FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

hksgmy
post Apr 20 2020, 05:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 20 2020, 03:53 PM)
After the crisis is over, could consider certain REIT in sg, u.s. and London.
I was tempted (because REITs in Singapore have fallen quite a lot since COVID), but given how we might be looking at a structural change (in terms of social habits), I am a little concerned about how the REITs will perform post pandemic.
hksgmy
post Apr 20 2020, 06:27 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 20 2020, 06:08 PM)
REIT is not limited to shopping mall, could consider industrial e.g warehousing, distribution center.
That's a great perspective! Thank you!
hksgmy
post Apr 21 2020, 07:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Nov 29 2019, 03:17 PM)

Mind if I ask, have you ever use leverage to build your current wealth? Since no debt was mentioned numerous time, especially when building the real estate/property section.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Nov 29 2019, 03:29 PM)

And to answer your question, no. We’ve never leveraged on our investments but obviously we had to take loans for our Singapore properties purchases. We did as much capital prepayments as contractually allowed and paid off the mortgages at the earliest opportunity. So, we’ve been debt free since 40 years of age.

As I mentioned, my wife and I are not a typical case. We are both professionals earning a very respectable income each (hers isn’t anything to scoff at either) and her income alone is more than enough to sustain our annual expenditures and multiple holiday trips overseas - the latter being the most expensive expense item on our outgoings. We also agreed early on in our marriage that we did not want children (because I didn’t think we could be good parents and still give 110% at at careers - it’s a lifestyle choice and a decision that we arrived at with much soul searching: 30 years later, we still have no regrets whatsoever).

My philosophy is simple - a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, every penny saved is a penny earned. Leverage can unravel too quickly. Margin trading can inflict crippling burns in the blink of an eye. Those strategies are for braver people with wills of steel and courage of lions.
So much has changed in the world since November 2019. Barely 1/2 a year ago, the world was a different place compared to the present state where COVID19 dominates the headlines nearly as frequently as how oil has plunged...

Having said that, some basic principles that were brought up during our discussion have been brought back into sharp focus - and I’m so so glad that leverage was a dirty word for me back then, for that attitude had saved me from a lot of pain and heartbreak that might have occurred otherwise.

I managed to pick up good quality bonds at distressed prices because other highly leveraged people were made to sell at a loss to make good their margin calls.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Nov 29 2019, 03:39 PM)
Multiple mortgages that I don’t have the ability to pay off within a set of strict rules that I’ve put in place for myself are a different cup of tea. These properties are at the mercy of valuations and rental sentiments and tax regime changes and if you find yourself requiring a certain rental return in order to pay off a loan due, then you hamper your ability to undercut the next landlord who might not need to achieve a target rental since he’s debt free on that investment property.

It’s precisely because I don’t have the pressure of a mortgage on any of our investment properties that we chose quality tenants even if they pay a slightly lower rental - and paradoxically, quality tenants more often than not end up paying good rentals and on time! Imagine that.

And again, the fear of mortgages my wife and I exhibited have proven to be a conservative life saver. We just received a letter from the master tenant that we let a number of units of ours to:

I’m glad none of those suites and units have mortgage repayments due. We’ll sit tight and weather the storm and wait for the eventual recovery.

May I just wish and pray that all of your investments are safe, and your incomes intact, in these difficult times - and stay safe, my friends!

hksgmy
post Apr 21 2020, 10:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Apr 21 2020, 10:40 AM)
Thank you for taking your time to reply this message to me, really appreciated it. I am too in the verge of clearing out my last debt of my family portfolio, the mortgage. However, at this time of age with my wife's income reduced due to COVID-19, making me hesitate whether to push forward with the extra cash from annual bonus to being used in mortgage prepayment. Also taking this opportunity to launch some passion project with a partner, which currently generating positive income and making ways to grow and scale it. As for the investment portfolio, indeed there are tenant that not able to make up to the rent, probably will decided to help out by waiving it..
Congratulations! Truly, it isn't until one is completely debt free that one starts to appreciate the freedom it brings. I wish you and your family all the very best in your endeavours - and stay safe in these difficult times!
hksgmy
post May 5 2020, 09:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 26 2019, 03:59 PM)
RM150,000.00 per year looks  like very big amount but in actual is not much. Its equal to RM416.00 per day. For a couple in retirement in Malaysia is just so and so, middle class lifestyle. Living abroad especially in Europe, i would say not enough.
I started off by wanting to correct what you said, but then I realised you were referring to something quite different altogether. Apologies for the miscommunication.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 5 2020, 01:41 PM
hksgmy
post May 12 2020, 04:14 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

