5 but just surf the net, read story books and sometimes watch some movies. I don't work on Sat or Sun.  There are times when I have to work harder...maybe pull an all nighter but it is pretty rare...maybe once every 2 to 3 months.

I am 43 and a single mom. My daughter is 17 and just entered college on a scholarship.
When I was 19 I left home to enter a local university. Although I was offered several overseas scholarships I could not take the offer as my parents were not willing to subsidise my living expenses in UK although they could afford it.  I could have worked and studied at the same time but during that time at the age of 19 I was scared to go to UK alone and was really clueless. HAHAHA.

So anyway I left home and stayed in a hostel  that was crowded and more like a elevated version of a prison cell. 8 to a room. During my four years of studies I did well and the university sent me overseas for competitions. As it was a local university and I was not a bumi, I was not qualified for JPA or MARA scholarship and many of the private company scholarships at that time had a 2 year bond attached to the award. So I just hustled and got paid to do assignments for my uni mates. Paid my own way through university.

When I left university I got a high paying job immediately but being young and stupid I fell in love and got married at 25. By 26 I had my daughter and 10 months later I was divorced. At the time of my divorce my ex left me with no money and a car debt as he bought a car in my name.

Since I was 26 and had a young mouth to feed, I guess survival instincts kicked in. I then started working in 3 different companies before I left and started my own business 12 years ago.  I started my business because I wanted more time with my daughter and I wanted flexibility as I had no help from my family or my ex. I was totally on my own.

Currently my business has 5 full time employees  and two part timers and my income has doubled from last year. My income is approximately 600K per year after expenses. My passive income is about RM20K per month and will probably increase  because I am still earning and saving.

Most of my passive income comes from FD and share dividends. The rest from the rental of 2 properties (only 20%).

I am not a miserly person but I am quite frugal in my daily expenses. I eat at home quite a bit because I find home cooked food healthier and I love cooking.  Recently due to the increase in my earnings, I have loosen the purse strings a little and bought a 200K car. I have also increased my travelling because that is the only thing I like. I usually travel 3-4 times a year but now I travel business class. The car and some of the travelling is paid by my company as an expense.

As my daughter is on scholarship I don't really need to support my daughter that much. She gets a RM500 per month allowance from me and yet she hardly spends it.  She is an amazing person and we have a very close relationship.
very very nice! proud of you! smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Aug 1 2019, 04:50 PM

1,444 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Q-nI1FRHnE

Do watch this for a good boost of inspiration smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Aug 1 2019, 07:30 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Aug 1 2019, 06:07 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Are you achieved or working towards FI/RE?
achieving smile.gif

johnnyzai89
post Aug 2 2019, 05:36 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Aug 2 2019, 05:46 PM)
Great!

Appreciate if you can share your journey so that people can learn from you. Thanks
hmm not sure if my journey can help anyone here but basically i'm a full time trader rn so i'm kinda achieving it through compounding my gains.

rn i'm just trying be more consistent and get there slowly but eventually smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Aug 19 2019, 08:49 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Aug 19 2019, 03:50 PM)
Thank you very much for the reply.

That's basically how i calculated too. Only thing that worried me most is son's education expenses in the future (everyone saying education inflation gonna be high).
Should I put some money the dual currency investment from a bank?
friendly tip, buy 1 share of SPY every month and in the future, it will be more than sufficient for your kid's education
johnnyzai89
post Aug 21 2019, 11:20 AM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 21 2019, 02:39 AM)
Hello!

I see some of you talking about investing in S&P500 ETF. Unfortunately, I don't know what is the best way for a Malaysian to invest in it. I'm looking at TDameritrade but unfortunately they have problems with their W8-Ben form and I am unable to complete registration.

Can someone enlighten me what is the best way or any alternative methods for me to invest in the S&P500? I am seeking for the lowest cost and hopefully no holding/admin fees.

what problems are you encountering with your W8 form?
johnnyzai89
post Sep 11 2019, 08:26 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 8 2019, 05:52 PM)
Actually chucking in FD is very good..
Less troublesome.. confirm get interest.. pidm protected..

I saw a lot of my fren doing alot of investment..
Some made it.. but most busted it.. especially property..

Not only not making money, every mth is negative cash flow and lots of maintenance fee. Rental cant cover..

Those in Unit trust all see unit price dwindling 20% below..

FD one all happy and no stress

Of cuz there r those who made it too.
They put money into their business and grow it.. hands on with it.
Some punted / investee in stock.. and get double / triple..

