> Military Thread V26

zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 14 2018, 11:29 PM)
Turkey's F35 buy on hold

How? Wanna pick up a couple?

(No don't actually. Current operating cost is $50,000/flying hour)
sure...we sure can afford F35
pffffff sweat.gif

zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 08:56 AM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 15 2018, 02:06 AM)
Oh yes my friend

Quoted price is only $85m for F35A

That is on a level with Su35, a new Super Hornet, and cheaper than Eurofighter Typhoon
please no typhoon or su35. those plane looks like no future.
85m is good actually. its the correct price for 5th gen so far.
last time i read, the government accountability office have been inform the F35 will be priced around 90m-95m range,so its already down so much now.
if we can afford,it would be good but its operating cost will make RMAF broke soo much rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Aug 15 2018, 03:19 AM)
If buy American just get F18 or F15SE

I say Malaysia should settle with Gripen NG or more F18
F18 yeah...its a good decision. but Gripen NG just big NOPE. its not just procurement cost and operating cost should be review but also the future plan. the F35,F18 or F15 already have future plan where it will be upgrade with more feature overtime to be able to keep up with future tech. but typhoon,gripen or even Rafale was none. if we want to upgrade,we need to figure out ourselves means we need to make the R&D and its very costly and time consuming. example looks at our MKM,its one of its kind and take a lot of time and resources to get the necessary abilities.
zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 15 2018, 05:03 PM)
Typhoon actually is arguably 1 of the best fighter outside of F22 now, and has a lot of upgrades planned actually - Brimstone and Paveways, Meteor BVRAAM, Captor AESA radar, maybe CFTs

Gripen NG is also newer than F16, could have lots more life especially since there are few (no) other Western single-engine types being offered. It's a new airframe and could have lots of upgrade potential
Typhoon upgrade was already stated during buy in including Brimstone and Paveways, Meteor BVRAAM and Captor AESA radar but dont know about CFT(maybe i miss those). when those upgrade available, the user will be able to get it. the reason i said it have bleak future because german air force may decided(some said already in motion) to get F35 rather than another batch of typhoon. this will be follow by other EU maybe which will make the market even smaller for typhoon. thus less sale,no production,maybe close line and less future upgrade. but who know, the saudi and the gang might "cough" up money for BAE to upgrade typhoon since they cant get F35.

I not confident with Gripen NG. its the E/F series right??its still early stage and need time to mature.

zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 15 2018, 05:21 PM)
philippines really good huh rclxms.gif
saw the news about the monsoon and flood on its capital. even without the flood,their infrastructure really need improve. if somehow this submarine deal goes through within this 5 years, they will have soo much fun rclxms.gif

zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 15 2018, 05:54 PM)
Yes E/F series

People don't trust it only. But Saab have good track record all the way back to Draken, and it could turn out better than F16... In fact if it was sold by US confirm people would be rushing to buy

As it is the real story is that F35 captured a huge market because it's 5th gen stealth at LCA prices, a mega deal for smaller countries

Typhoon also got Italy, Spain, Saudi and UAE in addition to UK. UK will confirm integrate those upgrades mentioned (except CFT, not sure about those). Once those are in, they will be undisputed champ of the skies (other than F22).
IMO F16 able to be one of effective plane because it have a lot of user and all those feed info and help it improve. Gripen it will take time and need a lot of user. maybe if it win India IAF requirement it will be the next F16 in future.

UK and saudi will confirm upgrade but other will see if German get F35 and if its a better deal,who know man... hmm.gif

once all those EU(surely UK) country got F35, most of them will integrate it with typhoon networking thus making it more deadlier as F35 stealth will find the target and link it to the typhoon to be eliminated. but the US will surely use their F15 in those situation. and new F15 upgrade able to carry more bomb and missile rclxm9.gif
zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 15 2018, 07:59 PM)
F-16 was successful because the US decided to upgrade it a lot rather than invest in new airframes. So it became capable of far more missions than it used to.

