FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

icemanfx
post May 5 2019, 02:30 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 5 2019, 02:23 PM)
Bill Gates's parents talked abt micro-computers to him when he was young and made that shed for him to fiddle around with computers. Like I said earlier, IF you count that shed that he worked in as a big family advantage, then so be it ! Which you do.

Please read my posting again. So,.. what is not true about what I wrote ??

I'm talking abt how DT started and how far and how hard he had to climb to reach what he has today. Not the future values of his fortune.
Bill gates parents didn't teach him on micro-computer but their job position allowed bill gates to learn programming on main frame at young stage. Hence, he had advantage over others. There is no doubt he is a entrepreneur.

In this level playing field, those have family background is a advantage e.g grab's founders.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 5 2019, 02:34 PM
icemanfx
post May 5 2019, 03:35 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 5 2019, 02:41 PM)
Wrong.

He may have learnt varied aspects of the micro-computer at a young age, but his big break came when IBM considered him to write the software to control the IBM PC back in the 70's. He had nothing to do with anything related to the IBM Mainframe, back then known as the System 370. Sure, he may have fiddled with the software and hardware side, BUT his notable achievement that propelled him into when he is today was the DOS - Disk Operating System.

He was never much am entrepreneur nor a businessman. He was more technical. He had the other fella, whose name I couldn't recall as the one who did the business tactics after he secured the DOS rights to run the IBM PC.
There are enough books and documentary on bill gates early life. Better to leave it here.

On wealth creation, many lack mentor to guide them on right path. For certain, local education is ill prepared them for the challenge.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 5 2019, 03:40 PM
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2019, 04:37 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jul 27 2019, 03:31 AM)
Children are indeed young. Started later in life but always felt I could not afford them anytime before that.

I invested in Hobart in 2006, bought 2 houses and bought shares in a salmon factory. Was supposed to take over the management of the factory but in the end decided Australia and more specifically Hobart wasn't for me. Did a shares for assets swap which saw me taking over the 2 pieces of land and several buildings that was owned by the company.

Are PRs eligible for the state pension or the super fund is it? Never planned on being an Aussie citizen?

I haven't quite decided if I would continue being a citizen of Malaysia. Ultimately it would depend on whether my future wife would like to continue living here or return to America but currently no signs of her wanting to return as life is pretty good for her.
She was a qualified accountant. I doubt it was an impossibility for her to raise us on her own. My sister refuses to talk to the mother as well for the simple reason that she felt all through her life she was never the favorite one and the mother always favored the children she had with her 2nd husband.
I have long since decided that I will send my children to America for their tertiary education because I graduated from a university in Texas and ultimately it was that experience that opened up the opportunities I had in life. I won't make them go to the same university but hope one of them follows my foot steps.

As for how I intend to fund them, I bought real estate for that purpose. Basically I bought several old buildings in Seattle and Bay Area. Remodelled and sub-divided them into smaller apartments, then I rent it out. When it is their time for college am hoping I could support them purely on the rental alone but looking at how much tuition fees cost these days and how much it is going up by every year I may have to remortgage and find more money for their living expenses.
Only Hobart is doing well, mainly as a result of restrictive planning laws.
Comparing with Seattle and SF, kv property is petty, not worth the time and effort. Rental income in u.s should be more than sufficient for students expenses (exclude school fees). For school fees, you could always sell one property if needed.

It is always wise to invest in stocks or/and property in country where one intend to send children for further education to mitigate forex and inflation risks.

With wealth, one could live or retire in town, city or county of choice.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2019, 04:53 PM
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2019, 05:19 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 27 2019, 05:02 PM)
In the overseas, compared to property, I would rather invest in equities and exchange-related instruments which I could liquidate at a moment's notice. The changing dynamics of the legislation also poses a risk to property investors.

But that's just me,...

Generally, it is wise to invest in the same country,... but I have experienced a new thing here. I discovered it is better to invest and earn the SGD, compared to earning the AUD to finance my family in AU. The AUD has weakened against the SGD, and is continuing to do so.

Not only with wealth,... but with wealth that can be accounted for, and that financial insts are willing to accept for savings and investing today. Wealth that your filling-in of the FATCA and CRS Forms can support the authenticity of,... and wealth that, when you're filling-in the forms when opening accts, you can answer all questions favourably-in.

Otherwise, the FI may not accept your acct-opening.
Managing cross border property is never easy as trustworthy re agent is hard to come by.

As long as one is not a politician or family of politician, most privilege or private bank subject to regulations will accept account opening.
icemanfx
post Jul 28 2019, 12:28 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jul 28 2019, 01:03 AM)
When you have overseas property then you will know what to do to manage it.
friends been there done that. Bought foreclosure from bank after subprime crisis, sold after price rise >50%. That's why they advised buy when blood is knee deep on the floor. Not that there isn't anyplace or assets to invest.

Equity may not for you but performed well for many.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 28 2019, 07:15 PM
icemanfx
post Aug 15 2019, 06:03 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Aug 15 2019, 04:28 PM)
I like to know can I stop work/retire early now, cause I like to spend more time with my son.

I am a single mum 40yo, son is 7 yo.

