FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

foolc
post Feb 15 2019, 01:34 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Feb 15 2019, 01:31 PM)
Not entirely true nor false
Some earning 10k but living like earning 3k while some earning 10k living like 15k..

It's either u find a way to have passive income the same as your working income or live frugally..
Plus living frugally does mean living comfortably tho.
i am getting almost 15k after all deductions.... spend about 7k including loans...balance safe ... considered good ?
foolc
post Feb 15 2019, 04:21 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Feb 15 2019, 04:06 PM)
currently i'm saving about 40% of my income. You should not really bother about percentages, because it fluctuates because a) your salary increases over time & b) your spending & priority change over time. What's important here is just to save as much as you possibly can anytime.

As for post-RE, with 6m and a modest rate of 5% per annum income we should be able to generate 25k/month. The big ticket items are our home which is 2.5k/month, and maybe we would each like to have a decent conti car at around 5k/month. So the rest is just money to spend on anything lah.

We thought about moving to some semi-dee in Mont Kiara and rent for 5k/month once the kids become teenagers, then have the current condo we're staying in rented out. Then move  back to condo once kids are off to college.
Yes, I agree the property boom helped. I netted 900k from flipping 3 properties.

I still hold another 3 properties rented out, they're not making any real monthly income because the rent just covers the expenses. I'm keeping them for capital appreciation, and also for other big expenses in the future ie college fund, wedding, medical emergencies etc so will offload them when needed to.
where is your cash now? in FD?
foolc
post Apr 11 2019, 01:58 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Apr 11 2019, 12:33 PM)
Expenses are well covered. She is working becoz she wants to, btw her position pays really good. Plus our combined income can accomodate our travel; and i dont mind a little bit of lavish ya.. 😉. Yes we also do spend on travel for both our parents yearly.

I am relax and enjoying every little bit of my life...😀

What i mean by boring is u are doing it own your own because your friends are still working.

Now at klcc gonna watch hellboy! Shazam starts later, maybe next time...
you sound like my ex boss? r you formerly from rolls royce?

he fired and wife still working and earning well.....

see him also so boring.... after lunch he sleeps in the afternoon for 2-3 hours to spend time

0.0190sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:13 AM