It doesn't matter if the Germans don't upgrade the Typhoon, UK and Sauds will. The UK F35s will operate alongside the Typhoon.

This is a very fair criticism of the F-15X worth reading: https://nationalinterest.org/blog/buzz/f-15...aste-time-28492
UK and Saudi will upgrade it. they are the big sponsor of typhoon.

thanks for that articles. its a good analysis. but the shocker is the price of F15X is somewhat affordable as quote in articles between $50 to $75 million.

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 15 2018, 08:29 PM)

not cancelled  rclxms.gif
why would LIMA cancel??did someone suggest that shocking.gif
zacky chan
post Aug 15 2018, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 15 2018, 10:22 PM)
Legacy airframe is legacy, without stealth features it's just a missile and bomb truck

It's like comparing two AK-47s and one M16 with ACOG scope and silencer. One side can throw more bullets, the other has different advantages. Who will win? Maybe more bullets, but also maybe the scope will make the M16 more accurate and deadly

Not sure what's the use of LIMA since we are the most unlikely country to buy stuff in ASEAN whistling.gif
i thought it was design like that??F35 with full stealth but lack offensive capabilities complement with other asset(F15/F18) with lack stealth but full offensive capabilities.

although the F35 was suppose to be the replacement for other legacy(F16,F15,F18) it seem it only be F22 replacement.some also suggest having same plane to cover all mission will be cost effective but not strategic wise since most design have it flaw. so better to have 2 or 3 design to be safe. of course it only can be done with super power only not ciput budget nation.

LIMA is suppose to be expo like to show off since it attract tourism. less likely to be sales but rather just to glorified and publicly show off the ASEAN.
zacky chan
post Aug 23 2018, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 23 2018, 09:31 AM)
another Elbit made in the house. before this its the Singapore. Israel made have make it presence in SEA strongly now. maybe next we gonna see thailand operate hermes next.
zacky chan
post Aug 23 2018, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 23 2018, 10:40 AM)
Thailand already operate Israeli ATMOS 2000 SPH.

Royal Thai Army ATMOS 2000 & Caesar 155mm SPH:

http://thaidefense-news.blogspot.com/2016/06/5-2.html?m=1
Indonesian Air Force 51st Air Squadron also operating Israeli made Aerostar UAV. Credit to ARC.

known that..i said hermes bro. sorry to say but hermes kinda game changer in the UAV territory on SEA. a reliable platform with weapon ability.
zacky chan
post Aug 24 2018, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 24 2018, 12:50 AM)
I don't think Hermes 450 carries weapons
really??i thought hermes 450 have an option for weapon pylon. must be confuse with other UAV rclxub.gif

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 23 2018, 04:29 PM)

Anyway based from Turkish Anadolu Agency news, Israel to compete together with China, France and Turkey in the upcoming Indonesian MALE UAV tender.
Read more: https://www.aa.com.tr/id/headline-hari/indu...onesia-/1231492
what your take on that???who will be the favorite

This post has been edited by zacky chan: Aug 24 2018, 12:57 AM
zacky chan
post Aug 25 2018, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Aug 25 2018, 02:02 PM)
Any1 spotted Typhoon or Rafale over subang airport just now?

Sorry can't differentiate which is which, but a pair of delta winged aircraft with front canards that resembled those mentioned above just now at around 11.30am.
its Dassault Rafales
follow here

http://www.malaysiandefence.com/rafale-dans-ma-ville/
zacky chan
post Aug 26 2018, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 26 2018, 11:28 AM)
Malaysia defence ministry to probe claims 3 military personnel still serving Hishammuddin

"As such I have ordered an immediate investigation to be carried out and action will be taken if there is any breach of existing practices and regulations," he said on his official Twitter account on Saturday (Aug 25).