What I have at the moment is a single story house in cheras(all load paid) value at around RM400k. Am the rental income from the house is RM1800/month
I am living in a condo with my son,this condo still owe the bank RM550k, mortgage at RM3300/month

I have around 1mil in FD and recently I have inherited RM2mil (think of going to pur in FD)
Also around RM200k in stocks and Stashaway My
Private and overseas university tuition fees increase faster than inflation rate and myr forex long term down trend has yet to reverse. If you intend to send your son to overseas for university, suggest you prepare early.

Rm2.5m qualify for privilege/priority banking, could get better return than fd. It is important to have capital protected.

icemanfx
post Aug 15 2019, 11:02 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Aug 15 2019, 09:43 PM)
If my condo is fully settled, my expenses will be around 5k /month
My expenses would be 3k (condo mortgage) +5k expenses
At the moment holding some Maybank shares, i dont have to courage to increase amount to 500k leh, especially the financial world now. tongue.gif
I went to CIMB, they special rate FD not really good also. They did offered me some bonds in foreign currency and structured investment and I'm not familiar with them
Normally, structured investment benefit bank more than buyer/investor.

icemanfx
post Aug 22 2019, 10:59 AM

21,456 posts

FI is almost every wage earner's dream. The path to fi could be long and tedious, often longer than one's working life. For reasons, only about 3.5% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

FI basically has two components i.e income and expenses and two stages i.e pre-fi and fi.
In pre fi, income - expenses go-to fi funds.
In fi, fi funds income or drawdown > expected expenses.

Whether one should retire early is a matter of individual preference.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 22 2019, 11:02 AM
icemanfx
post Aug 22 2019, 04:43 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Aug 22 2019, 04:09 PM)
Hi Iceman,

Mind to share the news where you get the 3.5% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

TIA
I.b wealth report.
icemanfx
post Aug 27 2019, 08:31 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 27 2019, 06:40 PM)
U guys sure want to retire early....

I'm just 1 month into semi retirement month and I got bloody culture shock by being dumbfounded on nothing to do....I worried if this prolongs I may lose my mind...gotta fast find a hobby
Take a cruise to Antarctica in December/January.
icemanfx
post Aug 27 2019, 11:44 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 27 2019, 09:05 PM)
HM yeah will consider that. But will start with gaming. I already order Nintendo switch...kinda a geek, not really an extrovert traveller....

I still work. But in a capacity as the GM of the company. But so far I seen my manager and underlings quite capable...they can handle 95% of day to day operation without needing my help....

So I clock in and out as I like....sometimes I don't event go to work....any issues the manager would just msg or give me a call....

So I have a lot of free time....

But I don't want u guys to misunderstood as if I have saved millions to retire upon....
Could spend your weekdays play golf, fishing, cycling, hiking, long lunch, spa, rotary club, etc, there are endless activities to keep you occupied.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 28 2019, 10:05 AM
icemanfx
post Aug 29 2019, 02:17 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 28 2019, 11:03 PM)
Honestly don’t say as early retirement....say semi retirement....

For someone still below 50-60 years old..able body and mind.....trust me you will be damn bored on nothing to do....

Today I was wandering around with no aim and waste my time in cyber cafes....

Also Early Financial Independence is depend on your personal life expectation....I used to have a share partner and also part of the BOD...ex GM of very big public listed company...very gangster notorious style...used to earn rm25-35k a month....but at 60 once contract ended he say still have to work and find project...can’t afford to really retire....

Bcoz he have a very big appetite for luxury....he got like half to a dozen of those expensive Harley’s, BMW’s, etc big2 bikes...he drive an expensive cars ....I can feel even if he’s earning 20-30k a month still won’t be enough due to his kind of lifestyle....also a lot of expensive property that monthly still need to top up as the rental can’t cover the monthly cost.... but he resign and sold his shares already due to some fight with other BOD....

If u lead a simple life and don’t overcommit u can go semi - retirement/FI much earlier.

I’ll try to limit having only 1 child for now....
Sound like a family controlled conglomerate; his lifestyle was influenced by bosses and comparable with his peers. If he didn't has this lifestyle, he couldn't last at that rank until 60 y.o. Believe your friend made more money from insider trading than his salary.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 29 2019, 02:21 PM
icemanfx
post Aug 29 2019, 03:56 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Aug 29 2019, 02:54 PM)
RM30k isn’t enough for that kinda lifestyle, even RM100k/month is a bit tight.
RM100k/month would be toying with ferrari (like his bosses) rather than bmw. believe his other income is substantially more than his salary.

icemanfx
post Sep 18 2019, 10:38 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(TheBornLoser @ Sep 18 2019, 08:11 AM)
Thank you to everyone who have shared your stories and journeys. I have learnt quite a fair bit reading through all 61 pages here.

My family and I are fairly aggressive pursuers of FI.

I have multiple financial objectives throughout my life. As I achieve each objective, I reevaluate whether I want to push to the next objective aggressively or take an easier, more laid back approach.

Please allow me to share my journey so far. Dual income household, working in Hong Kong, one toddler and another on the way. I am 38 this year, better half is 37.