But how many percent can be in that category? Not much ooo...
key is investing.. not punting or "trading"

do it right and you will be rewarded. do bear in mind as well that investing should not be limited to Malaysia (bursa) only
johnnyzai89
post Sep 11 2019, 08:29 PM

1,444 posts

[quote=FutureBuilder,Sep 10 2019, 12:16 AM]
[quote=MUM,Sep 8 2019, 01:14 PM]
you are now 29, target is 40, thus 11 yrs to go.
you have 110k in FD,
40k in stocks and
21k in mutual fund
fresh saving RM4000 pm....

unknown to your monthly required expenses,...just try to reduce the FD of 110k to 6 months of yr expenses, use the surplus to put into stocks.
as for the RM4k pm,...If you have parents, try to put all that into their EPF a/c.....under self contribution

I don't suggest putting MORE in FD to generate passive income...for the amount required is too big to generate sufficient amount and returns is too low to be effective for a 11 yrs time frame

[/quote

I would consider to use my monthly saving to purchase some reits and stocks with 5-6% annual return, hope can getting more nearer to my target by compound interest within this 11 years. Thanks bro for your kind sharing on financial.

[/quote]

you are doing very well! just keep doing what you are doing right now and keep on growing your portfolio

just some advice, try to invest into your financial knowledge and look for investments out of the country.. it will work as a hedging purpose as well smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Sep 12 2019, 12:42 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Sep 12 2019, 09:58 AM)
Why if retire at 40, money can only last till 60? Upon retirement, he should have less spending. If he can reduce spending (cos his funds are not a lot), he does not need to delay retiring...reduce by how much? Maybe 30%?
just wondering.. why do you think spending will be reduced upon retirement?

imho, it will most likely be higher
johnnyzai89
post Sep 18 2019, 04:52 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(TheBornLoser @ Sep 18 2019, 05:12 PM)
I was seriously considering retiring at Malaysia at one point in time. Had my entire post "retirement" roadmap planned out, with dreams of opening semi-free old folks, orphanages and autism training centers. Even brought back large sums of money after last year's elections. Was prepared to forcibly uproot family in my pursuit of making Malaysia a better place.

Unfortunately, I am a very politically sensitive person.

Recent stuff happening in Malaysia had me reconsidering things, hence I added the "developed countries" FI objectives. That is my hedge in case things in Malaysia ever.... get out of hand.

I will wait maybe a decade to see how the political / social scene in Malaysia plays out. That to me, is the primary barometer that decides whether I come back to Malaysia to commit whatever efforts and energies I have in my later years to doing some social good, or whether I should concentrate it in Hong Kong / China / wherever life takes me to instead.
You are welcome!

Yes, I understand that a fully paid up home and RM5 million nest egg fund actually goes a long long way in Malaysia.
However, the reason why I consider that it only meets my "basic" requirements are as follows:

1) The need to keep up with inflation - a percentage of the passive income will be "reinvested" as my basic attempt to not lose too much ground to inflation.
2) 2 aging parents and 2 aging in-laws - need to be prepared for any medical and physical contingencies. These will cost money, time and resources.
3) Several aging family elders - these people have contributed to my life meaningfully in various ways when I was growing up. They are not on financially stable ground (in their retirement years or where the status of my cousins, nephews and / or nieces are concerned). I want to be in position to lend a hand if the need ever arises *touch wood, plastic, metal, etc. such needs to not arise so soon*
4) A sibling who made some.... questionable long term financial decisions that may hobble his family's financial situation in the future. I want to be in position to lend a hand if needed.
5) A RM10K / month income in Malaysia does not go as far as many have imagined - as was heavily discussed in the "RM12K household income but RM40 savings per month" thread in regular /k, RM10K income per month doesn't really get a household as much as it used to. I hope to have some buffer and contingencies in place.

Regarding Hong Kong, it has many issues, some deep, and difficult to resolve, but I love the place. I love the convenience, the energy, the close proximity to mountains, trails, and greenery, the variety of food and goods and services, the centrality of the location (near Taiwan, Japan, SE Asia, and next to the great hinterland of China), and the combination of old and new city that it uniquely has. Hong Kong has a lot more charm to it than Singapore. Now, if only Hong Kong can solve some of its most intractable problems.....
Thank you. Yes, my family's "expat" status does put us in a better position to achieve FI, but it must come with strong controls and responsible fiscal management.