Mohamad was commenting on a news portal report that  two Navy special operations force (Pascal) officers and a commando were still serving as escorts to Hishammuddin, who was no longer holding the portfolio following Barisan Nasional’s defeat in the 14th general election.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/m...erving-10653600
are you fucking kidding me??twitter???is he new trump?or should i said Malaysia trump?does the sound of minister does not convey the professionalism and now want to use trump method mega_shok.gif

at least h20 admit it and now those ATM personnel will need to face military police

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 26 2018, 11:32 AM)
I think I heard the Rafales taking off again, but now the sky is overcast bangwall.gif

Tepat2 11.30am every day got exercise?
at least you got to hear it which is nice... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zacky chan: Aug 26 2018, 01:32 PM
zacky chan
post Aug 26 2018, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 26 2018, 02:12 PM)
Our ex IGP pioneered this style in Msia doh.gif

Can hear but cannot see, like watching porn blindfolded

Tegang tapi takleh lepas brows.gif
dude...ex IGP pioneered this style in Msia??what??Tegang tapi takleh lepas blink.gif

hahaha

what that IGP do?
zacky chan
post Aug 26 2018, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Aug 26 2018, 02:49 PM)
He just informing public lah

You need to get updated with current times
Mat Sabu probably inform military to look into it, then he announced it on twitter for public after the allegations broke
there is a thing you need to inform to public and something just dont. does this only about informing the public or just political millage??would be efficient to investigate first and inform public later?does inform public will improved efficiency of the investigation? think about it.

to me its more professionalism to inform public with press conference or official letter because public can ask in person and leave less room for stupid interpretation which our social media really super in it .
zacky chan
post Aug 26 2018, 03:11 PM

Aug 26 2018, 06:19 PM
This post has been deleted by MKLMS because: Advocating violence is not cool.

zacky chan
post Aug 28 2018, 06:37 PM

"They are in operation. You can see on Merdeka Day how many will be flying. I will leave you in suspense till then," he joked during a press conference following the Defence Ministry assembly at Wisma Pewira on Tuesday (Aug 28).

It had been reported in July that only four out of the 28 Russian fighters jets owned by the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) were fit to take to the skies.

The Defence Minister was quoted then as saying that the RMAF had 18 Russian-made Sukhoi Su-30MKM and 10 MiG-29 jet fighters.

"Only four of the Sukhois are able to fly well," he had said, adding that the remaining 14 were under repair.

in july,only 4 out of 28 Russian fighters jets was able to fly. meanwhile 4 out of 18 mkm was able to fly. so in the Merdeka parade there will be mix MIG and MKM???

i though MIG was not in used and in store.anyways, congrats on our menhan on juggling issue

zacky chan
post Aug 28 2018, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Aug 28 2018, 07:12 PM)
MIG tu dah pencen so totally tolak tepi, tak tau kenapa itu orang instead letak 10 mig dalam equation lagi

if you watch carefully there is 6 sukhoi this morning
5 in formation 1 chaser

like I said the new contractor has begin continuing the currently halted jobs to continue maintain the jets
but even before this there always more the 4 MKM flying

the legendary 4 MKM is the 4 MKM fresh out of maintenance
agree with you..that is why i garu my head when read this. i think our menhan really tired now and make mistake. he need to take vacation ASAP to energize.

we will see what happen in merdeka parade. who know menhan new spell help MIG to be reborn or its just only MKM(pretty sure only MKM).

QUOTE(CoolMorning @ Aug 28 2018, 07:14 PM)
Am I one of the minority here feel our air force really need reinforcement ASAP?

Really facepalm looking at the current situation.