While this isn't a direct answer to garlicpesto, I just felt compelled to say that perhaps leaving your hard earned money with your mother isn't necessarily the wisest decision.

Especially since she's "going on a hunch" ... and moreover, she's your mother. If that "hunch" falls flat, you can't even seek redress...

hksgmy
post May 15 2020, 10:40 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 15 2020, 10:33 AM)

Commonwealth Bank of Australia said its base case is for an 11% fall in home prices, though in a prolonged downturn a cumulative 32% slump is possible. National Australia Bank Ltd. said in a severe downturn prices could plummet 21% this year.

Banks have already agreed to defer payment on more than 640,000 loans worth at least A$200 billion.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...s?sref=bZ8VXc8U

hksgmy Aussie banks have excessive exposure to property, drop in property price will severely impact bank and property market.
Thanks for the tag - I've already started selling off my bank bonds when I got news that the Royal Commission was going to be convened to investigate collusion and dubious banking deeds - most of my Aussie holdings are tied up in physical properties (fully paid up, so the only pain I'll feel will be losses on paper). Truth be told, there will be no place that will be immune to the fallout from COVID19, I fear.
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2020, 09:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jun 9 2020, 04:29 PM)
yeah, and for someone like @hksgmy that number is too low
Well, it’s is/was my concern - even if it’s somewhat irrational. As I’ve said so before, our wealth and assets came about from the more than generous remunerative packages that came with our professional careers - and weaning ourselves off that will be difficult to accept, at least initially. We’ve worked hard for what we have all our lives. There are others who’ve achieved a far greater rate of return on their investments, and at times, reading their achievements make us wonder and worry that we’ve underperformed.

But, talking it out loud and vocalizing my concerns, and listening and reading the feedback and opinions have helped assuage those concerns to a great degree.

It won’t be easy, since I intend to retire next year, but with any luck, it won’t all be a rough ride.

Peace.
hksgmy
post Jun 12 2020, 05:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 12 2020, 12:01 AM)
if one has huge income and savings there is  nothing to worry about investment returns no matter how low, even 1% return on 100M is already $83+k passive income a month...just how much do we need we cant bring to next world
This (and many articles like it) is one of the reasons for my concerns, irrational or otherwise: RICH BUT NOT RICH ENOUGH ARTICLE

Having said that, you’ve made some very valid observations - and we could always liquidate our properties to free up more cash should that is required. No drawers to stash the cash in the coffins, like you said.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 12 2020, 08:25 AM
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2020, 10:57 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 13 2020, 06:07 PM)
Thanks to @stoolpresidente #DDTG community, I have earned enough $$$ to retire at 27. Thank you Dave. I am forever loyal to you and the trading community that you built #retailbros #straightwinners
https://twitter.com/cowabungabrew/status/1271508413017731075
https://twitter.com/stoolpresidente
Sounds like a scam?
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2020, 11:44 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Jun 13 2020, 11:16 PM)
Met a friend working in HARTA glove as senior Manager (12 yrs)
Told me due to Esos, his stock value almost hit RM2million..

The peers who same batch with him all touching few millions ringgit value of stocks.

