windows 10 pc slow boot

TSverdangilte
post Jul 2 2018, 10:56 PM, updated 8y ago

1,379 posts

take few minutes until its show my welcome screen...den take few minutes to run over my start up after i type my password and log in to pc...

any idea except that changing to ssd ??

beside, i dont use any of anti virus...just get some freeware for running monthly scanning purpose

and also..how come the google chrome take so much of my RAM and DISC USAGE ? sometimes damn mad when i want type somethings...pc was freeze due to 100% disc usage vmad.gif
wahidzeb
post Jul 2 2018, 11:01 PM

44 posts

Probably some virus.
Easy fix Format everything and partition your h.d. and reinstall windows

Before that do check running process and hard disk performance
TSverdangilte
post Jul 2 2018, 11:26 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(wahidzeb @ Jul 2 2018, 11:01 PM)
Probably some virus.
Easy fix Format everything and partition your h.d. and reinstall windows

Before that do check running process and hard disk performance
lol...need to do so...but need to re dl windows lo
aral3005
post Jul 2 2018, 11:27 PM

1,102 posts

and change to ssd please
TSverdangilte
post Jul 2 2018, 11:29 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Jul 2 2018, 11:27 PM)
and change to ssd please
bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif its a new laptop, with 1years old..if i simply request for SSD...confirm my boss fired me
loki
post Jul 2 2018, 11:30 PM

2,109 posts

there is some known problem with windows 10 data being 100%. could be shortage of ram.

google windows 10 data 100%
aral3005
post Jul 2 2018, 11:30 PM

1,102 posts

use your own money
buy cheap seken ssd, which you can find in garage sale
small capacity for system
kurangak
post Jul 2 2018, 11:31 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 2 2018, 10:56 PM)
take few minutes until its show my welcome screen...den take few minutes to run over my start up after i type my password and log in to pc...

beside, i dont use any of anti virus...just get some freeware for running monthly scanning purpose

and also..how come the google chrome take so much of my RAM and DISC USAGE ? sometimes damn mad when i want type somethings...pc was freeze due to 100% disc usage vmad.gif
run as few starting program as possible.

or... buy optane

chrome had always been known to eat up ram. how much ram do u have in your system? 4gb?
TSverdangilte
post Jul 2 2018, 11:37 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jul 2 2018, 11:31 PM)
run as few starting program as possible.

or... buy optane

chrome had always been known to eat up ram. how much ram do u have in your system? 4gb?
i almost disable all ..lol
default 4gb ram..
no choice ...firefox, chrome ..all high usage browser..damn
junclj
post Jul 3 2018, 11:56 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 2 2018, 10:56 PM)

1. check your pc RAM is running in single channel or dual channel. If single channel then best recommendation is upgrade your pc RAM to dual channel. Eg, if single channel 4GB, then you should add up another 4GB to second slot. This will improve much performance by comparing to a pc which RAM only running in single channel.
2. if upgrade RAM doesn't works, perhaps you need to reformat PC. its not hard to clean install a new Windows 10 system. Just go to Youtube to learn for tutorial. My suggestion is connect your PC to a fibre broadband such as Unifi to download or torrent for Windows 10 ISO and Office 2016, then backup all of your important documents to external harddisk before you start to reformat PC.
3. If the above two methods still doesn't works, then only final decision is replace your current harddisk to a SSD. then use the above method 2 to clean install Windows 10.

make sure if you are running a Windows 10 64bit system with 4GB RAM or below, your PC sure will facing lagging issue. The best recommendation is always upgrade your PC RAM to dual channel. Meaning that 4GB x 2pcs = 8GB in total. Because lets say a single channel DDR4 RAM is just running at the speed of 1200MHz (half of 2400MHz). Let's say your CPU is 4GHz, you only spare half speed (maybe 2~3GHz due to bottleneck) of you CPU which does not fully utilize the CPU usage. That's why you need to add up another slot of RAM to achieve dual channel in order to fully utilize your RAM to 2400MHz & full 4GHz CPU usage. Probably many people are criticizing my comment above is incorrect. However, I was facing many kinds of PCs with single channel RAM. Then conclude that, dual channel RAM will improve much for your PC performance. I guarantee you will feel the performance after you added up another slot of RAM to your PC. I does not care about 4GB or 8GB, if you really can't afford the price of 4GB RAM, you can just add up a 2GB RAM. Even you can sell off your current 4GB RAM then buy 2pcs of 2GB RAM to replace your current single stick. The main purpose is to achieve dual channel RAM but not upgrade the capacity of RAM of your PC.

If you are running a 64bit system, don't be so stingy lah. Better just add up till 8GB RAM at least because 4GB is not enough for a 64bit Windows system.