Just issue some kind of bonds and raise adequate fund, and up our jets to 60 pieces at the very least. This kind of money Malaysia still can afford.
the planning is to have MRCA by now to support the RMAF but the plan got delay and no other alternative being made so they stuck like this. all need to be blame from PM,old menhan,new menhan and dont forget politician for not hearing our ATM cries.

the problem now we already said we have no money, we gave middle finger to china(no money to further project and want more fair trade deal) and we said we got 1 trillion ringgit debt. if we suddenly cough up money and bought jets it will be a tornado of shit although we need it. anyways it nod about money but also the will. having the will to buy and operate the jets also a consideration in procurement.
zacky chan
post Aug 29 2018, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(CoolMorning @ Aug 28 2018, 10:49 PM)
Like I said before, this kind of money we have to spend.

Guard our house first before talking about the interior things like kitchen, bedroom, reading room. At least have minimal credible defense. 18 sukhois are just like for ceremonial/friendly interception purpose and not for defense/hot battle purpose. How many rounds can these 18 sukhois and 8 F/A-18 fight?

Learn from ancient Malaysia history, we might lose territories in exchange for protection, if thing gone wrong.

It's unimaginable for the economy as of Malaysia size cannot squeeze some billions for its territorial safety and integrity.

It's a terrible failure if current brand new clean government cannot make this right during their first term.

Not sure whether this is open secret or not, we budgeted and spent wrongly since decades ago. I know some teachers who said they were allocated more budget than necessary and end up must use all the budget for unplanned things like attending paid courses or famous lawatan sambil belajar.
i think the term is priority. we never priority defense in our govt. no politician or even minister ever campaign we need an strong and more dependent armed forces. so far all those politician or minister just said things in ceramah and see if there is an attracted voter or supporter which none of citizen even care.

the priority is always making sure the citizen will vote for them and citizen want good education, healthcare,facilities and affordable life. that is all. defense is at 7th or maybe way below that in our list of priorities.

on the contrary,some of our retired serviceman tried to persuade politician or minister to the problem in the ATM and some persuaded politician in sabah and sarawak now see that the politician need to play role in parliament to get necessary protection of sabah and sarawak rather than hoping the govt know what they want.

as long as there is no WILL to do something,there will be nothing.

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Aug 29 2018, 12:26 AM)

2 years ago the PTU said it will be gradually taken out of service

And admitted that they have been slowly grounding the jets since 2013

All the while talking about upgrading

Only confirming all Migs were out of service last year IINM

It's confusing even for defence news follower like us, never mind average public
actually the term is phased out which being used by RMAF usualy. it being used not only in MIG but also Pilatus PC-7 Mk and Alouette III helicopter. go here
http://www.malaysiandefence.com/selamat-jalan-fulcrums/
http://www.malaysiandefence.com/moving-on-with-the-times/

actually as far as i can see, the RMAF tried to keep the option open since they also know money/budget was tight and may not be enough so they keep the upgrading MIG as an last ditch option. but between the decision made and now things just keep shown we better choose other than MIG. even LIFT have been thrown int equation now although not a suitable replacement to MIG but it is affordable and have good trck record.

i think it is ok if we the military enthusiast or normal citizen does not know the current story of our MIG(although i am sure most of military enthusiast know about it) but if our menhan does not know,it reflect poorly to the ministry and those involve. especially menhan which can access all the report and summon the person in charge/CO to meet to discuss rather than blurt out things as they want.

zacky chan
post Aug 29 2018, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Aug 29 2018, 12:32 AM)
wtf you meant with ready 30?
pala butoh kau ni pening aku
dude...you ok bro??kinda lough out loud i the middle of night reading your comment biggrin.gif
zacky chan
post Aug 29 2018, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Aug 29 2018, 01:02 AM)
ok ja, pening baca komen tiba2 datang 30 pulak?

btw in putrajaya going to be a sweet air show by tudm during Merdeka Parade
with Dr M, propaganda is a must. now he have most of the card,he need to show it. plus with the recent shitnado event with MKM on RMAF, they need to show they are worth(although there already are with that kind of budget) and things is good.

BTW you know anything good on the next defense budget???things kinda senyap now. with slow economy in future really want to know the next is.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.1213sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:48 PM