I have noticed, in several of my friends and my better half's friends and colleagues, a commensurate increase in spending and consumption as they advance up their career ladder.

I have observed folks moving into bigger, more expensive, "landmark" homes. I have observed folks migrating to more expensive brands and fashion styles. I have observed folks buying bigger, more expensive, more high maintenance cars and toys every 2 or 3 years. I have observed folks taking impulse holidays and applying no control to their spending (imagine an impromptu five day trip to Japan for two on business class tickets, staying in a five star hotel, and going everywhere in a taxi, all just for the sake of impressive a girl. RM50K gone just like that.... very irresponsible spending).

My other half has stood in line at the taxi stand with ladies decked from head to toe in extremely expensive, branded stuff complaining that "they could ONLY save HKD10,000 per year in Hong Kong", which is ridiculous.

I also allocate a decent amount of time to read up on personal financial management and investment, because I want to try to find as many avenues and opportunities for my money to continue earning more money for me. That takes several hours / week of my time.

I also have to prepare for the possibility that we "may" lose this expat position in the future. The job market and the future is never stable or set in stone.

It has been and is an interesting journey, and will continue to be an interesting journey in the long long future (assuming my health holds up biggrin.gif)
you are doing really well! so keep doing what you are doing

maybe another to look into is to be more investment bias.. try to get your money to work for you but of course that has it's risk
johnnyzai89
post Sep 18 2019, 04:53 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Sep 18 2019, 12:46 PM)
Hi guys,
Newbie here..
I'm currently just started my working life and I'm obsessed with FI. Would like an advise or two on how to improve my money management so here it goes..

I'm 23 this year just started working 10 months ago in reputable M&C.
Basic salary is about 3.6k
I have a side business that has been running for about 6 months which gains me about 3k(during starting period)-17k(currently) per month.

Currently I only have about 10k in my savings account currently..

The rest of the money i stored in :
FD = RM58k
ASM = RM42K
EPF = RM16k (inc self top up)
Stocks = RM11K
BTC = RM57k++

My target has always been getting RM1M before I'm 30 (planning to get married that time)

At the moment, my strategy is to keep pumping my EPF self contribution to gain as much compounding interest as possible (i don't need the money currently so I'm okay if the money being locked up there)

Any advise from sifus on how to improve my goals? I've been working hard on it and trying hard on how to improve my strategy. Any advise will be appreciated
bro you are doing really well! and super lucky that you have your parents support
this is the time/stage to really start racking up your savings until you have your other half and kids etc

keep it up! biggrin.gif
johnnyzai89
post Sep 19 2019, 02:02 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Sep 19 2019, 10:25 AM)
Hello friend, I truly respect your intention of volunteering yourself for societal contribution when you have achieve FI.
I do have the same thinking, when I have achieve Financial Independence then I will retire and fully focus on volunteering works, and contribute to the cause that appeals to me.
maybe you all can look into social entrepreneurship instead of doing just charity! smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Sep 20 2019, 02:39 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Sep 20 2019, 03:18 PM)
It’s FD, ASNB combine EPF (lol)
I’m not sure if I’m calculating passive income right lol
dont count EPF bro..
johnnyzai89
post Sep 20 2019, 04:24 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Sep 20 2019, 03:47 PM)
Then it's wayyyy lesser than RM1,150
it's ok.. start working now to build it up.. have a plan and work towards it smile.gif
johnnyzai89
post Sep 21 2019, 12:19 AM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(BooYa @ Sep 20 2019, 11:21 PM)
Bank lelong have plenty of fire sale / force sale
most of the time, there's a reason why that property is being lelong
johnnyzai89
post Sep 21 2019, 02:53 PM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 21 2019, 12:27 PM)
Those so-called 'fire sale' are still expensive if compared to prices prior to 2012. Usually the price would be 10-20% lower than market price only, but over the years, prices have shot up tremendously, some up by ridiculously as much as 100%. So we can still wait for the market to "re-adjust" itself, then only we go into bank lelong.
Mostly due to foreclosure as many of the auction units are in the range of RM300k - RM500k range.
also because alot of the units are in undesirable locations.. hence no one wants to buy it from them in the first place
johnnyzai89
post Oct 1 2019, 11:28 AM

1,444 posts

QUOTE(rebeka @ Sep 30 2019, 10:31 PM)
I worked in temasek group ,if they re going in, sure they wan full control of this company already ...
sure.. link your LinkedIN profile here then

0.0997sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:02 AM