This post has been edited by junclj: Jul 3 2018, 12:41 PM
TSverdangilte
post Jul 3 2018, 09:06 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jul 3 2018, 11:56 AM)
1. check your pc RAM is running in single channel or dual channel. If single channel then best recommendation is upgrade your pc RAM to dual channel. Eg, if single channel 4GB, then you should add up another 4GB to second slot. This will improve much performance by comparing to a pc which RAM only running in single channel.
2. if upgrade RAM doesn't works, perhaps you need to reformat PC. its not hard to clean install a new Windows 10 system. Just go to Youtube to learn for tutorial. My suggestion is connect your PC to a fibre broadband such as Unifi to download or torrent for Windows 10 ISO and Office 2016, then backup all of your important documents to external harddisk before you start to reformat PC.
3. If the above two methods still doesn't works, then only final decision is replace your current harddisk to a SSD. then use the above method 2 to clean install Windows 10.

make sure if you are running a Windows 10 64bit system with 4GB RAM or below, your PC sure will facing lagging issue. The best recommendation is always upgrade your PC RAM to dual channel. Meaning that 4GB x 2pcs = 8GB in total. Because lets say a single channel DDR4 RAM is just running at the speed of 1200MHz (half of 2400MHz). Let's say your CPU is 4GHz, you only spare half speed (maybe 2~3GHz due to bottleneck) of you CPU which does not fully utilize the CPU usage. That's why you need to add up another slot of RAM to achieve dual channel in order to fully utilize your RAM to 2400MHz & full 4GHz CPU usage. Probably many people are criticizing my comment above is incorrect. However, I was facing many kinds of PCs with single channel RAM. Then conclude that, dual channel RAM will improve much for your PC performance. I guarantee you will feel the performance after you added up another slot of RAM to your PC. I does not care about 4GB or 8GB, if you really can't afford the price of 4GB RAM, you can just add up a 2GB RAM. Even you can sell off your current 4GB RAM then buy 2pcs of 2GB RAM to replace your current single stick. The main purpose is to achieve dual channel RAM but not upgrade the capacity of RAM of your PC.

If you are running a 64bit system, don't be so stingy lah. Better just add up till 8GB RAM at least because 4GB is not enough for a 64bit Windows system.
new pc...later i ask my boss add me ram...she sure chop me into pieces...
that why i wonder...apasal always lag...i am so wish to use w7...damn good
x3BabyLemon
post Jul 4 2018, 10:35 AM

99 posts

win 10 better be 8gb ram
chrome eat ram king normal smile.gif
ssd still the best choice
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2018, 11:14 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 3 2018, 09:06 PM)
later i ask my boss add me ram...she sure chop me into pieces...
Use your own money. Buy an addition 4GB RAM to make it 8GB and upgrade the HDD to SSD

I really don't get people like you whose so stingy with their own money
I myself upgraded my company laptop from 8GB to 16GB and the SSD from 180GB SATA SSD to 256GB NVMe SSD using my own pocket money so that I can complete my job faster

If I resign, I will just take back the upgraded parts and re-install the original parts back into the laptop
I've been doing this since the first day I started working in February 2006

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2018, 11:18 AM
darrenwks
post Jul 4 2018, 11:20 AM

220 posts

Once you go SSD, you'll never go back to HDD
TSverdangilte
post Jul 4 2018, 11:59 AM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2018, 11:14 AM)
Use your own money. Buy an addition 4GB RAM to make it 8GB and upgrade the HDD to SSD

I really don't get people like you whose so stingy with their own money
I myself upgraded my company laptop from 8GB to 16GB and the SSD from 180GB SATA SSD to 256GB NVMe SSD using my own pocket money so that I can complete my job faster

If I resign, I will just take back the upgraded parts and re-install the original parts back into the laptop
I've been doing this since the first day I started working in February 2006
problem its..i dun have a lappy which compatible on DDR4 ram bro.
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2018, 12:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 4 2018, 11:59 AM)
i dun have a lappy which compatible on DDR4 ram bro.
What?
H3artBreakKid
post Jul 4 2018, 12:42 PM

💔💔💔
454 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 2 2018, 11:29 PM)
bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif its a new laptop, with 1years old..if i simply request for SSD...confirm my boss fired me
yours choice bro, either you continue to use HDD with slow boot speed and hangs that affects your productivity or switch to SSD cool2.gif
junclj
post Jul 4 2018, 01:58 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 4 2018, 11:59 AM)
problem its..i dun have a lappy which compatible on DDR4 ram bro.
you can use your money to buy one
https://shopee.com.my/Patriot-4GB-DDR4-SODI...1469.1233512445

then take it out next time after you resign brows.gif
TSverdangilte
post Jul 4 2018, 03:38 PM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jul 4 2018, 01:58 PM)
you can use your money to buy one
https://shopee.com.my/Patriot-4GB-DDR4-SODI...1469.1233512445

then take it out next time after you resign brows.gif
tau...but my old lappy dabao ady....
and i plan to use dekstop at house jer...
that why thinking wan to add in new ram or not...
abubin
post Jul 5 2018, 12:08 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jul 4 2018, 03:38 PM)
tau...but my old lappy dabao ady....
and i plan to use dekstop at house jer...
that why thinking wan to add in new ram or not...
bro..it's simple logic. Why are you making things so complicated? Get your head out of your ass.

Buy additional 4GB RAM and 256GB SSD - cost is around RM400.
- work get done faster (better chance for promotion and better change for salary increment)
- what is RM400 one time investment compared to what you can achieve with your job?

If later you decided to resign, just take out that parts ans put in back the ori HDD. Nothing else need to be done. The Windows is still in there with everything running.
- sell the 4GB RAM and SSD if you don't need them. Recover back some cost. Probably RM200.

Total investment RM200 to make your life less miserable and perform your job better.

How hard is that to decide? doh.gif

0.0172sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:56 AM