FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

R93
post Jul 14 2018, 04:12 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 11 2018, 01:14 PM)
I tendered my resignation this week and leaving my MYR500,000/annum salary and MYR100,000/annum cash incentive plus company share.  smile.gif

Now in process of repatriate back to Malaysia.

It is hard decision but I believe that I’m ready to let it go and move on to next chapter.

I will share from time to time whether this works or not.

Next plan, back to KL and waiting for my shipment.

- Go for family trip locally
- Visiting long lost relatives and friends
- Back to focus on renovating newly VP house (will get 2 houses this year)
- Will living with dividen from ASNB (maxed up 4 accounts/asb&asb2 - combination cash and loan) and have some funds in ASW,ASD,ASM,AS1M
- Most of the properties paid the installment from rental. (Monthly income from rental ~10,000)
- Withdraw some funds from company saving plans.
- Will be learning new stuffs
- Join volunteering programs

I wish we all have a quality life ahead.
Congratulation to your move, which country are you working now? I wish my day will come soon whistling.gif whistling.gif
R93
post Jul 17 2018, 11:34 PM

34 posts

FI ultimately means that you can shape your life without taking money into consideration, FIRE doesn’t necessarily mean you have to quit your job, my first goal is to achieve FI, everyone "enough" number for retirement is different, to me, RM4mil with debt free is good enough. Saving money into EPF is the only saving I have smile.gif , if the average dividend is 5.6%, by age 55, my account should have at least RM1.5mil, so the dividend is sufficient to support my monthly expenses (hopefully Malaysia is not going bankruptcy or the inflation rate don't go beyond 10% wish.gif). However, it is still a long way to go... laugh.gif
R93
post Jul 18 2018, 01:27 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 17 2018, 11:53 PM)
thumbup.gif interesting .....
btw,...any idea what is the actual current inflation number per annum are for the past few years?
Some website shown the past few years data consumer inflation rate is <3% in average, I not sure how accurate is, I only know when the sugar price increase 10sen/kg, Teh tarik will increase 10sen as well devil.gif , any sifu can advise here? confused.gif
R93
post Jul 18 2018, 07:02 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 18 2018, 06:32 AM)
sweat.gif  Thus on this, ".....Saving money into EPF is the only saving I have  , if the average dividend is 5.6%, by age 55, my account should have at least RM1.5mil, so the dividend is sufficient to support my monthly expenses ....", just be aware that the purchasing power of that RM1.5mil at that time will not be like what it is today...  sweat.gif
oh ya, Rm1.5mil might be not enough at that time, in order to achieve FI, my plan is to sell one of the property next year, hopefully the market is still growing... blush.gif
R93
post Jul 18 2018, 08:40 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 18 2018, 07:11 AM)
hmm.gif mind sharing where to channel the proceed from the sale of your property to?
which investment vehicle?
some of the previous postings consider property as a good investment....
To be frank, my Malaysia properties are still stuck on the market bangwall.gif , I also looking for lubang to sell.... since the US property market is still hot, will sell the US property next year to achieve my FI goal icon_idea.gif
R93
post Jul 18 2018, 10:06 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 18 2018, 09:09 AM)
thumbup.gif
since you have property in the US....mind sharing the legal fees amount like and any property gain tax applicable to aliens?

then mind sharing where to channel the proceed from the sale of your property to?
which investment vehicle?

notworthy.gif
I forgot the legal fees blush.gif but the seller commission to agent is high, about 5-6% of the selling price, you may googled of the tax applicable icon_idea.gif

I ask my friend who work as property agent to sell my property happy.gif
R93
post Sep 24 2018, 11:42 PM

34 posts

Jon Jandai is quite interesting, life really can be very simple and easy, however, after living in the city for many years, I might be polluted, make things complicated, the more complicated I am, the more value I need bangwall.gif
​https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21j_OCNLuYg&t=18s​

0.1013sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:44 AM