FIRE unexpectedly.
All thanks to COVID19 eh? Always a silver lining behind any dark cloud.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 12:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 14 2020, 12:56 AM)
Ah, erm, ok. Too sophisticated for me. Good luck to him and his followers though smile.gif - fortune favors the brave.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 09:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Nov 25 2019, 05:18 PM)
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 25 2019, 06:21 PM)
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 26 2019, 10:33 PM)

I didn’t mean to dig up an old discussion, but in the interests of FairPlay and to show that there was no malicious intent in my initial declaration, I’ve included a snapshot of my latest (painful) tax returns for your perusal.

[attachmentid=10515501]

Hopefully this further clarifies and removes any co fusion or misunderstanding on my original post.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 11:01 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jun 14 2020, 09:52 AM)
Trying to prove just make it more dubious on what you really say you have. But if you really want prove it then prove it with your payment to the IRB since you have no problem sharing something so personal here.

Given some of your /k replies I really wonder is it the same person.
Yes, indeed, it doesn’t end does it?

The Notice of Assessment is an interesting secured PDF form that cannot be altered, obviously - at least not by amateurs like me.

But, the above message wasn’t so much for you, as it was to close a side discussion with the other 3 whom I tagged. Still, I didn’t think it would cause even more suspicion and envy.

Perhaps it’s best to let sleeping dogs lie. I will delete my earlier post and let the discussion here continue without the unneeded distraction.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 11:09 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 14 2020, 10:38 AM)
hmm.gif if after he did that (above), will someone else asked for proof that that income and payment details are really his/her and not of others? (like client, employer or family members, etc)  hmm.gif

i remember once in one of the thread, there was one forummer mentioned "that could be photoshopped" when trying to dispute the data shown upon challenged
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2020, 10:54 AM)
yeah, pointless trying to play piano to cows nor ask for proof of such neh XD
Thank you for the rational analysis - made a lot of sense. I’ve amended the earlier reply accordingly. I suppose those who will doubt, be envious and feel jealous will continue to do so, regardless of any attempt to placate them.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 11:14 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jun 14 2020, 11:11 AM)
Aiyoh! Good morning Doc?

Why wate time with aspiring MY millionaires?

The showoff thread members already ack you as Chairman already. Not enuf meh?

Come over Clarke Quay lim kopi see lah. I'm pondering whether to transfer $20K to top up KWSP self contribution.
Nice to see you here too! Maybe these people have never seen an IRAS NOA before - it’s tamper proof, at least to amateurs like me, as it’s an IRAS password secured PDF document. I know because I tried to delete my name and IC before posting it here, and I failed. But, like some one else said, the doubting thomases will go on to say that the form is my father’s returns.

Enjoy your Clarke Quay day - please wear a mask and avoid the Angmos who won’t be using one! Stay safe!

Edited to add: something wrong with the quote replies?

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 14 2020, 11:16 AM
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 11:19 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jun 14 2020, 11:18 AM)
Privately, I know you just using your wife's Iras.... 😜

Bluddy hell, you know I TOO LAN ang mohs....u have to remind me!!!! I go spill coffee onto one now. Logging off.
LOL. enjoy your weekend, my friend! Go get some!
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 01:28 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jun 14 2020, 01:22 PM)
Nooooh haha the photo is gone
Yeah, some formers pointed out it was pointless. Haters gonna hate no matter what I try to do to appease them.
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 01:42 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 14 2020, 12:14 PM)
No need to prove anything, bro,... smile.gif
Thanks mate. I like it when discussions can be civilised and when those same discussions can start off on the basis of mutual respect and a degree of trust, as opposed to the usual cynicism and suspicion.

Have a good weekend!
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 02:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jun 14 2020, 01:50 PM)
Sad, I feel motivated hope that I will be a portion of what you have
That’s my point too - I am inspired, not discouraged, by the efforts and successes of others. When I was a junior doctor, I’d look up to my seniors and say “that’s where I want to be in x number of years - because they’ve laid down an achievement marker that I can aspire to emulate. It’s a personal challenge to achieve greater heights.

Life is way too short to be upset about the success and achievement of others - instead, I find it more rewarding mentally and financially, to work towards emulating that success: if they can do it, what’s stopping me from trying?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1129sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:52 PM