Our current jobs are quite stressful (though rewarding). I may just call it quits for both of us between Stages 3 and 4 and just move into lower paying, but less stressful jobs, or, if we wanted to contribute more to the world, into charity or social work.

We are lucky that our earnings are in USD / HKD and we are in good jobs. We save approximately 50% of our income and control our expenditure carefully. Children will take a big chunk of our future earnings though, so let's see how things go.
Congratulations! it is more plausible to achieve fi/re by working as expat.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 18 2019, 10:40 AM
icemanfx
post Sep 18 2019, 04:30 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(TheBornLoser @ Sep 18 2019, 04:12 PM)
Thank you. Yes, my family's "expat" status does put us in a better position to achieve FI, but it must come with strong controls and responsible fiscal management.

I have noticed, in several of my friends and my better half's friends and colleagues, a commensurate increase in spending and consumption as they advance up their career ladder.

I have observed folks moving into bigger, more expensive, "landmark" homes. I have observed folks migrating to more expensive brands and fashion styles. I have observed folks buying bigger, more expensive, more high maintenance cars and toys every 2 or 3 years. I have observed folks taking impulse holidays and applying no control to their spending (imagine an impromptu five day trip to Japan for two on business class tickets, staying in a five star hotel, and going everywhere in a taxi, all just for the sake of impressive a girl. RM50K gone just like that.... very irresponsible spending).

My other half has stood in line at the taxi stand with ladies decked from head to toe in extremely expensive, branded stuff complaining that "they could ONLY save HKD10,000 per year in Hong Kong", which is ridiculous.

I also allocate a decent amount of time to read up on personal financial management and investment, because I want to try to find as many avenues and opportunities for my money to continue earning more money for me. That takes several hours / week of my time.

I also have to prepare for the possibility that we "may" lose this expat position in the future. The job market and the future is never stable or set in stone.

It has been and is an interesting journey, and will continue to be an interesting journey in the long long future (assuming my health holds up biggrin.gif)
In this social media eta, keep up with Jones is a pitfall for many.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 18 2019, 04:31 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 28 2019, 11:01 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 28 2019, 10:13 PM)
Yes good  lelong props are there waiting for you to pick up.
You don't need much money, start with RM200k you can try it.
Imagine you buy  lelong LMC DS hse at RM48+k
rental RM450  already >9% pa.
best part is  in just 4 yrs can sell RM190k now
market price is RM210k.
often is the owner could not or did not pay his bank loan,
especially those LMC houses

I got one LC Flat at RM75k where the previous owner just keep collecting  rental RM450
never  pay his loan, just want cash did not want  the property
cheap or not you decide.....

In my portfolio- properties give the best returns
just on rentals alone 8-12%pa/buy cost.
imagine if add in price appreciation.
Wise investors buy when blood is knee deep on the floor. lelong at right price, right location and right units is what property investment all about.

QUOTE(kbandito @ Sep 28 2019, 10:17 PM)
icemanfx found you a target to spend your time
most uuu/bbb herd are blinded by greed; for reasons, the herd is almost always end up in either over the cliff or slaughter house.

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 28 2019, 10:48 PM)
Isnt it better to buy few medium-cost houses then many lowcost one as you need to deal with less tenants?
Very much depending on individual. some prefer commercial and industrial over residential.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 28 2019, 11:03 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 29 2019, 10:44 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 29 2019, 10:37 AM)
On the other hand if one were to try  those cheap lelong props, just how much losses can one suffer ?
For property investment, if one is familiar with the area and unit, foreclosure is probably the best value buy. Value buy from foreclosure is like hunting with trap, need to have patience.

You are correct, i don't like to see ignorant invest blindly or following the herd.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 29 2019, 11:20 AM
icemanfx
post Sep 29 2019, 06:29 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(rebeka @ Sep 29 2019, 05:55 PM)
How u find it’s scam ? Ppl been invested for more than 20 years ...
registered in bvi and correspondence address in auckland? do you realize where the office is allocated? this fb give you a clue; https://www.facebook.com/Syradhadlibeauty

icemanfx
post Sep 29 2019, 08:16 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(rebeka @ Sep 29 2019, 07:55 PM)
registered in bvi and correspondence address in auckland? do you realize where the office is allocated? this fb give you a clue; https://www.facebook.com/Syradhadlibeauty

Are u serious ? How is this fund related to

Syra beauty ? My relatives been invested since inception, most of them hv opted for early retirement
Only if you realize where the office/corresponce address is located.

QUOTE(rebeka @ Sep 29 2019, 07:57 PM)
This is offshore fund registered n licensed in big , fund manager office registered n governed in Singapore
governed in sg under msa? where is their office in sg?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 29 2019, 08:16 PM
icemanfx
post Sep 29 2019, 11:37 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 29 2019, 10:38 PM)
maybe not a scam. i'm not buying in, as I rather earn less than having to do validate some people who claim they're good.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...lus-ai-approach

https://www.reddit.com/r/investing/comments...ing_fund_is_it/

normally people lose principal because trying to beat the market
If this fund manager is as good as claim; temasek holdings would be have placed hundred of millions if not billion of USD with them.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:08 AM